Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very well rounded book.
I am I5 and am aspiring to become a football coach so although I did`nt maybe need such a tactical book,at this age, I found this book interesting,informative and such that I learnt about different systems and continetal styles.(In which this had a chapter.) I did have some stumbling points with the writer when he wrote about a sweeper in a back four as I would regard a...
Published on 7 Jun. 2003 by Robert Ryan

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok for beginners but there is better on the subject
This book covers a few systems and i like how it shows the system used by professional teams.

Diagrams are easy to follow although I think a book called "Soccer: Modern Tactics" is far better than this as it covers more systems & interviews with Lippi, Ancelotti etc.

Im sure most people will be able to learn something from this book. The set plays...
Published on 23 Jun. 2007 by Mr. C. J. West


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very well rounded book., 7 Jun. 2003
By 
Robert Ryan "boabatude" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soccer Systems and Strategies (Paperback)
I am I5 and am aspiring to become a football coach so although I did`nt maybe need such a tactical book,at this age, I found this book interesting,informative and such that I learnt about different systems and continetal styles.(In which this had a chapter.) I did have some stumbling points with the writer when he wrote about a sweeper in a back four as I would regard a back four as quite flat. eg: Arsenal ,Adams and the offside trap of the 90`s. The writer Jens Bangsbo ,who is now at Juventus as assistant manager, details famous formations from past Juve and Barca sides to describe particular systems in more detail for the reader. In conclusion this is a book which can educate the reader about different systems and one that describes the defence, midfield and attack. Not a wasted buy and as one of my first coaching books it is one I hold in high regard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant simple approach to a complicated soccer subject, 3 July 2000
This review is from: Soccer Systems and Strategies (Paperback)
Any one who is serious about soccer coaching should read this book. Not only does the book describe systems and styles of soccer, but also how to coach players to play the particular systems or styles. The book has been a joy to use as a reference, during the recently finished European Soccer Championships, especially to compare the deliberations of the TV and press pundits with those of the authors. The book is worth buying just for the section on dead - ball situations. The authors make it very plain that no matter what system or style of soccer a coach chooses,it will fail unless players pocessing the necessary skills and endeavour are available to carry it through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A simple and concise manual for coaches starting out, 20 April 2001
By 
This review is from: Soccer Systems and Strategies (Paperback)
The book is well layed out and develops it's subjects well. First explaining the various systems of play - giving examples of internationally renowned teams that have addopted each system - then adding further coaching tips for each system, for set pieces and for motivational work.
It can be quite simplistic at times, but is ideal for the coach just setting out; who needs to understand the basics, before moving onto more complex ideas and techniques. This is where I felt the book 'hit-the-woodwork' (sorry for the punn) as the authors could have included techniques on one-to-one coaching with the aim of improving a players abilities such as heading, control, passing etc.
The only real minus side for me, was the standard of English, it does let the authors down at times as it can be little difficult to correctly grasp the meaning of a sentence. Otherwise a quality read. Long live the beautiful game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok for beginners but there is better on the subject, 23 Jun. 2007
By 
Mr. C. J. West (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soccer Systems and Strategies (Paperback)
This book covers a few systems and i like how it shows the system used by professional teams.

Diagrams are easy to follow although I think a book called "Soccer: Modern Tactics" is far better than this as it covers more systems & interviews with Lippi, Ancelotti etc.

Im sure most people will be able to learn something from this book. The set plays section is good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FAIRLY BASIC OVERVIEW, 23 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Soccer Systems and Strategies (Paperback)
Frankly, I was hoping for a lot more from this book. I'm no tactical genius and have no coaching qualifications but I found most of the content overly simplistic (especially Chapter 2 'Styles of Play'). However, there are useful nuggets. For example, Chapter 6 on Dead Ball situations and the checklists found throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good for first time coaches, 27 Feb. 2001
This review is from: Soccer Systems and Strategies (Paperback)
This is a must for first time coaches,it helps you understand formations ,tatics ex.Also gives you tips before and after games and to think about your team performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful reference book, 30 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soccer Systems and Strategies (Paperback)
Of all the football books I purchased as a coach, this is the most practical with clear guides on different formations and tactics, whilst keeping it all in a relatively simple format.

The book is very easy to follow and this became an effective reference book which worked very well for me (I coached adults at a top amateur level). That said, there may be updated versions now though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good for first time coaches, 27 Feb. 2001
This review is from: Soccer Systems and Strategies (Paperback)
This is a must for first time coaches,it helps you understand formations ,tatics ex.Also gives you tips before and after games and to think about your team performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good structured book to start from, 30 Oct. 2007
By 
This review is from: Soccer Systems and Strategies (Paperback)
I found this a good read and certainly gives you a good base to work from.
Well worth any coach from teaching under 14's up to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to different strategies, 12 Feb. 2002
By 
Mr. Kevin Francis Mole (Warwick, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soccer Systems and Strategies (Paperback)
This book examines the different strategies and systems used in soccer. What I was looking for is something that examines the merits and demerits of each system in more detail than was present in this book. Good introduction to systems used by Barcelona etc. I may be unrealistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soccer Systems and Strategies
Soccer Systems and Strategies by Birger Peitersen (Paperback - 1 April 2000)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews