Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Designing with Web Standards - Great book
I wasn't quite expecting this book to be so big, after checking out Jeffrey Zeldman's homepage (zeldman.com) and reading the other reviews on this title from Amazon I had the impression it would be an plane-English drop-in-reference style book, but it isn't; its more like a school text book, which, depending on how you look at it can be good or a bad thing.
The first...
Published on 8 July 2005 by mallmus

versus
21 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Out of date and mainly rhetoric
It's ironic that a book that is so much about future proofing spends so much time talking about version 4.0 browsers, making much of the book fairly obselete.

Much of the other content is out of date. It reccomends the box model hack, when conditional comments could be used. Fahner image replacement is also detailed, when newer methods eliminate the need for a...
Published on 7 July 2006 by P. Powell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars should be mandatory reading for all in the industry, 31 May 2004
By 
Ian Stalvies "istalvies" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Paperback)
Have spent the last year in London working for web agencies, some of whom have been quite arrogant in their 'knowledge' ... but a quick comparison of Zeldman's methods with the code of expensive web sites shows a huge difference. With accessibility becoming a bigger and bigger issue, the content of this book is invaluable to show not only how to satisfy ALL users (those looking at a screen and otherwise) but also how to code more efficiently and cut bandwidth!
Every one of these arguments will SAVE MONEY. Recently I recoded a few pages for a corporate client cutting page weight by 70% - given that I'm a project manager rather than a web designer, this is pretty good proof in my opinion.
The killer touch is the concise and clear (not to mention humorous) nature of the writing. Like it's web standards content, I would be surprised if this book does not have a very long shelf life indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A helpful guide, 6 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Paperback)
The first book from Zeldman, Taking your talent to the web, was a very interesting and realist approaching to the web publishing. In Designing with Web Standards, Zeldman goes one step ahead and talks to the people who already design and develop for the web, giving good advice on using the Web Standards. For the people interested on the topic, like me, there is not much new, but for those with few time to dig on obscure websites a few hours the day, it's a good and convincing guide. And, hey, Zeldman got an amazing writing style!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Designing with Web Standards, 30 July 2003
By 
Roy Reed (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Paperback)
An excellent book written by a designer for designers and other people who care about what the web should be. Zeldman is passionate about web standards, but does not proselytize. He knows that in a real world some compromises must be made, but points the way to creating forward compatible (and as backward compatible as possible) websites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 19 May 2006
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Paperback)
This is a great book which will give you a thorough understanding of web standards. If you are a budding web designer, this book will explain important principles that will save you a great deal of time when you begin creating web sites. One of the most important things you will learn is creating sites that work with all browsers, platforms and devices. Overall, this book will give you a firm understanding of web standards and what it means to be a quality web designer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious about web design - you need this book, 17 Jan 2005
By 
Mr "viperedge" (Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Paperback)
Zeldmans "Designing with Web standards" is the perfect book for anyone who has a reasonable standard of web production skills but is yet to make the transition to tablesless designs, external stylesheets and/or grasp the concepts of web site accessibility.
In this regard this book is one of the best. You need to read it from cover to cover and then return to the sections as you implement websites based on the principles discussed. This book is more about how to implement and understand web standards, with code examples but is not, in my opinion, an in-depth CSS reference or beginners manual. If you are brand new to web design, you will ned to complement this book with other in-depth material on producing HTML, XHML and CSS2 based websites.
But if you have some skills, are used to using tables in design and need to gain a greater understanding of how to implement web standards, grasp this book with both hands, find somewhere quite to read, grab a coffee and enjoy, it's one of the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock solid, 16 Sep 2003
By 
E. Walker (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Paperback)
This book gives a way forward that is both simple to understand and easy to implement. With clear and easy to understand steps this book will show you how to create sites that comply with web standards as well as catering for browsers that do not.
More an ethos than a code book this will show you how to think in web standards and apply that thinking on multiple levels.
Invaluable to each and every web designer on the planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In for a change?, 16 Aug 2004
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Paperback)
I was new to web design about a year ago and read through difficult stuff on the internet... Finally I ran in to this beauty.
It's definitly worth the purchase. Not only tells you the author why you should build a with a solid structure, it shows you how to do it and make it beautyful without all kinds of scripting to it. Had I read this book a year ago the internet would be at least three beautyful websites richer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Passionate, persuasive, a bit repetitive, 23 Nov 2003
By 
Graham Phillips (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Paperback)
An excellent book that should be read by anyone contemplating writing a web page (or "authoring" in American new-speak). If you still think that font tags are ok, or that nested tables are the way to control layout, then this book will show you a better way. And by "better" he means quicker, cheaper, more acessible and much, much easier to maintain. However, if you are already convinced of the benefits of web standards, this book will not help you a lot. You need "how-to" books like Eric Meyer on CSS.
One reservation. He seems to have a soft spot for Microsoft, often describing Internet Explorer as "standards-compliant". In fact, IE's standards implementation is badly broken, and this (rather than ignorance on the part of web designers) is the biggest hurdle to designing with web standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book for any web designer, 2 May 2004
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Paperback)
Cannot recommend this book highly enough. Its simply the bible for all us web designers. Well written and you leave it with a new vision of how to build websites. If you make websites buy this book and you will be making better websites that are complient with standards and are much easier to amend and update.
Thankyou mr zeldman for making my worklife much easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - inspirational, 1 April 2004
By 
R. Layfield "ultrasimplified" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Paperback)
Finally! I've discovered the pure joy of CSS. I've been fiddling around with it for years but it was not until I read this book that I realised just how capable a tool CSS is for designing low-bandwidth, high-impact, usable and accessible web sites.
Jeffrey Zeldman writes in a very clear and insightful way, de-mystifying the foibles of today's and yesterday's web browsers with his wry commentary on the state-of-the-art.
Great book. If I had another 20 quid I'd buy it again and give it to the next web developer I met.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Designing with Web Standards
Designing with Web Standards by Jeffrey Zeldman (Paperback - 14 May 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews