Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Definitely not for the beginner, in my honest opinion, but certainly one of the best and most informative books on Dreamweaver 4 that I have read. The tutorials are all fairly well written but there are a couple of typos and other mistakes that have been logged on the project seven website that can cause frustration when working through them.
Published on 9 Jan 2002

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
Buy this book if you want to be able to make some standard DHTML tricks on your site without learning anything about web design or, really, Dreamweaver.
It's all based around using Dreamweaver Extensions provided on the CD - little explanation is given about how or why they work, Browser compatibility problems aren't highlighted (they tell you where each technique...
Published on 11 Aug 2001 by Mr. I. P. Anderson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 11 Aug 2001
By 
Mr. I. P. Anderson (Northamptonshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamweaver 4 Magic (Paperback)
Buy this book if you want to be able to make some standard DHTML tricks on your site without learning anything about web design or, really, Dreamweaver.
It's all based around using Dreamweaver Extensions provided on the CD - little explanation is given about how or why they work, Browser compatibility problems aren't highlighted (they tell you where each technique works but not where it doesn't) and accessibility issues are completely ignored.
I may yet find it useful (I'm hoping to get some value from the CSS they have tested, for example), but I am very disappointed with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamweaver 4 Magic (Paperback)
Definitely not for the beginner, in my honest opinion, but certainly one of the best and most informative books on Dreamweaver 4 that I have read. The tutorials are all fairly well written but there are a couple of typos and other mistakes that have been logged on the project seven website that can cause frustration when working through them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic stuff! I'm glad I bought this book., 11 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamweaver 4 Magic (Paperback)
I'm very happy with the excellent tutorials this book has. I've already completed the Letterbox scrolling tutorial and am really pleased with the results. It was so simple to follow in this book becaues the steps are very well documented. I can't wait to use these new found skills in my own websites. My only complaint is that I wish there were more projects in here (there are 12, so great value for money)...because I'm learning so much! Beginners could follow this book pretty easily. If you are familiar with Dreamweaver...this book is also a bonus. Buy it! You won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have Dreamweaver 4 companion!!, 2 July 2001
By 
This review is from: Dreamweaver 4 Magic (Paperback)
Resisting all temptation to simply rip the CD from its plastic prison I instead sat down and read the introduction to Dreamweaver 4 Magic.
Having already had some exposure to the Author Al Sparber and his work, my expectations were high. I hadn't even finished the introduction and it was plain to see this was someone who not only enjoyed what they did but also was very proud of what they had produced and had pulled together a team that felt the same way.
If you are looking for a book that offers advanced and intermediate level then this is the one for you. The projects aren't going to be over the heads of a beginner either. The way the projects are laid out and the step-by-step instructions and screen shots make it easy to check you are on the right track as you progress through the projects.
It is hard to convey in brief the quality, attention to detail and thoroughness that has been put into this book. There are 12 projects in the book, each covering a different design and navigation feature.
From the start, each project lays out good work practices for you to follow and rather than just spoon feeding you, the information leads the reader intuitively through each process. The text explains the reason why each step done a certain way then encourages you to go on and make modifications to the project so they reflect your own style.
The projects themselves are supported with a library of the images and style sheets required to create them. These are provided on the CD supplied with the text.
Incorporated into the projects are some great new behaviours making it possible to incorporate complex java scripting and Dynamic HTML (DHTML) into pages without the need to understand the java code or DHTML. These behaviors are included on the CD that accompanies the book.
This book would have to get a 10 out of 10 from me. It will serve as a very valuable learning tool and a must have for any one that wants to design dynamic web sites with Macromedia Dreamweaver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, what a book !, 18 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamweaver 4 Magic (Paperback)
I thought I knew Dreamweaver 4 pretty well but this beautifully presented book quickly taught me how little I knew and just what Dreamweaver 4 is capable of.
The problem I had while I was reading it was that I constantly wanted to put it down so that I could go off and start improving my own sites with the new techniques that I was reading about.
What a great investment !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 21 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamweaver 4 Magic (Paperback)
Looks good, feels good, and works good.
The tutorials are easy to follow, and explain some of the more advanced features of Dreamweaver.
Perhaps one of the best things about this book though is the online support. Get the book, try the tutorials, and if you're having trouble, post a message to the newsgroup. You'll get all the answers you need!
The book does assume some knowledge of DW though, and is not ideal for newbies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, well worth it!, 26 Jun 2001
This review is from: Dreamweaver 4 Magic (Paperback)
I've gone through the projects in the book now and can recommend it to anyone wanting to sharpen their dreamweaver skills. You think you know it all and then you get to learn some more. The use of CSS style sheets in the projects was excellent visually and also doubled as unintended(or was it intentional, Al?)tutorials. Careful consideration of cross browser issues was also great. I really am waiting for a second book now - shall we call it Ultradev 4 magic?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very pleasant suprise, 18 Jun 2001
By 
simon gurney (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamweaver 4 Magic (Paperback)
Very interesting to see what new ground Al Sparber could turn his hand to, and indeed some most pleasing results. In fact just reading the credentials of the authors and technical editors leads to a sense of expectation. Im very glad to say that this is a book designed for the already competant dreamweaver user, and each of the twelve projects can easily be turned towards existing or future work, with some nice dhtml and css touches throughout this adds some tidy little techniques which can be really used to benefit any professional dreamweaver user. the various methods of creating dhtml pop-out menus was the most immmediately useful and have already customised to my own projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - A must for DW Users!, 24 Jan 2002
By 
Mr. J. P. Grove "jamesgrove" (Halesowen, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamweaver 4 Magic (Paperback)
This book and CD are superb, the CD conatins the Extenstions required and the tuturails are written is easy to understand terms, not jargon. The book is layed out very well and there are plenty of pictures so you can see what your supposed to be doing, if you own DW then this book is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamweaver 4 Magic
Dreamweaver 4 Magic by Al Sparber (Paperback - 15 May 2001)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews