Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars32
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2014
i decided to put this on my Kindle so that it could be used as reference tool and instruction manual for people when setting up or upgrading new PC's. i have to say that it has been of more use than i thought it would be, having it to hand with the relevant page open has shortened a few calls and provided some much needed confidence to new owners of Windows 8.1

Well worth the download.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
Although I would have liked to have seen more content that was specific to the enhancements in Windows 8.1, this book was available when the latest version of Windows was released, which is commendable. Most of the content in this book is relevant, but some does apply to Windows 7 and above. However, overall this book definitely deserves better than an average rating.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
I normally don't like reading technical books on my Kindle, as it is cumbersome to flip back and forth to previously read sections. However, this short text covers a lot of the questions I had about Windows 8 and especially 8.1. In addition it covers some technical and historical issues as well, which allowed me a greater insight into Microsoft's thinking in this rather radical and misunderstood OS. Buy it at this price its a gift!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
Is very ok to read, am encourage people to get the book and read. For me I.'ll get more of it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
Its Ok but for many can be difficult to get to grips with as at first appearance it's very different from previous versions of Windows but once you do figure it out it's not that different personally now as Windows 9 is due out next year I would wait & upgrade to that is it looks from the leaked videos I've seen that it is much more user friendly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
I bought this book to kick me off with the new 8.1 operating system and read it before I received my new Laptop on order at that time. it was very helpfll to have read up on it as when the computer arrived it was very different to use than my previous Vista machine. but I had a good start havomg read much of this book first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
The book is OK and it helps to find out just how bad windows 8.1 (if a little better than 8), how is it that Microsoft have to take a few attempts before they get it right, then bring out a new useless O/S
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
very useful, and most of pictures are clickable so you can go navigate the figure by one click to move to that picture which you want, and web sites as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
Definitely for professionals although I did pick up a few points relevant for the layman. Gives you a good idea what 8.1 can be used for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
Clear and concise book giving an introduction to Windows 8.1 and its capabilities. Good chapter layout and easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)