Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good companion for the exam
Using nothing but the material in this book, it is possible to pass exam 70-486 (I have done so today).

There was really only a single problem I had with the book: there are relatively few code examples, but the information contained in the examples is extremely important. You'll want to take note of the syntax used in all of the example code and make sure you...
Published 14 months ago by ben

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A difficult read
Having gained MCSE SharePoint, I'm trying to gain MCSD SharePoint. 70-486 is one of the four exams required to get MCSD certified. As this is the official Microsoft book for the exam, I initially started to read this book but found it quite difficult to read. I put this down to being a MVC newbie. Instead I started to read Adam Freeman's Pro ASP.NET MVC 5. I was well...
Published 1 month ago by Gazzie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good companion for the exam, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Using nothing but the material in this book, it is possible to pass exam 70-486 (I have done so today).

There was really only a single problem I had with the book: there are relatively few code examples, but the information contained in the examples is extremely important. You'll want to take note of the syntax used in all of the example code and make sure you understand it completely (and, similarly, that you'd be able to identify if something did not adhere to this syntax).

The book is split into precisely the objectives that appear on the exam, and the example questions it gives in its objective reviews are extremely similar in tone and content ot the question on the exam.

in short, this book isn't a holistic overview of ASP.NET MVC 4 nor does it pretend to be - it's a fairly unforgiving but ultimately complete guide to the exam. Don't scan through it, study it closely and it'll give you everything you need to pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A difficult read, 14 May 2015
This review is from: Exam Ref 70-486: Developing ASP.NET MVC 4 Web Applications (Paperback)
Having gained MCSE SharePoint, I'm trying to gain MCSD SharePoint. 70-486 is one of the four exams required to get MCSD certified. As this is the official Microsoft book for the exam, I initially started to read this book but found it quite difficult to read. I put this down to being a MVC newbie. Instead I started to read Adam Freeman's Pro ASP.NET MVC 5. I was well impressed with Adam's book as it teaches you MVC by creating a sample application. After completing this book, I switched back to William's book. It still is a difficult read.

As an example, I've just read a section on "Design and implement the Azure role life cycle". It describes the various startup tasks of a Azure server - Startup Tasks / OnStart / Run / OnEnd. The review questions ask you to pick one of these tasks for the scenario described. Unfortunately, the answer is "OnError" which is described later in the book. Issues like this don't give you confidence in the book.

Still, the book closely follows the "Skills Measured" from the Microsoft site. I'm going to use this book for study, but it needs another book with more practical examples of MVC code.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for exam preparation!, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exam Ref 70-486: Developing ASP.NET MVC 4 Web Applications (Paperback)
I prepared for the exam with this book, and I can only recommend it! It contained almost everything for the questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book that really gets you thinking about how to apply the things you learn, 13 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Exam Ref 70-486: Developing ASP.NET MVC 4 Web Applications (Paperback)
My company bought this book to assist me in completing the Microsoft 70-486 exam. I had already completed the Pluralsight online tutorials for MVC so this book was really to get me prepared for the exam as although the exam states it is MVC, in reality only 50% is on MVC. The rest is on configuration, Azure, etc.
There is not a lot of code in this book, so you need to do quite a bit of supplementary research on how to do a few things. I found the questions at the end of each section really helpful as it challenged what you learned and how to apply it in the real world. This proved invaluable for questions in the test.
I scored quite highly in the exam and I think it is related to going through this book constantly until you can answer all the summary questions with confidence and playing around with MVC. I will be getting the next book in the series to help with the next exam!

Good luck to all you test takers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different approach than I first thought but it is definitely ..., 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Different approach than I first thought but it is definitely worth reading. It is not enough for the exam though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for all ASP. NET devs, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exam Ref 70-486: Developing ASP.NET MVC 4 Web Applications (Paperback)
Great book, very well written and useful even if you're not doing the exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exam Ref 70-486: Developing ASP.NET MVC 4 Web Applications (Paperback)
It is a great book and thanks amazon for fast service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs up, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exam Ref 70-486: Developing ASP.NET MVC 4 Web Applications (Paperback)
Bought for boyfriend for a course he is doing. Has helped him a lot and he says it is a really useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst books I've ever read, 25 Jan. 2014
The chapters are long, there are very few code samples/exercises, the "Thought Experiments" are drab, the book doesn't really cover all the topics needed to sit the exam, and its dreadfully boring. Don't waste your money on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exam Ref 70-486: Developing ASP.NET MVC 4 Web Applications
Exam Ref 70-486: Developing ASP.NET MVC 4 Web Applications by William Penberthy (Paperback - 3 Oct. 2013)
£18.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews