Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
This is an excellent book for anyone which wishes to take their T-SQL learning beyond intermediate level.

This is not a beginner's book. I would recommend the Beginning SQL Joes 2 Pros series, which is very cheap in Kindle format.

This book has exercises which test what you have just read, and I prefer to read this book on my iPad (using the ebook...
Published 20 months ago by AquaViola

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Book and Exercises fine - practice exam questions are terrible!
Do not be lulled into a false sense of security by the ridiculously easy practice questions - on my first go at these, I scored 90% without any study. They only really cover a very limited scope of what is in this book and are not at the same level as those found in the actual exam.

This then led me to take things too easy when working through the book, and as...
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Book and Exercises fine - practice exam questions are terrible!, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training Kit (Exam 70-461): Querying Microsoft SQL Server 2012 (Paperback)
Do not be lulled into a false sense of security by the ridiculously easy practice questions - on my first go at these, I scored 90% without any study. They only really cover a very limited scope of what is in this book and are not at the same level as those found in the actual exam.

This then led me to take things too easy when working through the book, and as a result I was completely caught out when taking the exam as the questions are entirely different than those found on the CD with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good reference for exam but could be improved, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training Kit (Exam 70-461): Querying Microsoft SQL Server 2012 (Paperback)
This book covers all of the topics in detail, and includes a lot of additional background theory. This could be a benefit for those that want this, but many readers will have bought this just to pass the test.

I have just passed the 70-461 exam today and have to say that the practice tests you get with the book are much easier than the real exam. I think this could be misleading for anyone that has not taken a Microsoft certification before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 12 Mar 2013
By 
AquaViola (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Training Kit (Exam 70-461): Querying Microsoft SQL Server 2012 (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for anyone which wishes to take their T-SQL learning beyond intermediate level.

This is not a beginner's book. I would recommend the Beginning SQL Joes 2 Pros series, which is very cheap in Kindle format.

This book has exercises which test what you have just read, and I prefer to read this book on my iPad (using the ebook pdf, which comes on the CD attached to the back of this book) and scroll to the start of the exercise, so I can't see the answer beforehand (sadly, the answer is printed immediately below the exercise, which makes it hard to ignore).

There is also a 15% voucher off the Microsoft exam, so that redeems some money of the price of the book straight-away.

On the down side, there is a huge errata list on the web.

Overall, essential reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but with some niggles, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training Kit (Exam 70-461): Querying Microsoft SQL Server 2012 (Paperback)
Overall this is a very good book. Most of it is very well written and covers the material in a comprehensive and understandable way. It does give a bit of background and I think that helps. It can certainly be recommended as a tutorial for learning SQL to use in anger on SQL Server, and as a training manual to pass the exam.

There are some things that could be improved. In particular, as noted by another reviewer, the sample questions are poor. They are simplistic and repetitive. The book describes them as 'Practice Tests.' Take note that it does not claim they are practice for the exam. The explanations of right and wrong answers are generally helpful, though. Also I found the chapter on XML pretty incomprehensible. It is rushed and has few examples. Finally I would love to see some good coverage of the effects of the different transaction isolation levels. The book just regurgitates the Books On-line definitions which do not really explain the interaction between your and other transactions in the different cases in any detailed or useful way.

Despite these issues, I would still rate it highly and say it is a big improvement on the 2 other Microsoft Press training manuals I have used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars detailed quality book, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training Kit (Exam 70-461): Querying Microsoft SQL Server 2012 (Paperback)
It's expensive but worth it - you will need to get a version of SQL server 2012 from somewhere though as the cd only provides the database and examples from the book - not the main program - but you can get the full version on a 180 day trial or express on unlimited to try it all out - well worth it of you want to take the exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training Kit (Exam 70-461): Querying Microsoft SQL Server 2012 (Paperback)
Excellent Book for reference and for the exam. It helped me pass 70-461 exam. The practice test questions come with this book is way too easy compared to the actual exam. Actual exam questions will take longer to do and they are little harder than the practice exam questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training Kit (Exam 70-461): Querying Microsoft SQL Server 2012 (Paperback)
Reading it is a little like running the ought treacle to start with as there is a lot of technical terminology that I have not used in the past, but once you overcome that it seems good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommend, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training Kit (Exam 70-461): Querying Microsoft SQL Server 2012 (Paperback)
In general this book tells what you need to known for the exam, it helps a lot, i really recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good grounding to start preparing for the exam, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training Kit (Exam 70-461): Querying Microsoft SQL Server 2012 (Paperback)
I'm writing this on the same day that I passed 70-463. Having previously used the other 2 ms training books to study and help to pass 70-461 and 70-462 I can now happily call myself a mcsa in sql server 2012. Without these books I would have never passed the exams but likewise I couldn't have passed by just using the books. The books help to give a grounding in the subject matter and I'm sure I'll now use them a reference as the exercises are very clear 'how to' guides . The measure-up questions help with drilling in key concepts but again these are not questions that really help in the exam.
It took me 6 weeks to read each book and complete the exercises ( never bothered with the case studies). 1 week to ace the measure-up test questions. 2 weeks of studying MS TechNet .... So 9 weeks per book.

Out if all the 3 training kits , 70-463 had the most errata but I'm not surprised given the bigger topics and concepts this book has to cover ( the o'reily website lists the errata so it's worth checking before starting each lesson). Out of the three, 70-463 was the most interesting, 70-461 the most straightforward and 70-462 the least interesting ( the pure DBA topics in 70-462 just didn't float my boat)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Results speak for themselves, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training Kit (Exam 70-461): Querying Microsoft SQL Server 2012 (Paperback)
I passed the exam first time using this as my main resource.
Itzik Ben-Gan also provides some very clever code snippets in this text. Stuff on recursive CTE's springs to mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Training Kit (Exam 70-461): Querying Microsoft SQL Server 2012
£28.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews