Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate help book!
My new computer came with Windows 8 - what a nightmare!! Tiles that didn't relate to anything I had experienced before, folders which are now libraries - why did I bother upgrading my machine?

Windows 8 step by step held my hand and steered me through this maze of 'improvements', literally step by step. I have now customised my machine - got rid of all that...
Published 18 months ago by Von27

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
Seems a fairly good book for those not familiar with windows 8. Only dissappointment is that the pictures could have been in colour. It would have been alot easier and comfortable to read and a be more attractive book. But because some of the pictures are too small and being in black and white one needs to 'squint' to read them.
Published 15 months ago by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate help book!, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft)) (Paperback)
My new computer came with Windows 8 - what a nightmare!! Tiles that didn't relate to anything I had experienced before, folders which are now libraries - why did I bother upgrading my machine?

Windows 8 step by step held my hand and steered me through this maze of 'improvements', literally step by step. I have now customised my machine - got rid of all that superfluous rubbish that Microsoft insisted on putting on and I can use the computer as it should be used, as a tool to aid my work. Without the book the machine would have been back to the shop - or through the window. It was a close run thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid, practical guide to Windows 8, 17 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Windows 8 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft)) (Paperback)
I am sure there are lots of interesting discussions to have about whether Windows 8 is the right operating system for you or not, but if you are like me, for one reason or another you have to use Windows 8. In that case, this book gives very solid explanation of how to get the best from it.

I have heard many things about Windows 8 and how confusing it can be when you try it for the first time. If you come from a traditional Windows background it can initially seem a bit surprising. But Windows 8 Step by Step gives good practical guidance to anyone wanting to learn about Windows 8, and will reduce any issues or problems you might face.

There is lots of useful content in the book, which will be helpful for both the novice the more advanced user. I particularly found the chapters on Family Safety and security helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value., 23 Nov 2012
By 
David S. Hudson (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft)) (Paperback)
As usual a Microsoft publication full of factual information, genuinely useful tips and as the title suggests, a step by step guide for all levels of Windows 8 users. Real value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars User friendly guide, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft)) (Paperback)
Brilliant book. Couldn't have got on with my new laptop without it. Very comprehensive and user friendly. I haven't got a great knowledge of computers and I could use it fine, so anyone could. Step by step tutorials if you need them but often it's just enough to read the instructions without having to download practice files. I moved up from Windows XP to Windows 8 which is a hell of a jump, but I still picked things up ok. So far everything I've needed help with is in there. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars usefull, clear language used and easy to work with!, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft)) (Paperback)
windows 8 is a whole new ballgame!
and differs as much as windows visata from XP or even more than that!
if you want to use this operating system and your computer to its full potentiel you need help and a good guide that gives you that help!
this is that good guide and this one gives you that help!
in clear easy to understand language ang gives you a lot of great and usefull tips to make a windows 8 computer your own!
a must buy especialy if you want to do more than those few basics and use your computer to your full andvantage and want it doing what you want and how you want it!

a definete must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft)) (Paperback)
The information given in this book is easy to read and follow. If you have upgraded to Win8 this explains the lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good purchase, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft)) (Paperback)
A very useful manual to understand the Microsoft Windows 8.
Useful, clear, easy to use.
Simple and practical explanations.
Very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars recommended to buy before using new windows 8, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft)) (Paperback)
purchased before I purchased my new laptop. glad I did as it gave me a good insight into what to expect from micro-softs new operating system. would recommend to anyone planning to upgrade from older widows o/s to new windows 8 as gives a good in depth insight into how it works and how to get the most from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Windows 8 Step by Step, 4 Dec 2012
By 
Andre Rodot - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft)) (Paperback)
Glad I purchased this book; it sure helps using the software !
Of course there are other books on this subject, but I consider
this one good.
Andre Rodot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My experience of 'Step by Step' Windows 8!, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft)) (Paperback)
I was a bit taken aback at the size of the manual, but it covers much more than I expected for what I personally will need at present - however, I'm sure that as I advance in getting to grips with Windows 8 it will be very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Windows 8 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft))
Windows 8 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft)) by Joli Ballew (Paperback - 6 Oct 2012)
£18.39
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews