Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Missing Manual
Anyone who embarks on a SharePoint project should read this book, and yes it's a tedious read and yes it will have to be read a few times to get it, but that's not the fault of the author (Geoff Evelyn has made it enjoyable and readable) it's just you are reading a book covering a part of SharePoint that everyone tries to ignore.. however.. it's the best part, the part...
Published on 21 Jun 2011 by Rob McManus

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A book about approach not about how to install Sharepoint
The book title is misleading. This book is about The Approach to implementing SP and good practices for managing it. If you are looking for a book to actually IMPLEMENT sharepoint per the book's title, you'll be dissappointed. I got some good principles and things to consider before implementing but I'm still clueless on how to actually implement / set up SP at the end of...
Published on 14 Jun 2011 by poppy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Missing Manual, 21 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Managing and Implementing Microsoft® SharePoint® 2010 Projects (Paperback)
Anyone who embarks on a SharePoint project should read this book, and yes it's a tedious read and yes it will have to be read a few times to get it, but that's not the fault of the author (Geoff Evelyn has made it enjoyable and readable) it's just you are reading a book covering a part of SharePoint that everyone tries to ignore.. however.. it's the best part, the part that turns SharePoint into a fully managed and workable solution, without following the steps in the book your SharePoint project is likely to fail. I have taught and worked with SharePoint for several years and I found some real gems that made the book one of my best purchases..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Sharepoint 2010 Projects, 22 Feb 2011
This is the first time ive read a book on Sharepoint and have understood what it's capable of. This is by far the most clear I have been on this subject to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 16 May 2011
By 
M. G. Weir - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For any project manager or sharepoint evangelist wishing to embark on deploying sharepoint to an organisation this is an absolute must read. Covers in very detail format and gives clear instructions how to manage and deliver sharepoint. Full marks to the author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Managing and Implementing SharePoint 2010 Projects, 25 Feb 2011
As a relative newcomer to managing SharePoint projects I loved this book for its clear practical approach. The book is well laid out with step by step guidelines following Microsoft best practises for Sharepoint project planning. Explanations of specific features and their uses which allowed me to to delve into specific areas of interest. Exactly what I needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A book about approach not about how to install Sharepoint, 14 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Managing and Implementing Microsoft® SharePoint® 2010 Projects (Paperback)
The book title is misleading. This book is about The Approach to implementing SP and good practices for managing it. If you are looking for a book to actually IMPLEMENT sharepoint per the book's title, you'll be dissappointed. I got some good principles and things to consider before implementing but I'm still clueless on how to actually implement / set up SP at the end of nearly 300 pages. Book's pretty repetitive too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 24 May 2014
By 
Mr. Bryan A. Cannon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Managing and Implementing Microsoft® SharePoint® 2010 Projects (Paperback)
Useful book, shows power of SharePoint. It's a shame it's so text-heavy; would have been more user friendly to show more screengrabs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Managing and Implementing Microsoft SharePoint 2010 Projects, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Managing and Implementing Microsoft® SharePoint® 2010 Projects (Paperback)
A good clear book. If you have experience of running projects then most of this book will just be reiteration of what you already know and a book dedicated more to how to use SharePoint would be better. From a starting point of no project experience however this book is very useful and teaches some valuable lessons in project management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 14 May 2011
By 
M. Moodie (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Managing and Implementing Microsoft® SharePoint® 2010 Projects (Paperback)
A very informative, helpful guide to a complex application. Well laid out, clear explainations help you to understand the subject and use it. I would say a must-have for companies interested in using or already using Sharepoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Project planning sharepoint, 5 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Managing and Implementing Microsoft® SharePoint® 2010 Projects (Paperback)
This book covers the project planning aspects of SharePoint development, i found that cover a lot basic project planning concepts which could acquire from any genic project planning text - would not recommended unless you feel need very SharePoint projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Managing and Implementing Microsoft® SharePoint® 2010 Projects
£11.29
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews