Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book.
This text is excellent in it's coverage of Windows 7. It is straight to the point on core features, giving step by step instructions on how to configure Windows 7 settings. I had two other earlier releases but found them too verbose (wordy)as I had to leaf through several pages to find what I needed. I am an IT Pro and bought this book to help with me with Windows 7...
Published on 16 Oct 2009 by A. Kwabula

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heavy going
Has all the info you need to administer windows 7, but the presentation is dry, boring and reading it is like wading through treacle. Still worth having by your side though.
Published on 9 Sep 2010 by f1087


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book., 16 Oct 2009
By 
A. Kwabula (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 7 Administrator's Pocket Consultant (Paperback)
This text is excellent in it's coverage of Windows 7. It is straight to the point on core features, giving step by step instructions on how to configure Windows 7 settings. I had two other earlier releases but found them too verbose (wordy)as I had to leaf through several pages to find what I needed. I am an IT Pro and bought this book to help with me with Windows 7 certification since the book for the Windows 7 exam is scheduled for release on 21 October and I wanted to take the exam in September. I did think it will be of much help, given the size and also because it is aimed at Windows 7 administration. I found most of the information i needed for the exam and was very impressive with the coverage of hot topics that cover,UAC, Branch cache, IP V6, Imagex, WIM,Windows PE, Internet Explorer 8, the all new DISM etc. Using this book, the Windows 7 unleashed, Technet resources and white papers from Microsoft I was able to pass the exam.

I got it after I had some 6 or so months hands-on experience with Windows 7 beta and RC so that may explain why I got upto speed with reading the book, but I think even those new to Windows 7 will find it easier to understand. Though some topics could be understood by all Windows 7 users, this book is certainly what it says it is - for IT Pros who will administer windows 7. The home user may find it difficult because it contains all the technical jargon that may not be appreciated by casual users. For those with a history with windows, certain topics will be a walkover. For instance I did not find differences on Disk Management when compared to Windows Vista, and the concepts of Dynamic and Basic disks is pretty much the same with that of Windows XP. So it will not be completely new. I could have given it 5 stars if it's binding was good. After more that a week of intensive use, it is showing signs of tear. The layer of glue holding the pages to the base is to thin so you will want to be more careful or else it will fall apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Review: Windows 7 Administrator’s Pocket Consultant by William R. Stanek, 16 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: Windows 7 Administrator's Pocket Consultant (Paperback)
Although the title of Stanek’s Pocket Consultant book for Windows 7 administrators might give you the impression that the content inside is ‘brief and basic’, on flicking through the introductory chapters it is evident that this book packs a serious amount of useful and precise information on every area of Windows 7 with helpful (albeit sporadically positioned) screenshots, tips and guidance to help you harness the potential of the advanced features of Microsoft’s most popular desktop operating system or explain basic system functions to others.

Windows 7 Administrator's Pocket ConsultantWhether you’re a system administrator, a student revising for a Microsoft Solutions Associate Examination or just a power user interested in maximising their knowledge of Windows 7, full coverage of all areas is provided in a 700-page in-depth package; the only noticeable compromise is the impossibility of fitting an A5-sized book of such a size in your pocket, although this is not an issue because of the extensive variety of topics covered suited to advanced users.

However, if you’re a new buyer or a casual user the title serves as advice to avoid this book as it obviously assumes intermediate-plus knowledge of general computing concepts and the Windows operating system; although focused on the excellent range of content, the presentation of the text is slightly too packed and would benefit from additional images.

In essence, Stanek’s Windows 7 Administrator’s Pocket Consultant is an excellent book that deserves to be part of any Windows administrator or power user’s collection, providing a detailed and precise explanation of every feature, function or topic that Windows 7 holds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book fof those wanting to learn more about Windows 7, 27 Nov 2009
By 
PathFinder (South East England,) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Windows 7 Administrator's Pocket Consultant (Paperback)
I would recommend this book as an excellent Windows 7 resource, it is very well layed out with great exercises, however, the book is not exactly pocket sized, unless you have very large pockets! and has quite small print
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hardly Pocket Size, 28 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. A. Smyth (Banbridge, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 7 Administrator's Pocket Consultant (Paperback)
I received this book 1 day after ordering it, I think you would have to have rather a large pocket to fit this book in. A5 size and over 700 pages is hardly what I call a pocket size consultant but apart form that it is a brilliant book covering all aspects of the new Windows 7. If you are an administrator then you will found it an invaluable book to have, trust me go ahead and buy this book you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deep pockets needed!, 1 Dec 2010
This review is from: Windows 7 Administrator's Pocket Consultant (Paperback)
At 690 pages it would be a stretch to both the concept and fabric to call this a pocket guide. There is however absolutely no froth or padding within its pages and it contains a colossal wealth of information. For most end users, IT Managers and System Administrators of small and medium sized networks this is likely to be the only Windows 7 reference book you will ever need. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 7 Administrator's Pocket Consultant (Paperback)
Purchased book following review in technical review.
It is excellent for the advanced admin functions which I wish to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's OK but..., 15 Dec 2013
By 
Chika (sitting at my desk! Duh!) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For things like this, I've finally decided I prefer paper. That'll upset the hacks at Microsoft, I suspect, but sometimes it's useful to have around, especially when you don't have a working system of any type to view it on. Otherwise, it's quite useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars windows 7 admiministrators handbook, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 7 Administrator's Pocket Consultant (Paperback)
got this book as used but in terrfiic condition goes into great depth and is helpful for vista as well, reader may need a good background of knowledge to make use of the information but it is all you should need and may help with windows 8 as well would resent paying full price for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book for Windows 7 experts, 3 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. G. Pirkhoffer (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Windows 7 Administrator's Pocket Consultant (Paperback)
As a relatively newcomer to W-7 from XP I was looking for help to speed up the transition.
The book is for what it says on the cover "Administrator's pocket consultant"
Which as I discovered is not a teaching book. Experts who need to find some detail in the bowels of
Windows 7 will find it invaluable.
George
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heavy going, 9 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 7 Administrator's Pocket Consultant (Paperback)
Has all the info you need to administer windows 7, but the presentation is dry, boring and reading it is like wading through treacle. Still worth having by your side though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Windows 7 Administrator's Pocket Consultant
Windows 7 Administrator's Pocket Consultant by William R. Stanek (Paperback - 29 Aug 2006)
21.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews