Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive and very readable introduction to Office 2010
I must admit that I'm a fan of these Plain & Simple books, having previously bought the ones on Windows XP, Windows Vista and Windows 7, so I knew what to expect: lots of information on every conceivable aspect of the subject, not in great depth, but enough to get you on the right road, after which your own intelligence (or other, more techie books) can take over. The...
Published on 13 Aug 2010 by jrdaddykins

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Office 2010 Plain & Simple
Fairly good book, but has no specific instructions on how to go about certain tasks (Excel & Word). Fairly short on explanation of the Ribbon tasks, especially applicable to those of us used to 2003+ versions where "proper folders" are used.
I would recommend looking through it before laying out the money!
Published on 17 Jan 2011 by Mr. John Wood


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive and very readable introduction to Office 2010, 13 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office 2010 Plain and Simple (Plain & Simple) (Paperback)
I must admit that I'm a fan of these Plain & Simple books, having previously bought the ones on Windows XP, Windows Vista and Windows 7, so I knew what to expect: lots of information on every conceivable aspect of the subject, not in great depth, but enough to get you on the right road, after which your own intelligence (or other, more techie books) can take over. The book makes extensive use of screen dumps, so you know exactly what should be appearing on your monitor, and each step of the process is clearly illustrated, with pointers and cross-references to the buttons you should be pressing. There are lots of "Tips" and "Cautions" and "Try This's" to help you on your way. I like the use of colour, which helps to break up the pages into manageable chunks. The book includes all the main Office 2010 components: Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, Publisher, OneNote and Access. Naturally, being a Microsoft publication, it's a "can do" without any "can't do's", but that suits me fine: if I want to know about any shortcomings, I can go and scan the many Forums on the subject. My advice is: get this book first. It's a splendid introduction to Office 2010, and may be the only book you'll ever need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide to Office 2010, 18 Aug 2010
By 
N. Jones "SPOCK" (HAMPSHIRE, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office 2010 Plain and Simple (Plain & Simple) (Paperback)
As a silver surfer I'm no computer expert so this book is of great assisatnce in getting the best out of Office 2010. It's very well laid out in a logical order & is very easy to understand. I can strongly recommend it.
Microsoft Office 2010 Plain and Simple (Plain & Simple)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivers what it promises, 19 July 2012
By 
Paul Madge (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office 2010 Plain and Simple (Plain & Simple) (Paperback)
I bought this book which covers Access, Excel, OneNote, Outlook, Powerpoint, Publisher and Word for my sister who is new to Office 2010. I note the widely polarised views on this page.

This "Plain and Simple" guide by Microsoft has an overall section on Office 2010 and is then broken down into separate sections for Word, Excel, Powerpoint, Access, Outlook etc. The pages on each respective element are colour coded and make good use of clear screen shots as well as step by step instructions to explain various activities.

I have been using Office in various iterations for over 15 years and have still come across a lot of useful things that I didn't know in this book. My perception is that this book is useful for people who are new to Office (2010) or those migrating from a much older version. Yes, it does deal with the basics which, arguably, have remained a constant, but it also develops the themes to address much more advanced functions such as pivot tables in Excel, working with special content in Word etc. The way the book is laid out makes it a useful "memory jogger" even for those that consider themselves beyond the novice stage - I have often struggled to remember a feature I haven't used for a while in Powerpoint for example.

In summary, this book delivers what it sets out to, namely, being a "Plain and Simple" guide to Office 2010, it is well constructed, the page layout and graphics are good and it is easily navigable. I personally cannot identify with some of the negative reviews on this page. In the context of its intended audience it is therefore recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Office 2010, 28 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office 2010 Plain and Simple (Plain & Simple) (Paperback)
I have just upgraded to this version, as a lot has changed I purchased this book and it is excellent, easy clear instructions, I would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft Office 2010 Plain and Simple (Plain & Simple), 6 May 2012
By 
D. A. Robbins (Beckenham Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office 2010 Plain and Simple (Plain & Simple) (Paperback)
Good book easy to understand even by me.Its a lot of information to absorb so take it slowly and it will pay dividends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plain and Simple, 18 Oct 2011
By 
KenBee (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Microsoft Office 2010 Plain and Simple (Plain & Simple) (Paperback)
Microsoft Office 2010 Plain and Simple (Plain & Simple) Clear, easy to follow, this book has helped me convert form earlier versions of MS Office. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the beginner, 15 July 2011
By 
G. Cran "Speedy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office 2010 Plain and Simple (Plain & Simple) (Paperback)
This book is great for the beginner, and for some of us who are new to MS Office 2010. The book explains the majority of tasks you are likely to encounter in an office environment, the book explains tasks with the aid of pictures and step by step guides that are very easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Office 2010 Plain & Simple, 17 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. John Wood "jw" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office 2010 Plain and Simple (Plain & Simple) (Paperback)
Fairly good book, but has no specific instructions on how to go about certain tasks (Excel & Word). Fairly short on explanation of the Ribbon tasks, especially applicable to those of us used to 2003+ versions where "proper folders" are used.
I would recommend looking through it before laying out the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Office 2010, 22 April 2011
By 
Mr. Nicholas J. Bonett "Shipwright" (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office 2010 Plain and Simple (Plain & Simple) (Paperback)
The title of this book says it all. A simple guide to the latest version of Office. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learning Microsoft, 23 Sep 2010
By 
Toots (Dorset England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office 2010 Plain and Simple (Plain & Simple) (Paperback)
So far I find that this product not only updtes me with latest version but updates on my previous use and knowledge vey well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa59d8dd4)

This product

Microsoft Office 2010 Plain and Simple (Plain & Simple)
Microsoft Office 2010 Plain and Simple (Plain & Simple) by Katherine Murray (Paperback - 29 Jun 2010)
16.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews