Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book that picks up Woody Leonhard's torch
For about 20 years now, most employers have assumed that there is no need to give their staff any training on the Microsoft Office applications that they use every day. It's collective lunacy - all the apps are packed with options and facilities, so if you know them well, you can produce much better work in much less time. But if you asked your manager for training in...
Published on 31 Dec 2010 by Peter Biddlecombe

versus
0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful to have to hand
I have upgraded from Office 2000 to Office 2010 adding in Access 2010. It's useful to have this book to hand as an overview. Haven't looked at it much as yet while concentrating on getting Access 2010 up and running.
Published on 14 Sep 2011 by Dr. Martin Bligh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book that picks up Woody Leonhard's torch, 31 Dec 2010
By 
Peter Biddlecombe "peterbiddlecombe" (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft® Office 2010 Inside Out (Paperback)
For about 20 years now, most employers have assumed that there is no need to give their staff any training on the Microsoft Office applications that they use every day. It's collective lunacy - all the apps are packed with options and facilities, so if you know them well, you can produce much better work in much less time. But if you asked your manager for training in Word or Outlook you'd get the same kind of look as if you'd asked for basic training in English or Maths. So what to do? In theory you can use Microsoft's multifarious web sites to learn, but that's not as effective as it might be. The answer for much of of those 20 years was simple - just go and buy the right book by Woody Leonhard, an independent author whose books shone a bright light through the Microsoft marketing waffle and helped you to use the applications properly. I've been a fan since his book on Word 6, and must have bought about 4 of his other books. Woody no longer writes Office books, but Ed Bott worked with him on the last couple, and clearly knows what to do. Working with the resources of Microsoft behind him is probably a good thing.

After starting a new job where Office 2010 is used, I ordered this book, and this is a preliminary review which I'll update later.

The book covers the subset of Office apps which you're most likely to use (or at least be able to use) - Word, Excel, OneNote, PowerPoint and Outlook. It's long, but the thin glossy paper used keeps it quite thin (though pretty heavy). The first 186 pages (20% of the book) are Office fundamentals - things that you can use in all of the apps. You then get around 100 pages on each app (150 for Word), followed by 90-odd pages on Sharing and Collaborating. Judging from an initial look at the Fundamentals and Word sections, the information is as clear and well-chosen as I expected - and reflects the Woody L heritage with just the occasional joke. You also get free access to an O'Reilly Safari version, so if you use Office 2010 in multiple places, you don't have to transport the book.

Buy it, then skim through it to see what's there. Then read it in spare moments and take advantage of what you learn. Don't lend it to anyone - you may never see it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 21 Jan 2011
By 
Vincent (Harlow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft® Office 2010 Inside Out (Paperback)
The book is heavy, but it contains lots of useful info. It is a massive undertaking to write a book about MS Office 2010. Usually people only write about 1 application, i.e. Word only, or Excel only. But this book contains all of them: Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, and One Note!
There are a lot in common between Office apps, such as editing/formatting text and dealing with graphics. These are covered in the beginning of the book, in Part 1. Part 2 to 6 explain each Office app one by one: Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and One Note. Each part contains 4 chapters: 1 covering the basics, 2 covering specific tasks and the last one (called the Inside Out) covers the advanced stuff.
Because it covers 5 apps within MS Office, I thought the content would be thinly spread. But I was surprised with how detailed the coverage was. The book is full of useful tips which save my time. I didn't believe there was a book which could claim "this is for people who never use Office" and "this is for people who has used Office for 10 years". But this book does both. No wonder it's so heavy (literally). I have used Office for 20 years and not for 1 second I believed I needed an book on MS Office. But on the contrary, I found lots of useful info in this book. Things that I didn't know. I would recommend this book even if you think you already know MS Office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 15 July 2011
By 
G. Cran "Speedy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft® Office 2010 Inside Out (Paperback)
This is a very comprehensive book on Microsoft Office 2010. As always, the Inside Out Books are great for reference on Microsoft products. And Ed Bott is a great author as he seems to have that unique gift of explaining complex tasks in a form that makes it seem easy. You certainly won't be disappointed if you buy this book whether you are a professional or novice this book fulfills both needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the Job, 11 July 2011
This review is from: Microsoft® Office 2010 Inside Out (Paperback)
Very good book, just at my level - Self taught, medium(ish) knowledge. I like the format and the narrative is not too technical therfore easy to read and digest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 20 May 2011
This review is from: Microsoft® Office 2010 Inside Out (Paperback)
I am not an expert but I am trying to be and this book is a great help towards that goal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 25 Sep 2011
This review is from: Microsoft® Office 2010 Inside Out (Paperback)
This book is great. I bought it as I use Office 2010 at work and have it at home so wanted to find out about some features.
Worth buying as you can use it for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Office 2010 Inside Out, 4 Sep 2011
By 
P. Millist "Arlanza" (Walton on the Naze UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft® Office 2010 Inside Out (Paperback)
An excellent Book on MS Office 2010. Covers the most used applications - Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and One Note. Comprehensive and covers just about everything you would want to know about Office 2010. Goes into enough detail and depth to give a great insight into the suite capabilities, without being technical or boring. Easily understood, without being patronizing. Well worth the money considering its size and coverage. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good as a general guide, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft® Office 2010 Inside Out (Paperback)
I bought this book to keep at work as my employer had just changed to Office 2010. I'd recently undertaken an office 2010 course so have a very good knowledge of Office 2010. I find this book easy to read and easy to use. I would say if you are new to office 2010 (i.e. basic level)then this book is good as an overview but if you need to know about the Office 2010 products in depth (i.e. expert level) then this is the wrong book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft Office 2012 Inside Out, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A comprehensive text based document that explains the Office 2010 products well. It is difficult with the Kindle version to see sopme of the graphics accompanying the text but this does not impair the general guidance provided. A useful reference text as well as first time description of the working of Office 2010. Does not include Access.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft Office 2010 Inside Out - A must Have, 30 April 2012
By 
Eleonore Barth "Leoni" (Belgien) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft® Office 2010 Inside Out (Paperback)
Absolutely well done: easy to use, clearly written, no need to read all the book, if you just need to check something as the index is very detailed.
I consider myself as well-trained with Microsoft Office 2003, but so many things changed with Microsoft Office 2010 that I can only recommend this guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft® Office 2010 Inside Out
Microsoft® Office 2010 Inside Out by Carl Siechert (Paperback - 7 Oct 2010)
£27.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews