Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There is an easier starter book
The Plain and simple for windows 7 is well presented and goes into quite a bit of detail and I knew what to expect as I have the similar version for Windows XP. Including the pages falling out after much use.
If, however, you are new to computers or like me not that much into the IT business then you may find it worthwhile to add an additional book to get started...
Published on 31 Mar. 2010 by Edward Deming

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Windows 7 Plain & Simple
On the plus side, well presented book and arranged in useful order. Helpful for newcomers to Win 7. Does deal with most of the functions in win 7 and the colour pages and layout is good.

On the negative points, the book is not too helpful when it comes to explaining Internet Explorer (I know this is a win 7 book, but a lot of folk will be using it with IE) and...
Published on 10 Sept. 2011 by Buypedz


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There is an easier starter book, 31 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows® 7 Plain & Simple (Paperback)
The Plain and simple for windows 7 is well presented and goes into quite a bit of detail and I knew what to expect as I have the similar version for Windows XP. Including the pages falling out after much use.
If, however, you are new to computers or like me not that much into the IT business then you may find it worthwhile to add an additional book to get started with windows 7. I can recommend the Easy Microsoft Windows 7 (See it done. do it yourself.) book. This is simple and very well presented, its basic but will quickly get you started.
Then add or purchase later the Plain and Simple book when you want to dig that bit further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Windows 7, plain and simple, 31 Jan. 2010
By 
C. Hart (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows® 7 Plain & Simple (Paperback)
I have recently had to replace my desktop, the replacement coming with Windows 7 rather than Vista. I had bought the Vista book from the same authors so expected a comprehensively written user handbook written in Englaish rather than PC speak. I am delighted with the book as is my daughter who I bought a copy for as well. Best kept by your PC so that you can read-up on any area of concern or problem, relating directly to your keyboard and screen. The book covers all aspects of '7' and, whilst being an easy read, provides soluitions to many problems, perceived or otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Windows 7 Plain & Simple, 10 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Windows® 7 Plain & Simple (Paperback)
On the plus side, well presented book and arranged in useful order. Helpful for newcomers to Win 7. Does deal with most of the functions in win 7 and the colour pages and layout is good.

On the negative points, the book is not too helpful when it comes to explaining Internet Explorer (I know this is a win 7 book, but a lot of folk will be using it with IE) and the difference between 32 and 64 bit versions. This caused me a lot of phone calls, as my Norton Internet security would not operate all its features unless the 32-bit version was selected.
Finally, as said by other reviewers the book is poorly bound in landscape format and the pages easily separate from the binding even if you leave it open on the desk overnight- not good and spoils and otherwise comprehensive guide. All considered a good book if you take great care in handling it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plain & simple Windows 7, 13 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Windows® 7 Plain & Simple (Paperback)
Well written, easy to use, good value for money.a must for those new to Windows 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plain And Simple Windows 7, 7 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows® 7 Plain & Simple (Paperback)
I have been used to using windows XP and found this book really useful to learn about all the new things in Windows 7 really clear and easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Windows 7, 1 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows® 7 Plain & Simple (Paperback)
Excellent, well written and fully illustrated book which lets one clearly understand the everyday workings of Windows 7. No hesitation in recommending it, particularly to those of us who are somewhat up in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY WINDOWS 7, 19 May 2010
By 
Mr. William Burgin "SWANSEAPIE" (SWANSEA, WALES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Windows® 7 Plain & Simple (Paperback)
THIS HAS TO BE THE BEST BOOK OUT FOR PEOPLE UNKNOWN TO WHAT WINDOWS 7 CAN DO, IT'S ILLUSTRATIONS ARE SO EASY TO FOLLOW FOR YOUNG AND OLD ALIKE.
IF YOU HAVEN'T GOT IT YET THEN GET IT, YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.
ITS SIMPLY SO EASY TO FOLLOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Windows 7, 19 May 2011
This review is from: Windows® 7 Plain & Simple (Paperback)
"PLAIN & SIMPLE" it is NOT!!
The font used in the windows screens is far too small and there are windows missed out of many of the processes making it impossible to follow the logic of the advice.
SEE IT BEFORE YOU BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It covers most of what you need to know, 15 Nov. 2010
By 
John Boy (Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows® 7 Plain & Simple (Paperback)
Unless you are writing DOS commands or HTML, books about computers need to show what is on the screen and not rely on pages of text. This book provides loads of images and even screen shots of DOS commands. As I'd mispent my time playing around with Windows 95, 98 and XP Pro over the years, there was a bit of me that didn't expect to learn much; I was wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plain and simple, 20 Jan. 2010
By 
Donald R. Brown "DRB" (Northants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows® 7 Plain & Simple (Paperback)
the title says it all ,this comes from 78 year old with a learning problem.
first class. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Windows® 7 Plain & Simple
Windows® 7 Plain & Simple by Marianne Moon (Paperback - 26 Sept. 2009)
£13.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews