Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2009
As the previous reviewer notes, there are basic errors in the number of instances reported, there are typos in the value ranges of the datatypes, the review questions refer to material not covered in the chapter, and to cap it all off one of the practise test questions says that the information for the question is covered in Chapter 2 lessons 2, 3 & 4... there are only 3 lessons in Chapter 2.

If the author spent as long on the details as he does on the little bits at the beginning of each chapter where he regales you with another amazing thing from his illustrious career then this could be a good book. However he seems more interested in getting across how many servers/databases/companies he's worked for, and making sure you know what a genius he is.

If you're looking for a book to get you through the exam, then try a different one. Personally after 20 years as a SQL Server DBA, I'm amazed Microsoft have put their name to this book, let alone used it for a training kit.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2010
I won't go into detail on the bad points of the book (the technical and many grammatical errors, lesson review questions that require knowledge of the next few lessons, the author's arrogance, etc.) as these have all been mentioned by other reviewers. I do however have praise for the practice exams - they are the saving grace.

When you do the practice tests on the accompanying CD they're really configurable and you can get detailed explanations of every answer. What was disappointing was what each explanation includes references to which chapters/lessons in the book the answer is covered in and in a lot of cases the book simply doesn't cover the subject at a level low enough to answer the question. Don't let this stop you though, the explanations within the software are well worth studying.

In the end I was not left confident at all but I did pass the exam and I believe this was only from the hours spent on the practice tests.

My top tip: Once you've read the book concentrate on database backup/restore procedures. Follow that by going over failover clustering, mirroring, replication and log shipping and research online if you're not already familiar with them.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2009
I like the new layout of the book compared to the Windows 2008 series which were compiled earlier. Microsoft have released a web page with corrections listed, in fact they seem to do this for other learning books, so rather than change the book which is a shame or tell you where to look for updates which is also inconvenient. Anyway hope it helps in this case.

[...]
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2009
In Chapter 1 of the 70-432 Sql Server 2008 implementation and maintenance, it lists out the basic features of "all" versions of sql server, but it leaves out Enterprise.

For all editions, it says that multiple instances are not allowed, yet when i check on the sqlserver site it tells me all editions support up to 16 instances except the enterprise version, which supports 50 instances.

Such simple facts wrong so early in the book. is this a sign of the quality of the rest of the book? has anyone else used this book yet? Im thinking of just sending it back if its that inaccurate.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2009
There must be better books than this! It has errors in it which is unforgivable for text book for an exam. It poses review questions at the end of chapters which actually relate to the next chapter! Find another book!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
At the beginning I had some doubts about credibility of the material in this book - primarily based on the boasted claims by the author.
However, after torough reading and reviewing I have to admit that this text is probably the best thing you can currently get for 70-432 exam.
If you are professional DBA studying for the exam it gives you nice overview of the topics as you don't really need any handholding - after all, this is not Oracle Administration II and you will pass the exam in your sleep.
If you are a newbie - make sure to work through the examples and it should cover all the essentials. In my experience the only questions not covered by this book were related to security and user rights.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2010
You are no doubt serious about learning SQL Server 2008 and passing the exam. So, I have to warn you: DONT buy this book. It is filled with glaring errors such as: only the enterprise version is capable of multi SQL instances.

The author's style would force the most ardent of SQL Students to vibrate floor boards.

If you are looking for a few well written books then try:

Manning - SQL Server 2008 Administration in Action

or

Tom Carpenter: SQL Server 2008 Administration Real world skills

Both are excellent books for reference and self study
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2009
The book comes with 150 questions on disk and a 6 month licence of SQL 2008 Enterprise. Some sections of the book, test you on parts of the book you havnt actually read about and other sections are actually wrong. Rather than see this as a problem it made me use the book in parallel with MSDN. I wouldn't use the book for work, but as a training/revision aid its fine.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2009
As mentioned in other reviews, the factual errors in the first chapter alone should be a massive warning to people who want to use this book as a learning reference.

The publisher should really be ashamed of this effort.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2011
Granted, I have only read the first three chapters of this book - but it REALLY demonstrates a poor effort!

The number of typos, confusing choice of words and just plain errors so far in the book is quite amazing.

Worst of all are some of the excercises, now these should really be possible to replicate with one or more SQL 2008 Server Virtual Machines - THIS IS NOT THE CASE!

How MS Press can release something as poorly written and executed as this "training kit" is beyond me.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)