Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great intro
Don't be put off by the title, this is not as trivial a book as many of the step by step guides from Microsoft seem to be. Reed has developed this book over a number of years to this 2007 version and it shows in the thoroughness and accuracy. I use it as the recommended book on an undergraduate VBA course and it serves as a very solid introduction. A good place to start...
Published on 7 Nov 2008 by Neal G. O'nions

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great on Excel, Poor on VBA
This book was a huge letdown for me. You could find more useful information on VBA for Excel with a Google search and 30 minutes of reading than you will find in this whole book. It is clear the authors expertise lies in Excel and not VBA.

The book has far too much text and does not deliver on the VBA content.I feel quite let down by this book's title...
Published on 22 Oct 2011 by Tropheus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great intro, 7 Nov 2008
By 
Neal G. O'nions (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft® Office Excel® 2007 Visual Basic® for Applications Step by Step (BPG-step by Step) (Paperback)
Don't be put off by the title, this is not as trivial a book as many of the step by step guides from Microsoft seem to be. Reed has developed this book over a number of years to this 2007 version and it shows in the thoroughness and accuracy. I use it as the recommended book on an undergraduate VBA course and it serves as a very solid introduction. A good place to start before progressing to Bovey et al.

Whilst it could be improved, notably by using a standard naming convention and not encouraging people to turn off Option Explicit, the material presented is a thourough subset of VBA neccessary to get you producing solid, well written procedures.

Also don't be put of this if you are using Excel 2003 at present - the material rarely requires you to be running 2007 and .xlsm files will read into 2003 using a free download from Microsoft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great on Excel, Poor on VBA, 22 Oct 2011
This review is from: Microsoft® Office Excel® 2007 Visual Basic® for Applications Step by Step (BPG-step by Step) (Paperback)
This book was a huge letdown for me. You could find more useful information on VBA for Excel with a Google search and 30 minutes of reading than you will find in this whole book. It is clear the authors expertise lies in Excel and not VBA.

The book has far too much text and does not deliver on the VBA content.I feel quite let down by this book's title.

Quote from the book

"This book has been designed to lead you step by step through all the tasks that you are most likely to want to perform when creating macros in Microsoft Office Excel 2007".

If you want to learn about Macros in Excel, this book might help. If you want to learn about VBA for Excel, steer clear of this book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great starting place., 16 Aug 2011
By 
D. A. Wood (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft® Office Excel® 2007 Visual Basic® for Applications Step by Step (BPG-step by Step) (Paperback)
Let's start with a bit of background information; I have a background in programming mainly forms of C and microcontroller based languages, so programming is not a new thing for me. I have found recently that Excel has been becoming more and more limited in its basic functionality so decided that I should lean VBA in order to argument it.
This book was first lent to me by my girlfriend who is an accountant and used VBA in Excel on a daily basis. I found it so useful in fact that I have brought it myself.
This book is designed for beginners it goes from the most basic recording operation to starting to create your own user forms. It covers every topic you need to make a spreadsheet more effective and user friendly. It is a great place to start if you are just learning to program, or like me haven't really used VB before.
I complete all of the sections in the book within two weeks finding them all useful and informative. They cover most everyday functions you come across. The only real limitation is if you are using an older version of Excel i.e. anything before 2007, but this should only be a minor inconvenience to someone who uses Excel on a regular basis and knows where menus can be found.
I have moved on from this book now into a move advances on that concentrates more on the programming, but I keep this book on my desk as it still works as a good reference if I ever get stuck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Step by Step, 9 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Microsoft® Office Excel® 2007 Visual Basic® for Applications Step by Step (BPG-step by Step) (Paperback)
Excellent well illustrated and easy to follow tuition book, must read with care though. Author realy explains very well for the layman to follow. Delivery and service from Amazon was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, 19 Feb 2011
This review is from: Microsoft® Office Excel® 2007 Visual Basic® for Applications Step by Step (BPG-step by Step) (Paperback)
Very nice book for anyone starting to learn VBA, although very limited scope but the topics are very well explained, and very easy to follow the examples.

Though I would strongly recommend for anyone with or without prior VBA experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 16 Sep 2010
By 
Joao Aleluia - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft® Office Excel® 2007 Visual Basic® for Applications Step by Step (BPG-step by Step) (Paperback)
Excellent book for start learning VBA, very limited scope but very well explained, and very easy to follow the examples.

Though I would recommend this only for someone with no prior VBA experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, easy to follow., 9 Jun 2010
This review is from: Microsoft® Office Excel® 2007 Visual Basic® for Applications Step by Step (BPG-step by Step) (Paperback)
I don't have much Excel background when I start this book. This book is so easy to follow and I begin to love so called programming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft® Office Excel® 2007 Visual Basic® for Applications Step by Step (BPG-step by Step), 3 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Christopher Bush (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft® Office Excel® 2007 Visual Basic® for Applications Step by Step (BPG-step by Step) (Paperback)
I bought this for editing a previous created application, I found I had to combine this with other books to gain the information I needed, the lessons are good but they only show you the steps and don't digress into further information. It perceives you will only work with their creations which is a bit blinkered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 16 April 2014
By 
Jin Su Im "Jin" (Norwich UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft® Office Excel® 2007 Visual Basic® for Applications Step by Step (BPG-step by Step) (Paperback)
Qaulity of book is good as described. Have started using the book to learn Visual Basic Application and it explains things clearly and in details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent if you have little programming experience..., 19 Jun 2013
This review is from: Microsoft® Office Excel® 2007 Visual Basic® for Applications Step by Step (BPG-step by Step) (Paperback)
This book is an excellent start for those who want to start learning programming in VBA. If you follow the examples step by step you will for sure learn to develop your first programs to automate working with Excel.

If you already have programming experience you will probably feel the pace of this book is too slow. In that case I would suggest John Walkenbach "Power Programming With VBA", which is a good book to learn from and a great reference book.
Excel 2007 Power Programming with VBA (Mr. Spreadsheet's Bookshelf)

After Walkenbach, you might want to move on to "Professional Excel Development: The Definitive Guide to Developing Applications Using Microsoft Excel, VBA, and .NET" by Bovey, Wallentin e.a.
Professional Excel Development: The Definitive Guide to Developing Applications Using Microsoft Excel, VBA, and .NET: The Definitive Guide to ... and VBA (Addison-Wesley Microsoft Technology)

That is pretty much everything you will ever need on Excel VBA...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft® Office Excel® 2007 Visual Basic® for Applications Step by Step (BPG-step by Step)
£18.68
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews