Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference
This review is for the 70-291 book not for 70-284, as for some reason reviews for the 70-284 book have ended up here.

The 70-291 book was a very good study guide and reference book, I would recommend it to anyone taking this the 70-291 exam. Everything is covered very well and it certainly should help get you through the exam. However, please don't expect to...
Published on 20 Oct 2008 by L. Snowden

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good for referecene, but beware of relying on Measureup tests...
As always, the MSPress self study training kits are excellent to prepare for exams, but for the 70-291 exam do not reccomend that you rely on the included measureup tests to assess your exam readiness.

I used the one provided with the book and purchased the latest version from measureup.com. even though I understood the materials in the sample exams pretty...
Published on 16 May 2009 by P. Gray


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference, 20 Oct 2008
By 
L. Snowden (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MCSA/MCSE Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-291): Implementing, Managing, and Maintaining a Microsoft® Windows Server(TM) 2003 Network Infrastructure: ... Infrastructure, Sec (Pro Certification) (Hardcover)
This review is for the 70-291 book not for 70-284, as for some reason reviews for the 70-284 book have ended up here.

The 70-291 book was a very good study guide and reference book, I would recommend it to anyone taking this the 70-291 exam. Everything is covered very well and it certainly should help get you through the exam. However, please don't expect to use this book as a sole study guide, you do need additional study material. While this book covers pretty much everything, a book on its own is not sufficient to pass the exam.

The only downside of this book is some of the practices are setup where you need to have a connection to two separate phone lines. I didn't have two phone lines so pretty much had gloss over these practices, but because I had additional study material I was still able to cover everything to a good degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good for referecene, but beware of relying on Measureup tests..., 16 May 2009
By 
P. Gray (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MCSA/MCSE Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-291): Implementing, Managing, and Maintaining a Microsoft® Windows Server(TM) 2003 Network Infrastructure: ... Infrastructure, Sec (Pro Certification) (Hardcover)
As always, the MSPress self study training kits are excellent to prepare for exams, but for the 70-291 exam do not reccomend that you rely on the included measureup tests to assess your exam readiness.

I used the one provided with the book and purchased the latest version from measureup.com. even though I understood the materials in the sample exams pretty well, and could get over 95% in the sample tests, I failed the exam on first sitting, as the measureup tests did not seem to relate to the materials in the exam. I guess that MS has very recently changed the question pool for the 70-291 exam.

That said, I have re-read the book concentrating on the materials I had in my first exam, and used other sample papers and passed 2nd time with 890 out of 1000.

This is unusual, as I have had excellent results from the other training kits and included sample exams - I got 940 points on my first try on my 70-290 using these books.

I can still thouroughly recommend these books, I have since purchased another two, which I will use to prepare for other upcoming MCSE exams.

Also note that these books are heavily discounted at amazon - a real bargain for an IT technical book with so much included...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 6 Sep 2011
By 
I bought this book to get me through the 70-291 exam and was left bitterly disappointed. The book is overly wordy in some chapters, to the point of reducing you to a boredom induced coma, and then wholly incomplete in others leaving under-prepared for the exam. Just sat (and failed) the exam and the book failed to deliver in key areas. WSUS for example, my exam had 5 questions regarding WSUS out of 44, yet the book tip-toes round the subject in four useless pages (out of 1000+), infuriating - tip to all others planning on taking the 70-291 download the WSUS admin guide from the web to prepare you properly. The book also contain multiple typos, with references to diagrams and tables incorrect or missing. Overall I'm not impressed, my resit is in 4 weeks and I've just ordered MCSA/MCSE 70-291 Exam Prep, it's had good reviews so will try that instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, 15 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MCSA/MCSE Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-291): Implementing, Managing, and Maintaining a Microsoft® Windows Server(TM) 2003 Network Infrastructure: ... Infrastructure, Sec (Pro Certification) (Hardcover)
Very deep guide, but don't rely just on it to do the exam, otherwise you will fail. You need lots of hands on experience on this, so set um several virtual machines and practice a lot! Try to do as much exercises as possible as the exam has lots of simulations. The book is very well written and full of simple explanations and hints
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fails to achieve its purpose, 2 Oct 2008
By 
Jenny (Bradford on Avon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MCSA/MCSE Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-291): Implementing, Managing, and Maintaining a Microsoft® Windows Server(TM) 2003 Network Infrastructure: ... Infrastructure, Sec (Pro Certification) (Hardcover)
I've used a number of MS Press books to help me study for my Server 2003 MCSA and this is by far the worst. The worst of all worlds, this book is long and wordy without being instructive. It tends to repeat basic information several times before taking you through various options on the screens relating to configuring whatever option its talking about. There is no background explanation for things, no context, just confusion. Study books should either be detailed and in-depth or short and snappy, this is neither.

I haven't the funds to buy all of the books going, but I've borrowed a copy of the Syngress book for this exam and it explains things a lot better.

As for those people complaining that the workshop exercises are too involved, that's the nature of the subject. How can you practice network configuration and troubleshooting without a network?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inaccuracies in the book, 17 Nov 2006
By 
M. Tarala - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I will expand further un the review below and add that its pretty obvious to me that they did not actually do some of their practice sessions themselves.

Example: They have an entire section of one chapter on creating a service account for Exchange 2003 and a practice on how to change the Exchange services to log on using this. When you follow their instructions, you get errors logged and teh services refuse to start this is because since Exchange 2000 you have not been able to use anything but the local system account to log on. That is by design.

There are many more completely glaring omissions and inaccuracuies in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good content if you have a couple of spare computers and isp acounts, 17 Jan 2008
By 
James Myers (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MCSA/MCSE Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-291): Implementing, Managing, and Maintaining a Microsoft® Windows Server(TM) 2003 Network Infrastructure: ... Infrastructure, Sec (Pro Certification) (Hardcover)
Content of the book is good and really in depth and comes with a 180 day evaluation version of Server 2003 but to complete some of the exercises and Labs in the book, you could do with a couple of spare pc's, phone lines, and isp accounts. Some of these exercise can be replicated using Virtual PC software (with a few minor adjustments), but the Routing & Remote Access and NAT sections are a bit more difficult to complete unless you have the necessary resources.

For example the start of Chapter 10...
" Before you begin
to complete this chapter, you must have
- networked two computers, named Computer 1 & Computer2, each running server 2003...
- a separate phone line available to each computer (recommended)
- two internet service provider accounts, or one account that can be legally be used to connect two separate computers to the Internet simultaneously..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incorrect information within book, 30 Aug 2006
By 
D. Craig (Warrington, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Many parts of the book proved useful. However some topic's within this book are incorrect, i have since researched on Microsoft's website and on more than one occasion the book conflicts with answers from the website! with the website ultimately being correct.

If you are aiming to take the 70-284 exam i would not recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No use for exam, 28 Jan 2006
By A Customer
I have passed several MS exams and have used ms books every time and always passed exams first time except this one. This is a good book but did not get me through the exam so would not reccomend it if you are buying for the purpose of passing the 70-284 exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews