Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A technical resource bible
Once again Ed Bott has written a superb book. The book is enriched with detailed contexts and he has covered every area possible. I've been in the IT industry for over 10 years and have recently upgraded to Windows XP Professional. This book makes sure that my investment is not wasted and shows me how to get the most out of the new OS. From simple things like how to tweak...
Published on 21 Nov 2001 by dk_uttamlal@yahoo.co.uk

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More Outside than In
The sheer mass and size of this so called manual, published (hardcover) on paper flimsier than newsprint, belies the depth of its penetration. As a power-user of XP, I soon found that fifty percent of what it should cover is missing. Believe it or not, it might be BIG, but it is far from comprehensive. Instead it is padded with pretty screen prints of what you can see on...
Published on 22 Feb 2004 by baobabb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A technical resource bible, 21 Nov 2001
Once again Ed Bott has written a superb book. The book is enriched with detailed contexts and he has covered every area possible. I've been in the IT industry for over 10 years and have recently upgraded to Windows XP Professional. This book makes sure that my investment is not wasted and shows me how to get the most out of the new OS. From simple things like how to tweak the UI to the more complex of filing systems and security settings. Unlike other books that are for the first time users, this book takes you steps further from what you already know. This book is a MUST for anyone serious about their computing and I would sincerely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


130 of 133 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Buy, 22 Nov 2001
This book is an excellent reference book for Windows XP. It will suite both the novice seeking to understand the basics of an operating system, as well as the intermediate and expert users who have upgraded from other operating systems.
At first glance the size of the book (1250) pages may be off putting to a casual buyer. I found that despite its size it was easy to follow and very informative. The chapters are laid out in a logical fashion with plenty of screen shot pictures throughout. The book covers everything from basic desktop manipulation to writing scripts and batch files to automate Windows XP.
The companion CD contains various demos of useful software like anti-virus etc, as well as copies of all the batch files and scripts discussed in the book. By far the best feature of the Cd is the eBook, which at 48mb for a full install allows you to have all the books content on your lap top for easy reference.
At the time of writing I can find no book that even comes close to this one for content and value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value For Money, 1 Jan 2004
By 
David Hollingworth (Courtmacsherry, Co. Cork Ireland) - See all my reviews
I purchased the hardback 'Deluxe' version of this book and found it to be excellent. As a seasoned Unix developer and a long term Windows user I found myself trying to set up a home network of 2 XP & 1 Linux system. This book has all the inside information that I needed to get things up and running; plus many, many other eye openers that have greatly enhance my abilities to manage my XP systems.
My only gripe is that the Deluxe version states it includes service pack 1 on the CD (I need this for one of my systems). However on launching the CD I read that it's not available on the CD and has to be downloaded from the Internet (6+ hours at 33.2Kbs :( )
Despite this I still rate it a very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quality, useful resource - if not quite detailed enough, 9 Aug 2006
By 
Chris Of The OT (South West of England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft® Windows® XP Inside Out (BPG-Inside Out) (Paperback)
This title is divided into nine parts, from an `Introduction & Installation' section (200+ pages) to such diverse topics as:

Customising/Configuring Windows XP

Managing Files

Media Player & Image Editing

Internet Explorer/Outlook Express

System Maintenance & Recovery

Networking

Each part starts with it's own very clear contents page before the chapter title page offers a neat, more detailed list of its contents in the left margin. Each chapter is clearly separated into titles, and further subdivided by many sub-headings. The use of differing but always consistent type faces & styles (bold, italic, indented text, etc.) and switching between black for main text, blue for `tips' or black-on-blue for special sections like `Troubleshooting' mean that complex information is parcelled up neatly and conveniently. The many tables, charts and figures are all clear and helpful.

While it is easy to criticise this title for not being comprehensive enough, once any book reaches 1200+ pages, you simply have to stop writing! What we are left with is a useful volume covering many topics in reasonable depth. A good example might be Chapter 3: `Controlling Access to Your Computer', which introduces us to Windows XP User Accounts. There is much essential and useful help here, including some differences between the XP Home and Professional Editions, as well as a section on using Net User (a Command Prompt feature). But (like the next reviewer down says) sometimes there is no help with a specific problem. For instance: a corrupted account - how do you copy account information from one account to another? And I imagine that many of us would appreciate more information on using Windows registry; however to expect a detailed account of command-line syntax or even editing registry keys would be too much (there are other Microsoft Press titles available for these).

Microsoft Press also offer a CD with all their Inside Out titles - essential in this day and age. The CD contains the book exactly as it appears in print as well as some add-ins and templates for Windows XP. It also adds a search feature and other aids like figures which will load to full-screen size (or near), and links for easy jumping to different chapters.

As with any textbook, it is not possible to cover every single topic but this title does cover the most useful. It's not as well balanced as Word 2002 Inside Out, for instance, but it's still a beautifully presented, well written title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More Outside than In, 22 Feb 2004
The sheer mass and size of this so called manual, published (hardcover) on paper flimsier than newsprint, belies the depth of its penetration. As a power-user of XP, I soon found that fifty percent of what it should cover is missing. Believe it or not, it might be BIG, but it is far from comprehensive. Instead it is padded with pretty screen prints of what you can see on your own monitor by clicking one button. I'll give just one example of an annoyance. I wanted to change the attribute of a folder - obvious - clear or check a green, square radio button. But if that doesn't work? Not everything does what it is supposed to do, every time.
There is very little "Troubleshooting" to help you, as you will soon find out for yourself, as this booked is aimed at the beginner seeing things for the first time, or covers ground that is hardly ever usefully traversed in practice, ground seen for the first time by advanced users. It forgets about the Command line all of the time and what can best be productively achieved outside the GUI. I'm sorry but my expectations were not met when I read this book. I agree with the previous reviewer that it wastes a lot of time on XP Pro, which contains a lot of stuff for networks specifically, to which it is biased. People use Pro (or a tiny fraction of it) because they think "Pro" must be better than "Home", but the Home version excludes all the server stuff for company use. So what? That means the two could have been separated, and the core version covered in depth, comprehensively, to the nth degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars XP Inside and Out, 3 Nov 2002
By 
Mr. Brian Jenkinson "Fester" (Wickford, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a very experienced Microsoft technician, this is the first book on the Inside/Out range that I have ever purchased. Normally I use only Microsoft Press books and self paced training.
During my study for the MCP exam in XP, this book was invaluable. With helpful hints and not so easy to find registry hacks.
The book is not aimed at beginers. People need to start reading prefaces and recomendations, the book inside and out is not aimed at users of XP Home but Professional, although there is an overlap use this as a training for using Professional. Anybody wanting to play games on the XP Home operating system then go buy a gaming machine, anybody wanting to use a business tool get thsi book and learn.
I will be using the Inside and Outside range again and would strongly recommend this book to my professional IT Colleagues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE manual that should come WITH XP Pro..., 10 Mar 2003
By 
J. H. Campbell (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bin your silly 32 page pamphlet and save yourself XP aggro with this monster reference of a tome, it really has it all and shows how to strip out all the padding that XP comes ready fitted with, like the apple candy idiot mode.
If it wasn't for this manual, I wouldn't have found out about the speed sapping XP 'Services' (threads), of which there are over 30 of them, the majority unecessary.
Neither would I have been unable to disable Error reporting and auto update, two Microsoft boo-boos.
Yes its a Microsoft press book, but is free of toeing the party line presentation.
Beginners will be fine with this volume as u just start on chapter 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant!!, 16 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This book told me everything I needed to know from how to configure Internet Sharing to configuring the firewall.
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Reading, 17 Jan 2003
By A Customer
As a experience IT professional familiar with 98/NT/2000, this book had alot of new information in it but alot of it is based around single user or work groups. The new funtionality of XP is well explained but for some one of my knowlegde I was able to skip over quite a few parts of the book. This is a good book but a book with the title such as the Difference Between XP and Windows 2000 for IT Professional would be the ultimate title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good reference book, 4 May 2013
By 
J. Cleary (Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some of the material was a a bit above my ability but it did help some of the problems I had with XP usually with the help of a more knowledgeable friend. It is a good reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft® Windows® XP Inside Out (BPG-Inside Out)
Microsoft® Windows® XP Inside Out (BPG-Inside Out) by Craig Stinson (Paperback - 7 Nov 2004)
£27.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews