Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agile Project Management
From a Project/Programme Managers perspective, this is excellent introductory material for those who haven't used Scrum formally. The book introduces the reader to each of the Scrum concepts and also attempts to portray them in a real-world scenario. For those planning to undertake the certification course this would be a very good primer along with Agile Estimating and...
Published on 26 April 2010 by M. Harte

versus
48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of case studies,
Scrum is a simple emperical process of project management. There are few rules and these are adequately explained in a few pages and within the appendix of this book. So what, you might ask, is the rest of the book taken up with.

Well there's lots of case studies to demonstrate the practical use of Scrum in different scenarios. I must admit to having found...
Published on 5 Dec 2006 by purpleblob


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of case studies,, 5 Dec 2006
By 
purpleblob (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Agile Project Management with Scrum (Microsoft Professional) (Paperback)
Scrum is a simple emperical process of project management. There are few rules and these are adequately explained in a few pages and within the appendix of this book. So what, you might ask, is the rest of the book taken up with.

Well there's lots of case studies to demonstrate the practical use of Scrum in different scenarios. I must admit to having found these case studies a little uninteresting at times and a bit repetitive, however by the end of the book I feel I probably appreciated their purpose more than I did whilst reading them.

In terms of whether the book is worth owning, I found it well enough written and in general quite useful, however I do feel the meat of the subject can be summed up in far fewer pages and I'm split between the feeling that fewer case studies would have been adequate and that some were just "fillers" to pad out the book and the fact that, maybe, you can never have too many examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agile Project Management, 26 April 2010
By 
M. Harte "Pragmatist" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agile Project Management with Scrum (Microsoft Professional) (Paperback)
From a Project/Programme Managers perspective, this is excellent introductory material for those who haven't used Scrum formally. The book introduces the reader to each of the Scrum concepts and also attempts to portray them in a real-world scenario. For those planning to undertake the certification course this would be a very good primer along with Agile Estimating and Planning (Robert C. Martin) by Mike Cohn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good lessons learned, 21 Dec 2010
This review is from: Agile Project Management with Scrum (Microsoft Professional) (Paperback)
Chapters of war-stories illustrating the challenges and possible solutions to developing software.

This book conveys a confusion commonly held about project management and managing software development: where this book says project management it means managing the software development. A project manager will be managing the scope, schedule, resource, costs, benefits and risks for the project sponsor and project board. The project management will contract with the development team to deliver products. The development team may use Agile and Scrum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable book. Do not start implementing SCRUM before reading it!, 13 Oct 2008
By 
Plamen "plamenbalkanski.blogspot.com" (SLOUGH, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agile Project Management with Scrum (Microsoft Professional) (Paperback)
Scrum is easy to understand and hard to implement. You can read about the roles, artefacts and ceremonies on many websites however this isn't enough. You learn best by doing it and in this book Ken is giving us his experience so we don't make the same mistakes. Of course there are many more truths to be learnt but this book gives you an excellent start. A must have for anyone starting with Scrum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bacis projet management, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agile Project Management with Scrum (Microsoft Professional) (Paperback)
Bacis introduction to agile projet management and definitions. Especially do I like the best practice rules in the appendix A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SCRUM foundations, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agile Project Management with Scrum (Microsoft Professional) (Paperback)
If you are new SCRUM, that is invaluable book. Contains definitions, comparision with existing management methodologies, a how to apply SCRUM in different companies. If know the SCRUM still you can learn a lot from use cases! There is second part of it The Enterprise and Scrum
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice starting point for Scrum, 22 Aug 2012
This is a good, comprehensive overview of Scrum. It is worth finding other sources of info if you are learning however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So so, 28 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agile Project Management with Scrum (Microsoft Professional) (Paperback)
If you like books that are short and to the point, avoid this one! I didn't like the wordy format and excessive case studies. If you have time to plough through it there is some worthy advice and learning points, but it could have been half the length. I'd recommend this to someone who wants something to read on the train, but if time is at a premium - read something that gets to the point quicker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Starting Point with Practical Guidance, 1 July 2011
By 
Robert Hogg - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agile Project Management with Scrum (Microsoft Professional) (Paperback)
As most software development teams I come across are moving to a form of Agile, and increasingly Scrum, I recommend this book as a great kick-off point, and though it is a few years old, it is still relevant and very useful. It is Case Study focused, an approach that helps demonstrate Scrum in action, and provides a very practical guide, allowing the reader to take advantage of the author's years of experience. There is so much more to Scrum, but this book is an excellent starting point, and a must-have for any Software Developer's shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 31 Dec 2009
This review is from: Agile Project Management with Scrum (Microsoft Professional) (Paperback)
I write this review because I just read the previous comment and could not disagree more.

First, the book

It was handed over to me by my new project leader about two years ago as he wanted to use that method and make sure everyone in the team understood what and why.
I really enjoyed the book because it makes the whole idea very clear in the first few chapters and is very accessible.
You don't really need to read the later chapters if all you want is a broad understanding.
I think this book got me to understand what we did and why.
I am not too sure whether it would have allowed me to start using the methodolgy without the mentoring of someone else but I did have a mentor.

I am now embarking into a new project and plan to do exactly the same. I'll recommend the book and be the mentor.

Second, the methodology

I have only developped for 25 years (!) and was extremely impressed by the whole scrum experience.
Like the author, I was far less impressed with old fashioned "Waterfall" approaches and have seen so many fail miserably (most would be more precise).
Having a brilliant mentor probably helped. Maybe this is what was missing to the previous reviewer...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agile Project Management with Scrum (Microsoft Professional)
Agile Project Management with Scrum (Microsoft Professional) by Ken Schwaber (Paperback - 21 Feb 2004)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews