Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loads of mistakes but a fantastic book!
This book is fantastic! I looked around, not knowing what book to choose to learn Excel and eventually went with this one from the ratings on the USA site. I now own four of the "Step-by-Step" books and intend to increase the number until I own the whole lot.

The only downside to this book is the sheer number of mistakes in the excercises. About one in every...
Published on 25 May 2006 by N. Ryall

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad for a starter
there is a number of mistakes in the book
there are no exercises at the end of each chapter
there is no further guidelines on how to work with Macro, as there are no further explanation about functions, etc

however, the book clarifies clearly every objective of every chapter, so it helps us to understand why we do what the book shows us to do. It goes...
Published on 6 Jan. 2008 by Mr. Yosa Bualit

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loads of mistakes but a fantastic book!, 25 May 2006
By 
N. Ryall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft® Office Excel® 2003 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft)) (Paperback)
This book is fantastic! I looked around, not knowing what book to choose to learn Excel and eventually went with this one from the ratings on the USA site. I now own four of the "Step-by-Step" books and intend to increase the number until I own the whole lot.

The only downside to this book is the sheer number of mistakes in the excercises. About one in every thirty instructions has a mistake where parts are already done. It seems there was very little or no QA when putting these out. The book itself has very little in the way of mistakes and is well written.

If you can overlook the bad side (it's not really that bad just a little annoying at parts) it's going to be a book worth your time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad for a starter, 6 Jan. 2008
By 
Mr. Yosa Bualit (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft® Office Excel® 2003 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft)) (Paperback)
there is a number of mistakes in the book
there are no exercises at the end of each chapter
there is no further guidelines on how to work with Macro, as there are no further explanation about functions, etc

however, the book clarifies clearly every objective of every chapter, so it helps us to understand why we do what the book shows us to do. It goes straight to the point.

this book is suitable for those who want to get a basic touch of Excel before moving on to advanced level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disccrepancies between Book and CD, 20 July 2005
By 
H A McElroy (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Microsoft® Office Excel® 2003 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft)) (Paperback)
I am not initially impressed due to the following, hence the low rating
Chapter 1 - Checking & Correcting Data.
Document SBS\Excel\gettingtoknowxl\replace
You are instructed to find the word Comfy and replace with cushy. Find cells in italics and change amount to £47.95
The changes have already been done and saved on the CD.
Chapter 2 Setting up a workbook
Instructions to Merge and centre cells E2 to G2 - they have alrady been merged and centred.
Adding a Graphic
Page 35 advises graphic is in Settingupworkbook folder when it is actually in changingdocappearance folder.
These errors have been found after only 2 chapters, I will update the review as I work through the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good Learing Experience., 8 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft® Office Excel® 2003 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft)) (Paperback)
The ideal book to get to grips with spreadsheets if you haven't used them before or if you have limited knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Microsoft® Office Excel® 2003 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft)) (Paperback)
Exactly as described and expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft® Office Excel® 2003 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft)) (Paperback)
As described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft® Office Excel® 2003 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft))
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Excel 2007 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft))-with CD
Excel 2007 Step by Step (Step by Step (Microsoft))-with CD by Curtis D. Frye (Paperback - 13 Jan. 2007)
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (22)   
Buy new£15.99
In stock

Excel 2003 All-in-one Desk Reference for Dummies
Excel 2003 All-in-one Desk Reference for Dummies by Greg Harvey (Paperback - 10 Oct. 2003)
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (23)   
Buy new£16.76
In stock

Microsoft® Office Excel 2003 Inside Out (Inside Out (Microsoft))
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3)