Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this .NET tomb over anything else
This book is a huge hardback volume (nearly 1600 pages). You might assume that this size is due to needlessly wordy prose, unnecessary diagrams and tables, and failed humour. In fact this is solid concise cover-to-cover useful information, written in a exceptionally clear, readable style by someone who really knows what they're talking about. Most of the stuff you need to...
Published on 10 Mar 2003 by Bobbins

versus
5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I chose this book on the basis that it was aimed at Visual Basic 6 developers wishing to progress to the .Net framework and on the strength that it came with an electronic copy of the book.

From the phrase "includes an eBook" on the reverse of the book and the fact that the disc that came with the book was entitled "Programming Microsoft Visual Basic.Net" I was...
Published on 30 Sep 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this .NET tomb over anything else, 10 Mar 2003
This review is from: Programming Visual Basic .NET: Core Reference (Hardcover)
This book is a huge hardback volume (nearly 1600 pages). You might assume that this size is due to needlessly wordy prose, unnecessary diagrams and tables, and failed humour. In fact this is solid concise cover-to-cover useful information, written in a exceptionally clear, readable style by someone who really knows what they're talking about. Most of the stuff you need to know about VB.NET is in here, somewhere, for both desktop and web apps. A book that will spend more time on your desk than the shelf, and you'll actually want browse in bed. It's probably a good alternative to exam guide books as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bible of .NET programming, 5 July 2002
By 
G. Tweedie (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Programming Visual Basic .NET: Core Reference (Hardcover)
Having previously read Francesco Balena's "Programming Visual Basic 6" I went for this book primarily because he had written it. He knows more about Visual Basic than any other author I have encountered. It should be stressed though that this book is not ideal for beginners, but for those who are progressing from VB6. It describes the workings of the .Net framework in the opening chapter, and then opens up what VB.Net can do and how to do it in the chapters that ensue. Excellent book for those looking to understand the ins and outs of how VB.Net works, and indeed as a programming core reference that you'll turn to when you get stuck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, 24 Sep 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming Visual Basic .NET: Core Reference (Hardcover)
I've been programming with Visual Basic for several years now and thought it time to give VB.Net a go and after seeing the reviews for this book I bought it.
"Visual Basic.Net Core Reference" is very easy to read, has a lot of easy to follow tutorials that walk you through how to create examples that use many of the different features that VB.Net has to offer.
I would recommend this book for anyone at any level that wants to learn VB.Net.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book, 18 Feb 2004
By 
I. M. Carr "msjimc" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming Visual Basic .NET: Core Reference (Hardcover)
This is the book to read to gain an understanding of VB.net. If you have no idea about VB.net programming then its not for you, but once you're up and running it will make for better coding etc. This is because its a core reference not an how to book, but it does explain just about everything including how to use .NET with COM and hence MS Office VBA, but not in a step by step way. I read it all, over 10 weeks, which was a pain, but I'm better for it. I also used this book as the foundation for the 70-305, 70-306 and 70-310 exams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Massive and probably worth it!, 21 Sep 2003
This review is from: Programming Visual Basic .NET: Core Reference (Hardcover)
This book is massive, and covers virtually everything about vb.net.
If you are an environmentalist then you may want to look elsewhere as I think a lot of paper has been wasted due to the size of the margins!
The introductory sections are pretty good although i found a couple of examples which the comments said "this wont work on .NET" and they did. As with all books they should be taken with a pinch of salt anyway. Try them yourself and see. It's the best way to learn.
Overall the book is quite expensive but comprehensive. If you are an experienced VB6 developer then i would recommend "vb.net for developers" by keith franklin to get you going. I would also get this book as a secondary source of information just because of the wealth of information available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 30 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Programming Visual Basic .NET: Core Reference (Hardcover)
I chose this book on the basis that it was aimed at Visual Basic 6 developers wishing to progress to the .Net framework and on the strength that it came with an electronic copy of the book.

From the phrase "includes an eBook" on the reverse of the book and the fact that the disc that came with the book was entitled "Programming Microsoft Visual Basic.Net" I was rather surprised to find that the eBook was actually a guide to using the now obsolete Visual Basic 6. I later found this explained on page xxvii.

Had I known that the eBook guide was to Visual Basic 6, a language for which any developer buying this book would already have read reference books, I would not have bought this particular .Net guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa80c09cc)

This product

Programming Visual Basic .NET: Core Reference
Programming Visual Basic .NET: Core Reference by Francesco Balena (Hardcover - 20 May 2002)
Used & New from: 1.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews