Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
I can't believe the other reviews that this book is not detailed. It contains lots of detail about how the core OS works.
It isn't intended to be an Administrators 'how to' guide, nor is it a programming guide. It is aimed at developers to give them a better understanding of how the OS works and strikes a good balance between being too much of an overview and going...
Published on 23 Feb 2002

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Below Par.
I bought this book hoping it was up to the standards of previous Microsoft fayre. The book covers wide range of issues from logon to cache manager. Unfortunately, a lot of chapters are barely readable. Memory management chapter is far from being clear, likewise the cache manager section. The security chapter could contain more material. Another issue is chapter order, I...
Published on 23 Sep 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 23 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Inside Windows 2000 (Microsoft Programming Series) (Hardcover)
I can't believe the other reviews that this book is not detailed. It contains lots of detail about how the core OS works.
It isn't intended to be an Administrators 'how to' guide, nor is it a programming guide. It is aimed at developers to give them a better understanding of how the OS works and strikes a good balance between being too much of an overview and going into needless detail.
Don't buy this if you want to know such things as 'how do i create user accounts', 'where do I change my networking settings', etc. Get any of the large number of administrator 'companions'
Similarly, don't buy if you are interested in such things as 'which API to use to access accounts in active directory', etc. Again, look at some of the excellent coding books available.
*DO* buy it if you want a really solid understanding of how the OS does its work and are interested in such things as 'what is happening in the background when my system is booting?', 'how does windows map the virtual address space to my physical memory?', etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the definitive guide to inside Windows 2000, 19 Sep 2000
By 
Ian Middleton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inside Windows 2000 (Microsoft Programming Series) (Hardcover)
This is the third edition of Inside Windows NT/2000 series. The first edition published way back in 1995 covered NT3.5 and NT3.51 was really only an overview of the OS, nothing really to try hands on. The second edition by David Solomon in 1998 updated the original to include NT4.0 as well as including many hands on experiments to try on the running OS.
The third edition includes extensive descriptions of Windows 2000 internals, the difference to NT4.0, the numerous additions to Windows 2000 as well as many hands on experiments. On the companion CD, there is live kernel debugger tool (LiveKd) which enables a running kernel to be experimented on reasonably safely. I am sure that the LiveKd tool is easily worth cost of the book.
This book won't help you use Windows 2000, install Windows 2000, write applications or device drivers but as a Windows 2000 "power user" who likes to delve a bit into how things work this book is invaluable. A must for all Windows 2000 "power users" who have wondered "how does it do that" or "how does that work"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inside Windows 2000, 2 Dec 2003
By 
Jamie Fraser (Derby, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Inside Windows 2000 (Microsoft Programming Series) (Hardcover)
This book is superb for anyone needing or wanting to understand how W2k works at a low level. I had a problem with device interrupts and after reading this book was able to understand and isolate the problem.
Essential reading for anyone writing engineering or scientific applications, particularly those that have pseudo time critical requirements (I say pseudo because, as the book explains, W2k is not a real-time OS).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book but somewhat lacking in useful detail, 19 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Inside Windows 2000 (Microsoft Programming Series) (Hardcover)
I bought this book hoping it would live up to previous Microsoft endorsed examples but sadly I'm disappointed!
The book is presumably aimed at the IT Professional and covers an adequate number of topics, as no book can be expected to cover everything. However, the book goes into insufficient detail throughout. I had to constantly refer to other works to gain a thorough understanding of each topic covered.
On the Plus side the book does come with a useful CD, although occasionally the contents of the CD do not always correspond with what the book says!
All-in-all, this book is ideal for someone who wants to get an insight into the inner workings of Windows 2000 but who doesn't want to get bogged down with too much detail and, as such would provide a good starting point for someone new to Windows 2000. This book may disappoint many professionals, however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Below Par., 23 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Inside Windows 2000 (Microsoft Programming Series) (Hardcover)
I bought this book hoping it was up to the standards of previous Microsoft fayre. The book covers wide range of issues from logon to cache manager. Unfortunately, a lot of chapters are barely readable. Memory management chapter is far from being clear, likewise the cache manager section. The security chapter could contain more material. Another issue is chapter order, I suggest memory management chapter should be sooner. Chapters are too tight connected, sometimes you need to read chapters in parallel to understand or even worse alongside a different Windows 2000 book! Having said all that if you already familiar with windows programming on advanced level this book is good purchase although you will find it lacking in detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There was no 0-star option, 24 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Inside Windows 2000 (Microsoft Programming Series) (Hardcover)
This might be enough for people only involved in non-regular system administration, but taking into account the author (Russinovich) which is considered one of the experts in NT/2000 internals this is well below his level and even below the level of anyone who is at intermediate level in system programming. If you want something for system administration, buy MS's books (Resource Kits) if you are into systems programming, buy Gary Nebbetts reference or the book of Sven B. Schreiber ... this one won't help you. (The only reason to buy it, would be to have it on bookshelf for very sketchy discussions about OS architecture. It my help in discussion with Linux adepts but not with Linux gurus, for example). Don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inside Windows 2000 (Microsoft Programming Series)
Inside Windows 2000 (Microsoft Programming Series) by Mark Russinovich (Hardcover - 1 Aug 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews