Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John J Murphy, Technical Analysis of The Financial Mrkts
This is truly excellent book. Suitable for the beginner and the experienced trader. It has been described as the bible, i would not disagree at the very least it is the "first" book that any aspiring trader should read.
Written in a very easy to digest fashion with a very sensible progression, the reader can not only learn techniques, but get a basic outline of all...
Published on 4 Aug. 2003 by Baron Bass

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong item sent
I should have been sent Technical Analysis of the Financial Markets which is a hardcover book. Instead I was sent Study Guide for Technical Analysis of the Financial Markets which is a soft cover and a completely different book. This is extremely annoying as I already have the study guide and paid for a faster delivery because I need the book quickly.
Published 13 months ago by James


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an excellent book if you know something about TA, 27 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Technical Analysis of the Financial Markets: A Comprehensive Guide to Trading Methods and Applications (New York Institute of Finance) (Hardcover)
It is an excellent book if you have some idea as to what technical analysis is.
I was new to technical analysis one year ago and this was the first book I bought. I found websites more helpful in getting used to the technical terms and to get an overview about technical analysis.
I have subsequently read the book several times and have found it to be incredibly useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Stubborn Fundamentalist could ever be the same again !!, 17 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Technical Analysis of the Financial Markets: A Comprehensive Guide to Trading Methods and Applications (New York Institute of Finance) (Hardcover)
You dont need a Phd to read it.
He discusses at length the key aspects of Primary,Intermediate and Short-Term trend,Continuation and Reversal patterns (while addtitionally catering to those who seek complication for its own sake).
His plain english style and compelling logic,mean no stubborn fundamentalist could possibly hope to recognise themselves after reading it.
Whether your likely to become a technical purist,or whether you want technical know-how to fine-tune fundamental buys,this is THE Book to get.Period !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good I distribute it to my students free, 2 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Technical Analysis of the Financial Markets: A Comprehensive Guide to Trading Methods and Applications (New York Institute of Finance) (Hardcover)
As a trader and lecturer in financial markets I have given this book to hundreds of my delegates. It is a great all round reference that is packed with accessible information for the experienced and beginning trader/technical analyst alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars totally worthwhile investment, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Technical Analysis of the Financial Markets: A Comprehensive Guide to Trading Methods and Applications (New York Institute of Finance) (Hardcover)
This book is always at my bedside, i read it before going to bed and after waking up.. of all the books i have been through this one trully explains the essence of the technical analysis applicable to most financial markets. The chapters cover every detail of all the questions i had, it is written in an amazingly easy to understand manner, there is a good section about top-down market analysis for equities and decent explanation about the links between bonds, commodities , stocks, to wrap it up, anyone who is a beginner like me, should look no further, this is THE BOOK!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This doesn't detract too badly from the good content (I've flitted about a little), 6 April 2015
By 
Mammoth (Torbay, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Technical Analysis of the Financial Markets: A Comprehensive Guide to Trading Methods and Applications (New York Institute of Finance) (Hardcover)
Having recently received this book, I read only a half dozen chapters.

I would've purchased new had it been available, and that way would've avoided all the biro marks made by a previous owner, throughout the text of the first three chapters. I never write in books in pen, let alone badly underline almost all words,

This doesn't detract too badly from the good content (I've flitted about a little), and there's a lot of it. I look forward to cracking on with the rest of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable update of THE essential analysis guide, 9 Dec. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Technical Analysis of the Financial Markets: A Comprehensive Guide to Trading Methods and Applications (New York Institute of Finance) (Hardcover)
An eagerly awaited update to the 'bible' of technical analysts everywhere with much new material including Japanese candlesticks and technical systems. Murphy has also revised a lot of material to include recent events. All in all an essential read for both experienced analysts and anyone with an interest in financial markets in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In this Bible, Jesus is called Trend, and the disciples are called Oscillators., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It has been described in many reviews as 'The Bible' - but this description doesn't do it justice!
This is a book for traders of all levels who aspire to improve and master an art which for many is shrouded in mystery.
The art of charting and trading / investing is taken step by step, and simplified, resulting is an opportunity for the reader to review, test and combine the tools to aid the one thing so many (myself included) overlooked with frustrating regularity - the trend.
The explanation of trends, one might think, should be obvious and not worth reading. Not true! The trend being found in five or ten year charts was new to me and but for Mr Murphy, I would never have looked at that length of time.
The only slight awkwardness about the book I found was in the descriptions of triangles and wedges. These are very much subject to individual interpretation. I think Murphy does as good a job as possible, even on this 'rough around the edges' subject and to some, this may be perfectly obvious. The test there comes in applying the triangle / wedge theory to your own charts. To me, this is a little awkward.
Each indicator is given a good review and explanation and again, some of these I had been reading incorrectly due to lack of knowledge.
I am currently around 60% of the way through the book and will complete this review at the end.
Just on the first half though, well worth the money. I have already found myself going back and reviewing some items.
It is well written, never boring and nicely set out. The information is concise and unlabored. Each indicator can be reviewed in half an hour or so quite easily, so it is easy to refresh as you go.
Well done Mr Murphy. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The bible for Technical Analysis, 14 April 2014
By 
T. Crick (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must read for anyone involved in the financial markets! Covers everything you need to know so go read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any serious traders library, 20 Feb. 2014
By 
Simon V (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not yet finished reading this but s certainly the bible of technical analysis. Struggle to put it down. Really is that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Technical Analysis, 23 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Technical Analysis of the Financial Markets: A Comprehensive Guide to Trading Methods and Applications (New York Institute of Finance) (Hardcover)
The book is quite old, but it has coined itself as the bible for Technical Analysis.
It was not until I started reading it to find the reason why. Excellent writing and comprehensive explanations.
Excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews