Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Silent Vulcan Trilogy
I started reading Wicca by mistake. Kindle opened at Chapter 1 and I didnt realise till later that this was the second book of the trilogy. I completed it then read The Temple of the Winds followed by The Silent Vulcan.

In all the 300,000 words in those three books combined I was never bored. The story continued apace. And what a good story it was too! Really...
Published on 3 Feb. 2013 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Firstly a review that just states the dust jacket notes seems a bit pointless - what justifies 5 stars? Did the reviewer (Angel Silver) actually read the book?

I should say I have really enjoyed many of James Follett's previous novels. But with the Pentworth trilogy, and this book in particular, Mr Follett sells himself seriously short. It's lazily written...
Published on 6 Nov. 2010 by Whizzo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 6 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Wicca (Severn House Large Print) (Hardcover)
Firstly a review that just states the dust jacket notes seems a bit pointless - what justifies 5 stars? Did the reviewer (Angel Silver) actually read the book?

I should say I have really enjoyed many of James Follett's previous novels. But with the Pentworth trilogy, and this book in particular, Mr Follett sells himself seriously short. It's lazily written. For example (and I'm not being geeky here) the endless clichéd eulogising about an E-type Jag which is then referred to as a V8 which is a real howler completely undermining the credibility of the author's research. James Follett's previous novels have always contained a bit of sexual content - quite proportionate to the storyline adding a bit of welcome spice. However not so with this book. Here we have repetitive "soft porn" content which borders on the laughable and frankly makes me wonder whether the author is inadvertently revealing more about himself than he might wish considering some of the themes.

There are some interesting ideas about how society might evolve in the absence of central government. But again there are a lot of hobby horses in evidence and the writing style is pretty adolescent. I'm really sorry about this - as I said the earlier works e.g. Trojan are well worth reading. This is well worth avoiding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Silent Vulcan Trilogy, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wicca (Kindle Edition)
I started reading Wicca by mistake. Kindle opened at Chapter 1 and I didnt realise till later that this was the second book of the trilogy. I completed it then read The Temple of the Winds followed by The Silent Vulcan.

In all the 300,000 words in those three books combined I was never bored. The story continued apace. And what a good story it was too! Really gripping. The technical descriptions of how the inhabitants cope with their various deprivations are imaginative, seem viable and are accurately described. Even the radio communications part is well done. This is seldom the case in novels. One exception is the original radio signal coming from Pentworth lake and interfering with the aeronautical Distance Measuring Equipment. DME operates between 1025 and 1150 MHz, not 105 MHz as in the text but this may well be a typo for 1050 MHz.

And this is my only complaint - the number of typos. In his foreword James Follett says:

Quote
A gremlin interfered with the lines of communication between me and the publisher (of the original hardcopy books), Severn House, with the result that 140 typos in the original galley proof weren't corrected. Thankfully all (I hope!) of those errors have been corrected in this edition.
Unquote

Sad to say they are not. In this Kindle edition there are even many many more than the original 140. The text is littered with typos, usually extra words, missing words but there are also spelling mistakes. This is a constant irritation.

However, in spite of this, I can strongly recommend these books. Just start with the Temple of the Winds and read them in the correct order. They are brilliant and I am just sorry that I have finished them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wicca, 3 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wicca (Severn House Large Print) (Hardcover)
Excellent - However the title should not be confused with books specifically on witchcraft. Having read the first book in the series I was looking forward to the second volume and this maintains the quality and pace of the first volume. I am now waiting for the final book in the trilogy, which hopefully will continue in the same vein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For Kindle, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wicca (Kindle Edition)
Bought as part of a series to re read on my Kindle. I had bought the book a few years ago in paperback and wanted to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Under the Dome, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wicca (Kindle Edition)
Very like the TV program "Under the Dome", slightly different things happen (ish). A good read though, it kept me entertained.
regards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wicca, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
G. E. Kitchen (Peterborough, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wicca (Kindle Edition)
After reading all three books , i find it frightening that its all true in the sense that, below the veneer of civilisation, people would revert to old ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very imaginative, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wicca (Kindle Edition)
I like this book, a touch of William Goldings Lord of the Flies about it in the sense normal people are put in a highly unusual situation and the normal function of state starts to break down. Civilization is just a veneer and is a fragile agreement , however, there will always be those who will try and rationalize events by using that old cope out " It's the will of God" and they are here in abundance .
I enjoyed the whole series and would recommend them to anyone who like a stimulating and interesting read. A definite page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good sequel, 12 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wicca (Kindle Edition)
NOTE: I bought the ebook from Amazon UK, and like its first part I found the quality was poor. The text appears to be all in bold, and text I believe should have been in italics was instead underlined, making uncomfortable reading in places where several consecutive paragraphs exist. This was the case of both Kindle for PC and my Kindle Fire HD.
On the Kindle for PC I also had the issue that the text for marking the start of the next chapter was the same as the regular text, with no line break above to make finding chapters easier.
Despite the fact that I feel this was an error on the part of Amazon or the publisher, as opposed to the author, I will deduct one star.

Just like the previous novel in this trilogy I found the characters well built and the plot thought out. As everybody begin to believe that everybody else has it better than them the tension in the town really ramps up, leaving you wondering what next, and how far are the "nut jobs" in power willing to go

When I finished "Temple of the Winds", the first novel in the trilogy I was concerned this would turn into a courtroom drama, and while at times there were scenes of political nature that I felt were drawn out overall it focussed on adventure and plans to stop the craziness.

Having reached the end I feel that this novel and the one before it were just an introduction to the final instalment, where we will find out what is really happening. I look forward to reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too many typos, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wicca (Kindle Edition)
As with the rest of this trilogy, great story sadly there are a lot of typing errors and spelling mistakes, why
do amazon allow this? its very off putting and makes the printed novels more attractive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative, 20 Mar. 2013
By 
S. R. Taylor (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wicca (Kindle Edition)
Part 2 of a trilogy and hence the only thing I didn't like about this book was great chunks of repetition from Temple of the Winds. This could have been more subtle. Great story though and well written with the exception of the above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wicca (Severn House Large Print)
Wicca (Severn House Large Print) by James Follett (Hardcover - 31 Dec. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews