Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slider moves again
The Bill Slider series are amongst the best police novels there are - and I do wish the TV would do a series. This one is as good as usual, with suspense, human warmth, humour and twists & turns.
Published on 24 Jan. 2011 by KLM

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Body Line
Body line is, as always with a Cynthia Harrod Eagles book, afive star read. A tight storyline and excellent dialogue between the characters made it a pleasure to read.
Published on 13 Dec. 2012 by Gwyneth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slider moves again, 24 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Line (Severn House Mysteries) (Hardcover)
The Bill Slider series are amongst the best police novels there are - and I do wish the TV would do a series. This one is as good as usual, with suspense, human warmth, humour and twists & turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Body Line, 2 Dec. 2014
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is the thirteenth book in this entertaining and well written police procedural series. DI Bill Slider's latest case seems to be the product of a paid hit man. Dr David Rogers is shot in the back of the head after he answers the door to an early morning caller. The young woman who was with him at the time escapes by climbing over a balcony and taking refuge with a neighbour. When Slider and his team start looking into the victim's life it soon becomes clear that no one really knows what he does - or at least no one who is willing to talk. His ex-wife clearly knows more than she is willing to tell but persuading her to talk seems the biggest stumbling block. The biggest mystery of all is which hospital Dr Rogers worked for and precisely where the money comes from to fund his lavish life style.

As the police start looking into the victim's life more and more layers are uncovered and the case becomes more complex rather than less. This is a compelling read even if you have worked out what was going on before the end as I did. I hadn't worked out the details but I was pretty sure what was behind it all. I still found it a tense read especially the denouement which was very tense. This is a well written novel with plenty of amusing banter between the police characters and some marvellous chapter headings.

This series can be read in any order as there is enough background information about the private lives of the series characters to enable the reader to understand what has taken place before. I love the way the characters interact and while the people involved don't always see eye to eye they so manage to sort out their differences fairly quickly. The books in the series are all well plotted and well written and the dialogue is some of the best in modern detective fiction in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Body Line, 9 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Body Line (Severn House Mysteries) (Hardcover)
I am in the middle of reading this at the moment, the first book I have read by this author. Its a great book, believable characters with realistic lives doing their job. No overwhelmingly dysfuncional characters to take your attention away from the excellent storyline. Likeable supporting cast and some dabs of humour. A refreshing change for a detective book! Couldn't wait to see what else the author had written which is always a good sign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent police procedural, wonderful characters; a pure pleasure to read, 10 July 2011
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Body Line (Severn House Mysteries) (Hardcover)
First Sentence: "You look terrible," Slider said as Atherton slid into the car.

Inspector Bill Slider and his team are investigating the murder of David Rogers, shot in his home at point blank range by someone with a silencer. Everything about him indicates he has considerable money, except his bank statement. Yet, the crime doesn't appear to be one of passion or of robbery. With very little evidence, few clues, and no obvious motive, the police are having a difficult time finding the killer. Does the answer lie with one of the many women in Roger's life, with his past or with his shadowy job? The deeper they go into the investigation, the bigger and more complex the case becomes

Reading Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is pure joy. Her love of language is evident on every page as exemplified by her dialogue, wry humor and evocative descriptions..."a well-dressed elderly couple, so tiny and immaculate they could have earned spare cash standing around on wedding cakes." There are hunger-inspiring descriptions of food, from the grab-and-go to a particularly delicious dinner.

Each of the characters is fully-fleshed out and the relationships realistic. It is so refreshing that the protagonists have normal, stable lives and aren't angst-driven or alcoholic, yet there is nothing cloying about the way in which they are presented.

American readers may not be familiar with some of the terms or expressions, yet these are British police who use British vernacular. The meaning of those expressions that may not be known to the American audience can easily be gleaned for their context and add to the veracity of the story.

The plot is developed bit-by-bit from a single murder to something unexpected. This is a serious crime which becomes more serious as the story progresses. At the same time, it is presented in the manner of a traditional mystery in that overt violence is left off-stage. The case is investigated by a team using procedure and following the clues; no tricks but a few very effective red herrings, no sudden revelations. At the same time, it was interesting to learn that, in Britain, one can rent a gun from a dealer for a day. It's that information and attention to detail which greatly enhance the story.

Most of all, I come back to the use of language. There are subtle puns, visual similes and metaphors, and the most wonderful malaprops which are attributable to one of the characters. The cleverest part is that the other characters are so accustomed to them, they are commented on only once and you feel that is more for the sake of the reader.

"Body Line" is an excellent, traditional police procedural with wonderful characters and a very well-constructed plot that is pure pleasure to read.

BODY LINE (Pol Proc-Insp. Bill Slider-England-Cont) - Ex
Harrod-Eagles, Cynthia - 13th in series
Severn House, ©2010, US Hardcover - ISBN: 9780727869579
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect holiday reading, 9 Feb. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Line (Severn House Mysteries) (Hardcover)
My wife began reading the Cynthia Harrod Eagles Morland Dynasty books a few years ago and always requested one as part of her birthday and Christmas present lists. Through the amazon website I was linked to the Bill Slider stories and bought her one on the off chance. Since then it's been as popular as the other series and this appeared to be no exception - her head hardly emerged from the covers from the moment she picked it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb Bill Slider story, 5 Nov. 2013
Always a superb storyline, completely convincing characters and locations. I have never yet been disappointed with one of these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amother good bill slider from cynthia harrod eagles. Gripping and un-putdownable as always. Can't wait for the next instalment in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first Bill Slider mystery, 15 Sept. 2011
By 
Anita Baxter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Body Line is my first Bill Slider mystery read and now I can't wait to find the previous publications! I loved the book for it's down to earth characters and believable interaction between the murder team members. This was a book that made me sad, made me smile and held my interst from
first to last page. Can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Body Line, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Body line is, as always with a Cynthia Harrod Eagles book, afive star read. A tight storyline and excellent dialogue between the characters made it a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Body Line (Severn House Mysteries)
Body Line (Severn House Mysteries) by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles (Hardcover - 26 Nov. 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews