Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good aide to paediatrics
Recommended by my medical school and many tutors, this is an excellent introductory book to paediatrics. What makes this textbook stand out from the rest is its bright and colourful visual layout that really helps you sit down and read the text. It is concise and contains key facts in summary boxes supplemented by great images and excellent diagrams. Its clinical examples...
Published on 28 Dec. 2011 by Mr. K. A. Boulton

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars why is this book the staple of pediatrics education in ...
why is this book the staple of pediatrics education in ireland? im only 100 pgs in, but so far im really not impressed! very wordy, very superficial and not laid out well in my opinion. i'll commit to another 100 pgs, but may be looking for a last minute change. hope it picks up, i'll change my review if it does
Published 1 month ago by e.m


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good aide to paediatrics, 28 Dec. 2011
By 
Mr. K. A. Boulton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics: with STUDENTCONSULT Online Access (Paperback)
Recommended by my medical school and many tutors, this is an excellent introductory book to paediatrics. What makes this textbook stand out from the rest is its bright and colourful visual layout that really helps you sit down and read the text. It is concise and contains key facts in summary boxes supplemented by great images and excellent diagrams. Its clinical examples are good and help reinforce learning. I feel this is a fantastic book at covering the basics in paediatrics. It is certainly a definite buy for any medical student. The difficulty with the book is that in places it can feel bare and reference to another textbook may occasionally be needed. Nonetheless it is certainly one of the best undergraduate books in the field and has the best visual presentation of any book I have used at medical school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paediatric essential!, 29 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics: with STUDENTCONSULT Online Access (Paperback)
This is a brilliant textbook for anyone taking a placement in Paediatrics. It is succint and presented in a very accessible manner. I felt like all the information I needed (and more) was in here, easily found and clearly laid out. There are plenty of images and illustrations to help identify many of the important problems children encounter. You can use this book to gain a sound knowledge of any topic but also flick through for revision. Definitely one of the staples for your library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to follow, picturesque, good tables, adequate for knowing basic paediatrics. Well planned, useful information with pictures that make understanding and following easier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference guide, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics: with STUDENTCONSULT Online Access (Paperback)
I really like the format and found it easy to use the reference materials, a really good layout and easy to locate information on a number of conditions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics: with STUDENTCONSULT Online Access (Paperback)
This textbook seems to be the recommended text for paediatrics at most medical schools. I'm glad to say that it lives up to its reputation. It's easy to read. The diagrams are useful. It covers many aspects of Paediatrics. However, I thought that some sections did not cover some topics in detail enough....but then again, maybe that's just me because I like detail. This book is probably enough for the medical student to pass their exams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars why is this book the staple of pediatrics education in ..., 8 April 2015
This review is from: Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics: with STUDENTCONSULT Online Access (Paperback)
why is this book the staple of pediatrics education in ireland? im only 100 pgs in, but so far im really not impressed! very wordy, very superficial and not laid out well in my opinion. i'll commit to another 100 pgs, but may be looking for a last minute change. hope it picks up, i'll change my review if it does
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars handy, 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am using this for the paediatric advanced nurse practitioner course. electronic format means easy access to information in the workplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 18 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics: with STUDENTCONSULT Online Access (Paperback)
I love this book, lots of pictures very use full and very visual, useful for practical paramedics. I find my self leafing thru it and found it hard to put down...don't often say that about a text book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent book, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics: with STUDENTCONSULT Online Access (Paperback)
Some important sections are a little lacking, and some very rare sections are explained in too much detail. In general the book is good and useful for students at Imperial College London
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Goof for medical students, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics: with STUDENTCONSULT Online Access (Paperback)
This book covers almost everything you'd need to know as a medical student, although very occasionally lack a bit of detail. Well set out and logical explanations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics: with STUDENTCONSULT Online Access
Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics: with STUDENTCONSULT Online Access by Tom Lissauer MB BChir FRCPCH (Paperback - 21 Sept. 2011)
Used & New from: £20.52
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews