Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't be anything less than 5 stars
This is quite simply a beautiful presentation of the complete Beatrix Potter tales.

The books are simply sensational with absolute attention to detail that is almost unrivalled in children's books today. The stories and writing haven't changed but each book's illustrations and added touches make this a gorgeous presentation pack.

All the books are...
Published on 21 Nov. 2006 by George Bruin

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Complete Collection of Peter Rabbit 110th Anniversary edition 2011.
I have just recieved the latest collection of the Peter Rabbit 1-23 Books 110th Anniversary Edition I am totally disappointed. I was expecting something special, but cannot find anything to recommend this collection. The cardboard box is soft and will soon dint and look shabby. The biggest disappointment is the illustrations. Beatrix Potter is famous for her beautiful...
Published on 31 Oct. 2011 by gloria


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't be anything less than 5 stars, 21 Nov. 2006
This is quite simply a beautiful presentation of the complete Beatrix Potter tales.

The books are simply sensational with absolute attention to detail that is almost unrivalled in children's books today. The stories and writing haven't changed but each book's illustrations and added touches make this a gorgeous presentation pack.

All the books are included in a lovely hard cardboard packaging that adds to the look and feel of the collection.

You can complain about the price and that sadly stops this being a "must buy" (and almost stops it being a 5 star review).

However you won't be disappointed if you are looking for all the books in one sensational gift box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatrix Potter, 2 Jun. 2004
By 
Clare "Bookaholic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is an absolutely stunnning set, I personally own the large book with the slipcase but, my sister owns this collection which she bought about a year ago. And at 33 it just goes to show how wide an audience Beatrix Potters books still appeal.
The way each story is in its own book is simply beautiful and perfect for a small child (or overgrown child :-) ) .
I would definitely recommend this to anyone with a new baby in the family as a lovely gift or as a keepsake for yourself. It does make a beautiful present.
These books are timeless and I would think a very good investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatrix Potter - the Complete Tales: The 23 Original Tales, 8 Aug. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a single boxed book which is truly beautifully presented. The original pictures and stories in all their splendour are laid out with loving care. If like me, you do not have room for the 23 little books in a boxed set, this is simply a wonderful alternative. It would be a fantastic present or a perfect book that will make a great impact on your bookshelves. I maybe 50 and have never read a Beatrix Potter story before, but this has certainly caught my attention and made my day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value and beautiful book, 6 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my new god-daughter's christening primarily because I couldn't afford £80 for the set of individual books. I was delighted with the book - it's in a presentation case which looks great, the illustrations are exactly as in the original books and all in all it's a terrific present. Incredible value and highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatrix Potter Complete Tales, 1 Jun. 2004
By 
Clare "Bookaholic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a stunning book, to keep and of course, to read. It comes in its own covering to keep special, the drawing inside are spectacular and so, so beautiful. What mother couldn't love turning the pages of this beautiful book as she turns the pages to read to her children.
This is one I will keep very, very special and one day hand down to my own children. There is another version of this in individual books which is lovely but, to have this in one complete collection is truly adorable.
Well worth the money and a great price from Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best collection of Beatix Potters work on cd!, 14 Dec. 2008
By 
S. Väpnargård "Auburn Raven" (Skåne Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having great actors like wonderful Patrica Routledge (Hyacinth Bouquet, Hetty Wainthropp etc)reading the stories from classic Beatrix Potter's wast universe really is nothing less then magnificent!
This compilation is a fantastic gift for children and adults alike. Beautifully presented in a pack of 3 double cd's in a carboard caseing, it is easy to store as well.
23 stories consisting of a good six hours listening! All of the characters in Peter Rabbit, Jemima Puddleduck, Jeremy Fisher and the rest, really comes to life!I just love this, as does my children.
Well worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 12 Oct. 2008
By 
Charley (Plymouth, England) - See all my reviews
Absolutely beautiful! A gorgeous hardbacked book with box. All the illustrations are exactly how you would remember them. Stories are perfectly laid out. There are even a few extras.
Truely wonderful, I will be buying more for friends children in the very near future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Capturing her talents as a writer and illustrator, 31 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This book includes all of the original Peter Rabbit books, as they are called, plus four unpublished works. Showing Beatrix Potter's true excellence as a writer and illustrator, The Complete Tales includes some of the lesser known tales (The Tale Of Little Pig Robinson) and features two nursery rhyme stories (Appley Dapply and Cecily Parsley's Nursery Rhymes). Each tale has a special introduction which makes The Complete Tales even better. When Beatrix died in December 1943, I bet she never thought that in 2001 her books would still be read with fascination and sell millions each year. Beatrix Potter remains one of the country's best loved writers and most talented authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irresistible cuddly animals with human personalities., 30 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
Beatrix Potter acquired her love and knowledge of animals and the countryside during family holidays in Scotland. She also had animals as her constant companions as a child. She sketched and observed them for hours at a time.
Beatrix Potter's books have never lost their popularity. They are sold by the millions and have been translated into over fifteen languages. While her first story in 1902, "The Tale of Peter Rabbit" was published in a small edition by Frederick Warne, within a year it was an instant best seller.
This deluxe volume is a collection of all twenty-three tales and some previously unpublished works. The stories are arranged in the order of publication as several are linked together by events or familiar characters.
Both the watercolors and black and white illustrations have been included. Children will adore the rhyming names of goosey gander and pig-wig. The animals seem to almost take on human personalities. In fact, these magical stories are often connected with real people places or animals.
Little girls who have a doll house will love "The Tale of Two Bad Mice," in which two hungry mice try to eat the artificial plaster doll food. Even at my age I found it irresistibly amusing. These little animals just have such great personalities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keepsake, 22 Feb. 2009
By 
L. James (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A gorgeous keepsake hardcover book, presented in a protective box, well worth buying will give plenty of hours reading and a lifetime of childhood memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beatrix Potter The Complete Tales
Beatrix Potter The Complete Tales by Beatrix Potter (Hardcover - 3 May 2012)
£26.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews