Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An appealing introduction to the delights of Spot
Eric Hill's Spot is an evergreen favourite with babies and toddlers enjoying the first pleasures of story time and rightly so. This book is an appropriate introduction to the Spot character, having all the added appeal of the different farm animals and their noises as he searches for baby animals on the farm. It also has the added dimension of teaching the older child...
Published on 23 Jan. 2001 by Helen 68

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would be great if it had different text
The pictures are good and the flaps well done but the text is just weird. You have a horse telling you " no foals in here", a cow telling you "no calves in here" and a rabbit behind a "cheep cheep" flap who says "only joking". And then no opportunity to find out what a foal is or a calf is as the only baby animals they find at the end are piglets and kittens. If only the...
Published 23 months ago by msc


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An appealing introduction to the delights of Spot, 23 Jan. 2001
By 
Helen 68 (Reading, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spot Goes to the Farm (Paperback)
Eric Hill's Spot is an evergreen favourite with babies and toddlers enjoying the first pleasures of story time and rightly so. This book is an appropriate introduction to the Spot character, having all the added appeal of the different farm animals and their noises as he searches for baby animals on the farm. It also has the added dimension of teaching the older child the names of each kind of baby animal (i.e. a baby horse is a foal, and so on) so that you should get your money's worth out of this one for some time to come. The lift-up flaps are a delight to young babies from around 12 months who, in my experience, cope well with them even when the book has paper, and not board, pages as in this case. And of course the parent gets all the fun of providing the animal noises. My child loves all her Spot books but this one gets dropped in my lap over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book with great flaps, 19 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Spot Goes to the Farm (Spot - Original Lift The Flap) (Board book)
A fantastic book for young readers, my daughter still loves it at 3, and has been reading it for a year now. The flaps are great; there's a story behind the turning pages and a good twist at the end! I've been a bit dissapointed with some of the other spot books (such as spot goes to the park) this one is light years better. I really recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific interactive book for your budding youngster, 9 Jun. 2004
By 
Mrs. R. Bentley (Bolton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spot Goes to the Farm (Hardcover)
I have bought lots of other lift the flap and board books for my toddler but this has been his favourite since he was 12 months old. He loves lifting the flaps and listening to the various attempts at animal noises I make! Good strong flaps built imaginatively into the story as parts of the scenery. More pages than most baby books which gives you both time to get really involved but not so long your child becomes bored. Also recommend buying the board book version as this has sustained quite a battering!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book for little Spot fans!, 20 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Spot Goes to the Farm (Spot - Original Lift The Flap) (Board book)
This is my daughter's favourite book at the moment - she's 11 months and we've been reading it to her for the past couple of months. She's worked out how to open all the flaps (with a little prompting!) and seems to enjoy the hands-on element. The book is sturdy enough to withstand her attentions and the flaps are all still attached.

What makes this book lovely is that there are pictures behind all the flaps (we have another Spot book which has writing behind some of the flaps, which is slightly lost on such a small reader). It also provides a good opportunity for parents to try out a range of farm animal noises! The pictures are brightly coloured and lovely, as you'd expect from the Spot series.

Good all round and a nice starting point for little people developing a love of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves these, 4 April 2011
This review is from: Spot Goes to the Farm (Spot - Original Lift The Flap) (Board book)
I bought this along with Spot goes to the park for my 1 year old son and he loves them. He previously had Where's Spot and loved it - he loves lift the flap books - so I ordered these two. These are actually better as they are board books so much more resilient. Really lovely bright pictures and my son loves it when you read out the animal noises. Would definitely recommend for children below 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would be great if it had different text, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spot Goes to the Farm (Paperback)
The pictures are good and the flaps well done but the text is just weird. You have a horse telling you " no foals in here", a cow telling you "no calves in here" and a rabbit behind a "cheep cheep" flap who says "only joking". And then no opportunity to find out what a foal is or a calf is as the only baby animals they find at the end are piglets and kittens. If only the book either ended with a page finding all the baby animals it would be a great book. As another reviewer says, if you make up the text yourself and go in search of the missing piglets and say no piglets in here at every flap, then it works ok and my 11 month old son really enjoys the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Spot winner, 10 Mar. 2010
By 
S. C. JONES "Jonesy" (Leicestershire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the Spot books are hugely popular with my two-year-old son, and this one is as good as any of the others. In 'Spot Goes to the Farm', Spot's dad takes his son to look for baby animals, but until near the end of the book, Spot only finds grown-up creatures behind the flaps. This book gently teaches the names of baby animals and the fun comes from identifying whether big or small animals are waiting to be uncovered. The Spot books are simple but charming, and well made to boot (I have some books from the series that are five or more years old and all the flaps are still intact).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot Goes to the Farm, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spot Goes to the Farm (Spot - Original Lift The Flap) (Board book)
Great little book. The flaps keep tots interested and involved and the illustrations are a joy. The text is minimal, in keeping with the audience for this book,.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as good as �Where�s Spot?�, 13 Jan. 2005
This review is from: Spot Goes to the Farm (Paperback)
Although 'Where's Spot' is my son's absolute favourite book, this did not meet with the same degree of enthusiasm.
That's not to say he doesn't like it, just not as much as 'Where's Spot?' ... maybe it's the repetitive text in that one or maybe the novelty value was worn down, but both 'Spot goes to the Farm' and 'Spot Visits his Grandparents' seem to work as a "side-dish" for him i.e. only good alongside 'Where's Spot', though does read both more often than most of his other books.
All in all, I'd say buy this book, but with 'Where's Spot?'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slightly more advanced story line than 'where's spot', 13 April 2012
This review is from: Spot Goes to the Farm (Spot - Original Lift The Flap) (Board book)
Got this for our 2 yr old after he loved 'where's spot'. This one has a slightly more complicated story line (looking for the baby farm animals, but they keep just finding grown up ones), but the great thing about these books is you can just make up a few words per page if your child isn't ready to listen to the real story yet! So at the moment I'm reading it as 'who's under the XXX, its the ducks, etc'.

As with all the spot books, fantastic quality board book, really nice feel to the pages and flaps, and lovely illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spot Goes to the Farm (Spot - Original Lift The Flap)
Spot Goes to the Farm (Spot - Original Lift The Flap) by Eric Hill (Board book - 7 Jan. 2010)
£4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews