Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot Goes to School
Bought this book for my 14 month old son. He loves the spot books, especially the "lift the flap" style. The pages are strong, and the flaps are easy to open for little hands. An excellent book, definitely recommended.
Published on 8 Sep 2010 by Peanut

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice artwork, but disjointed storyline and brittle flaps
This book contains 10 double pages with flaps on each of the first nine right-hand pages. The flaps are pretty pointless in this book, included presumably because this is part of a similar series. In another Spot book I have read, Spot was actually on a quest to find something so it made sense to be looking behind or under flaps, but not here. In this book the flaps...
Published on 5 Jan 2009 by Seamus Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot Goes to School, 8 Sep 2010
This review is from: Spot Goes to School (Spot - Original Lift The Flap) (Board book)
Bought this book for my 14 month old son. He loves the spot books, especially the "lift the flap" style. The pages are strong, and the flaps are easy to open for little hands. An excellent book, definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice artwork, but disjointed storyline and brittle flaps, 5 Jan 2009
By 
Seamus Martin (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spot Goes to School (Paperback)
This book contains 10 double pages with flaps on each of the first nine right-hand pages. The flaps are pretty pointless in this book, included presumably because this is part of a similar series. In another Spot book I have read, Spot was actually on a quest to find something so it made sense to be looking behind or under flaps, but not here. In this book the flaps are just a nuisance and they are very prone to being torn, creased or ripped off altogether by a toddler.

The artwork is pleasant, but there is no continuity in the storyline. Each double page is almost stand-alone, not following on from what went before.

In terms of content, this is an old-style book which cannot hold its own in the modern marketplace with so much better product available.

In short, a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars popular book, 17 Jan 2010
This review is from: Spot Goes to School (Spot - Original Lift The Flap) (Board book)
Nice book, similar to the rest of the 'Spot' series. Some of the lift the flaps are smaller in this book than my little ones were used to from the other Spot books but still nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars spot goes to school review, 24 Mar 2009
By 
Chamanthi Powell (Toowoomba, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spot Goes to School (Spot - Original Lift The Flap) (Board book)
good book, as all the spot books are. My daughter really enjoys them and this helped particularly because she was just starting in daycare and I think it helped her get used to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SPOT's first day at school lift-the-flap book, 24 Jan 2008
This review is from: Spot Goes to School (Paperback)
from Eric Hill.

This review is for the PUFFIN paperback, lift-the-flap version/1987.

22 thick, shiny pages in the popular 2-page spread format.
Large and bold easy-to-follow text, along with some smaller speech bubbles.
9 sturdy flaps ensure successful lifting/replacing, time and time again.
(First and last double-page spreads are flap-free.)

In this story, Spot goes to school for the very first time proudly carrying his own lunchbox, with his Mum (Sally).
He meets his teacher, 'Miss Bear', and his friends.
He has a busy day looking in the Wendy House, making a word from the letter bricks, and reveals what he has brought for the 'Show and Tell' table, although he is a little apprehensive about singing! He plays in the playground, 'listens' to a story and investigates the contents of the blue box.
All too soon it is time to go home and he bounds out (covered in paint), to meet his Mum, with his first painting!

From the back cover:-

'SPOT is one of the essential experiences of childhood - Parent Magazine.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frightening stuff!, 18 Mar 2014
This review is from: Spot Goes to School (Spot - Original Lift The Flap) (Board book)
Much like animal farm and perhaps planet of the apes, Spot Goes to School deals with displacement of man as ‘top dog’. As with many post apocalyptic futures, the ‘event’ is never referred to, but it is abundantly clear that the human like intelligence exhibited by the books protagonist ‘Spot’ is the result of genetic experimentation.

Whilst the story mainly follows a catalogue of mundane tasks performed by a small dog, study of the artwork produced by the protagonist and his hyper intelligent animal friends provide inference of humanities slavery.

Frightening stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as described, 11 April 2013
This review is from: Spot Goes to School (Spot - Original Lift The Flap) (Board book)
I bought this lift the flap book on the understanding that it was in 'good condition' but it was missing every flap. Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice story, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spot Goes to School (Paperback)
Simple book, which my two year old really enjoys and knows the story to read herself. Purchased due to her starting preschool soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not happy with state of item, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spot Goes to School (Paperback)
This was described as used book in good condition. Well let me tell you i was shocked with the state if this book. It was not as described. Dirty and sticky front cover and pages. Some of the flaps were missing/torn. However, my toddler still enjoyed the read. Fast delivery to be fair... i Cant be bothered to return and/or dispute, nit worth the time and stress. I will cut my losses and womt buy from this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great lift and flap book - but story not as good as original spot series, 3 Jan 2014
By 
W. Wilkes "Home Grown Geek" (London, UK & Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spot Goes to School (Spot - Original Lift The Flap) (Board book)
Can't fault the quality of the book or the lovely images (love spot the dog) but found the story a bit weak compared to other spot books - like spots first Christmas. My daughter still likes this however - I just get a bit fed up of reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae6271a4)

This product

Spot Goes to School (Spot - Original Lift The Flap)
Spot Goes to School (Spot - Original Lift The Flap) by Eric Hill (Board book - 2 Jan 2009)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews