Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Flower Fairies Collection" enchants both young and old.
If you long for a simple retreat, a few moments spent with the charming "Flower Fairies" will whisk you away to a better place. Not only are Cicely Mary Barker's friends delightful little sprites but the attention to detail in her flowers brings a new appreciation to the wonder of nature that surrounds us all. From the lowliest wayside weed to the splendour of...
Published on 4 Nov. 1997

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Fairies, shoddy print
This collection includes eight titles: Flower Fairies of the Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter, Garden, Trees and Wayside, as well as the Flower Fairies Alphabet.

I was entranced by these books as a child and learned to identify and name many flowers from reading them. Each flower fairy has its own 'song' but it is the illustrations that I remember: Cicely Mary...
Published 12 months ago by Miriam Day


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Flower Fairies Collection" enchants both young and old., 4 Nov. 1997
By A Customer
If you long for a simple retreat, a few moments spent with the charming "Flower Fairies" will whisk you away to a better place. Not only are Cicely Mary Barker's friends delightful little sprites but the attention to detail in her flowers brings a new appreciation to the wonder of nature that surrounds us all. From the lowliest wayside weed to the splendour of the rose, each subject chosen by Miss Barker is given reverential treatment. Once seen, the beauty of this collection cannot be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eternal Childhood Classic, 26 Aug. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of the Flower Fairies (Hardcover)
I had loved the Flower Fairies series as a little girl and bought the Complete Book of the Flower Fairies as a fifth birthday present for a friend's granddaughter. The little girl is so taken with the magical illustrations and the simple verses that the book has now taken on honoured status, only to be taken from the shelf when her grandmother visits so that they can study one fairy at a time together. It is a true classic that never loses its ability to fascinate and charm the reader - whatever their age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the Flower Fairy lover!, 13 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This is it. All of the flower fairies and their poems together! It also has stories that include the flower fairies. My 6 year old daughter and I love reading them. Magical and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 24 Mar. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of the Flower Fairies (Hardcover)
I enjoyed reading these poems as a child, and now have enjoyed reading them again. The illustations are beautiful and the poems include interesting facts about the flowers/trees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Fairies, shoddy print, 8 May 2014
This review is from: The Complete Book of the Flower Fairies (Hardcover)
This collection includes eight titles: Flower Fairies of the Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter, Garden, Trees and Wayside, as well as the Flower Fairies Alphabet.

I was entranced by these books as a child and learned to identify and name many flowers from reading them. Each flower fairy has its own 'song' but it is the illustrations that I remember: Cicely Mary Barker's well observed botanical drawings lend an 'authenticity' to the companion fairies that is uniquely charming.

The print quality of this collection does not do them justice, however. A couple of the full colour plates look almost like photocopies. What a shame that a publisher like Penguin should cut costs on a book where the illustrations are the key. The collection is still worth getting for someone who has not met the flower fairies before, but if you remember the earlier miniature editions prepare to be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Purchase for Grandaughter, 11 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Complete Book of the Flower Fairies (Hardcover)
I was requested by Father Christmas to purchase, The complete book of the Flower Fairies, and naturally read it through before giving it to my granddaughter and found it ideal material for a 6 year old who I understand thoroughly enjoyed her much treasured gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for all ages, 7 Dec. 1999
By 
I purchased this book for my fiancee who used to love the flower fairies when she was younger. The book is enchanting. The illustrations are wonderful and the content is superb. Buy this book, you will never regret it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book !, 23 Feb. 2010
By 
Mrs. J. E. Day "J Day" (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Book of the Flower Fairies (Hardcover)
I was looking for the definitive Flower Fairy book. This has it all and is indeed beautiful. For anyone interested in British Botanical Artists also a good book. The book arrived in perfect condition also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just beautiful, 5 Sept. 2009
By 
Monika Wudich (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Book of the Flower Fairies (Hardcover)
Beautiful, even though I almost liked the small little books - which already my mother had - better. But having them all together in one big book is lovely too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 4 Dec. 2009
By 
C. Winter "The Boater" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of the Flower Fairies (Hardcover)
A classic, bought for my Grand-daughter. Like my wife, I am sure she will enjoy it. An ongoing treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Book of the Flower Fairies
The Complete Book of the Flower Fairies by Cicely Mary Barker (Hardcover - 26 Sept. 2002)
£17.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews