Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good ideas and helpful info - mostly quite useful
'How to make anyone like you', is similar to many self help books in that it is exceedingly optimistic. There is apparently no limit to what you can achieve by being a friendly person and accumulating a good 'network' of useful friends to be helped by and to help in turn. It's all very good in theory, and there is definate potential for a life changing read in this...
Published on 7 Sep 2001 by vinceryan85@hotmail.com

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A solid, enjoyable read
There is no doubt that Lowndes has a superb informal style of writing, sharing anecdotes as though she were in the room with you. However, some of her tips almost seem common sense in my mind - almost all of the friends that I know use at least some of her communication techniques, especially speaking as though they were the listener. Also, as a man I found some of the...
Published on 13 July 2003 by sirmankey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good ideas and helpful info - mostly quite useful, 7 Sep 2001
This review is from: How to Make Anyone Like You: Proven Ways To Become A People Magnet (Paperback)
'How to make anyone like you', is similar to many self help books in that it is exceedingly optimistic. There is apparently no limit to what you can achieve by being a friendly person and accumulating a good 'network' of useful friends to be helped by and to help in turn. It's all very good in theory, and there is definate potential for a life changing read in this book.
However, I think it is unlikely that many people will act quite so emphatically upon the good advice contained within the pages of this book. The reason for this is that a great deal of the ideas put forward, require someone who is a little more outgoing than most, and not so scared of acting differently to others. The reason I see this fault may be simply that the UK doesn't fall into the target audience of the book, which does seem to be mainly aimed at an American reader. There are numerous reasons I think this, America being generally thought of as a less inhibited nation, being just one of them.
There are lots of useful litte tips though, that anyone can use to their advantage. Many seemingly obvious differences between the sexes, are highlighted with the aim of giving both men and women an idea of how to behave differently, in the company of friends of the opposite sex. These kind of tips and many others, give the book a certain level of usefulness whatever kind of person you are.
'How to make anyone like you', is a well written book, that offers enough good advice to make your success in its subject matter, have a good correlation with the amount of effort you put in to making Leil Lowndes' ideas work. Basically, the more you take her ideas on board and incorporate them into your life, the more liked you will end up being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A solid, enjoyable read, 13 July 2003
This review is from: How to Make Anyone Like You: Proven Ways To Become A People Magnet (Paperback)
There is no doubt that Lowndes has a superb informal style of writing, sharing anecdotes as though she were in the room with you. However, some of her tips almost seem common sense in my mind - almost all of the friends that I know use at least some of her communication techniques, especially speaking as though they were the listener. Also, as a man I found some of the gender stereotyping (whether backed up by sociological studies or not) a little curious. If I had someone blankly stare at me whilst speaking and not nod or make it known that they are paying attention, I would either be offended or just plain freaked out.
Regardless, the book is excellent to brush up your social skills and is genuinely useful, especially in chapters such as networking and the unique approach that Lowndes recommends at parties. The reader might best be advised however that although the book contains truthes, they aren't all necessarily universal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather american in approach and laughable in places but basic pointers., 16 July 2013
By 
Elsa's Mama (Barnsley, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Make Anyone Like You: Proven Ways To Become A People Magnet (Paperback)
I bought this book as I am not a people person. People scare me, and therefore I do not know how to meet new people without them thinking i'm somewhat aloof rather than shy and awkward. I bought this book in the vain hope of being able to resolve this some what and at least know how to come across as normal. The approach is very american both its language and in the advise that it offers, such as greeting every third person in a room as if we're old friends. Err, no. There is a full chapter on handshakes, as if I wasn't coming across weird enough already. Again, No. Also in each chapter she illustrates her points with apparently 'real life' examples from her friends and family which were blatently made up and usually that lame that they were funny. There is some good pointers, as in use of touch, eye contact blah blah, I actually abandoned this book a while ago and is gathering dust next to the downstairs toilet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the appendix?, 2 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Make Anyone Like You: Proven Ways To Become A People Magnet (Paperback)
A fairly good book, with plenty of ideas.
However, the book makes frequent references to the appendix, in which we are supposed to find activities which will help us. WHERE IS IT?
I was most disappointed, to find there isn't one, as the activities would have been helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worth more than it's title is worth, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book with the intentions to learn how to talk and make new friends esp when one is shy. What I didn't expect was the book would be packed with matter-of-fact information which is a eye opener to those also seeking to know themselves.

This book is a defo must have .... and worth reading and re-reading .... best self help book i have read with simple home truths that hit the nerve ... wake up and read it .... in fact dont just read it, go live it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars do it!, 14 Mar 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Make Anyone Like You: Proven Ways To Become A People Magnet (Paperback)
Ok, I used to read self-improvement books to get life skills, but nothing could ever compare with dale Carnegies "how to make friends and influence people". I now read them largely for their chatty positive style.
Leil Lowndes is a genius, she reels out fundamental truisms about human relations. As she is a woman, she sees things from the femenine perspective, a feature often ignored by most self improvement books. She tells you about social gaffs that have occured to her friends and how to avoid them.
you see, there are real things in life nobody ever tells you, like not to contradict people, and when it's appropriate to make jokes and when not.
Buy this book, if it doesn't make people like you, it will still keep you entertained and give you a few life skills you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the appendix?, 2 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Make Anyone Like You: Proven Ways To Become A People Magnet (Paperback)
A fairly good book, with plenty of ideas.
However, the book makes frequent references to the appendix, in which we are supposed to find activities which will help us. WHERE IS IT?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The art of improve oneself, 17 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Make Anyone Like You: Proven Ways To Become A People Magnet (Paperback)
The title is extremely straight forward: "How to make anyone like you" is about the proven techniques that help the reader to improve him/herself as a whole person. More focused on everyday life, something that every human being encounters upon. Extremely effective for the art of human relations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Make Anyone Like You: Proven Ways To Become A People Magnet
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews