Customer Reviews


9 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight forward introduction to vegetarian cooking, 4 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Cheap and Easy: Essential vegetarian collection (Paperback)
As a budding vegetarian I purchased this book solely on its title. And it has so far lived up to the claim. I find the recipes easy to follow, the ingredients readily available, and the end product tastes good as well. The lentil roast and wholemeal scones (which I have never made before) have become firm favourites. Looking for somewhere to start your adventures in cooking? - purchase this and you're away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly simple recipies ideal for beginner veggie cooks., 31 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cheap and Easy: Essential vegetarian collection (Paperback)
Unlike many supposedly quick cookery books, this one doesn't assume the reader to posses a wide range of bizarre and very fresh ingredients available only from a mongolian village market or Harrods. It is a great introduction to anyone new to vegetarian cuisine, introducing some fundemental uses of staple foods such as pulses and grains and it does so without pretention and in a way that allows the ingredients to be fully appreciated. The recipies are simple and refreshing and wholly practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great cook book - even if you're not a vegetarian!, 24 Feb. 2009
By 
F. Chapman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cheap and Easy: Essential vegetarian collection (Paperback)
I bought this book over 20 years ago and still use it today. We're not vegetarians, but recipies from this book give variety to our diet and help with the budget. The meals genuinuely are easy to make and with cheap ingredients.

Really sad to see that it's out of print at the moment.

See if you can find a copy if you want to save money on your food budget and eat more healthily while still enjoying your food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deser Island Cooking!, 8 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Cheap and Easy: Essential vegetarian collection (Paperback)
If I had to take only one cookbook to a desert island, this would be it! Unlike some supposedly "quick and easy" books, this one contains loads of recipes that really are fast, economical and easy to make. The recipes really do work, and, just as essentially, they're tasty too! Also...they don't require tons of high-tech kitchen gadgets and most of the ingredients are likely to be found in your local supermarket. If not, the writer often suggest alternative ingredients/methods.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best!, 8 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Cheap and Easy: Essential vegetarian collection (Paperback)
I have a shelf-full of 'VEGGIE',cookbooks[including more of Rose Elliot's] but this is the one I return to time after time.She gives you the basics but once you get the general idea of a recipe you can get creative and branch off on your own using alternative/extra ingredients.This book was first published in 1988 but I think it's still the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Basic vegetarian recipes, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is full of easy recipes using not too many ingredients which we wouldn't normally carry in our store cupboard.
It is a good book to use for people just turning vegetarian giving plenty of ideas with recipes which turn out well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great easily cooked recipes, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want to make sure that your veggie meals are tasty and nutritious, then this is the book for you. Easy to prepare from ingredients that are widely available, even the cook with limited time and money can make sure that everyone is well fed and properly nourished on a vegetarian diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars title says it all, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheap and Easy: Essential vegetarian collection (Paperback)
great recipes for cheap and easy vegetarian meals, just like it's title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, 30 April 2011
This review is from: Cheap and Easy: Essential vegetarian collection (Paperback)
Had this book years ago but it fell apart, so was very excited to be able to buy a new one.
Although it's second hand, the book is in a superb state and arrived very promptly much to our delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cheap and Easy: Essential vegetarian collection
Cheap and Easy: Essential vegetarian collection by Rose Elliot (Paperback - 6 Mar. 2000)
Used & New from: £5.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews