Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paranormal in the West Country, and beyond
Our Passionate Friend Julian Cope surprised us all in the 1990's by suddenly coming out as a megalithomaniac. The Modern Antiquarian is partly Julian's very personal take on ancient Britain and how the church and those pesky Romans ballsed it all up for us and partly a gazetteer of ancient sites around Britain, complete with directions, maps, idle jottings and some...
Published on 16 Dec. 2003 by alientimes

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great guide to the sites, foget the roll-your-own prehistory
The second half is an excellent and unparalleled gazeteer of Britain's prehistoric sites. The first half is just annoying, with its monolithic interpretation of everything in sight as Goddess-related and the tiresomely smug rubbishing of the work of genuine scholars in this field (and slyly selective pillaging of that work when it suits, eg for dating).
This...
Published on 25 Feb. 1999

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely holiday companion, 3 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Modern Antiquarian: A Pre-millennial Odyssey Through Megalithic Britain : Including a Gazetteer to Over 300 Prehistoric Sites (Hardcover)
This is an awesome reference book for anyone interested in stone circles and ancient british history. It is easy to use with each site arranged on its own page in geographical sections, and each with an enjoyable personal section written by Julian Cope on how the site made him feel at the time of his visit (he has visited each site in person over 8 years in compiling the volume, some in horrendous weather of course which makes for quite amusing reading). In many cases it is not the actual monument (sometimes very derelict) that leaves the impression but moreso the natural energy and beauty of the site.

I have used the book on many occasions on holidays especially in Cornwall and I can say it has enhanced and given purpose to my experiences, and taken me to many wonderful and little visited sites well off the beaten track (trying to find them from the directions and clues in the book is an exciting adventure in itself!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastisches Buch das Spaß macht, 3 Dec. 2012
This review is from: The Modern Antiquarian: A Pre-millennial Odyssey Through Megalithic Britain : Including a Gazetteer to Over 300 Prehistoric Sites (Hardcover)
Ein liebevoll und akribisch gemachtes Buch. Wie bei allen Cope-Büchern erlesen verarbeitet. Es kann als Vorbereitung und Leitfaden für eine mysthische Englandreise hervorragend eingesetzt werden. Wer es gewissenhaft durcharbeitet wird mit einem ganz besonders schönen Foto belohnt ;-).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big. Beautiful. Seminal. Nice pictures, 19 Aug. 2010
By 
Riverman1965 "matrb" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Modern Antiquarian: A Pre-millennial Odyssey Through Megalithic Britain : Including a Gazetteer to Over 300 Prehistoric Sites (Hardcover)
This is a big and utterly beautiful and fantastic book that everyone should have instead of a coffee table. I love Cope's attitude and ideas and his early writings about walks along neolithic routes were very inspiring to me. This led me off on a long walk along the Ridgeway to Avebury and got me out walking the streets of London, making notes and drawings.

Keep it in your car if you've got a big glove compartment and are very clean and tidy. Otherwise, treat it like a sacred object and pass it down through the generations like a family bible.

(I once queued up for ages at a Julian Cope signing for Modern Antiquarian and eventually gave up and went to the pub. Regretted it ever since. It's not that I cared about the book being worth anything, just some childlike wonder about the 'autograph'.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Jan. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Modern Antiquarian: A Pre-millennial Odyssey Through Megalithic Britain : Including a Gazetteer to Over 300 Prehistoric Sites (Hardcover)
A big, fat, lovingly crafted lovesong of prehistoric Britain. Tons of great photos and maps. Mr. Cope combines scholarly thoroughness with an amusingly annectodal style. He does puts forth a somewhat idealistic picture of the wholesome closeness prehistoric Britons once had with "Mother Earth" yet sneaks back in the idea that these people must have been somewhat "obsessed" to have created such enduring and awe-inspiring monuments. Great fun and a must have for hunting down some of these places. Other Rock stars would be less tedious if they spent their spare time as neolithic historians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Arch Drudes alternative bible, 17 Mar. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Modern Antiquarian: A Pre-millennial Odyssey Through Megalithic Britain : Including a Gazetteer to Over 300 Prehistoric Sites (Hardcover)
Julian has taken 8 years to produce a fine piece of work on a subject that no other book comes close. I've already taken it to 15 sites and it is true to its word (The complete guide). Russ Sanders
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Modern Antiquarian, 15 Nov. 2009
By 
Martin Malone (West Overton, Wiltshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Modern Antiquarian: A Pre-millennial Odyssey Through Megalithic Britain : Including a Gazetteer to Over 300 Prehistoric Sites (Hardcover)
Just returned from walking to Knap Hill and Adam's Grave, so what can I say but that this book is an invaluable resource/inspiration to walk, see and learn? I go back a very long way with Julian Cope (Club Zoo member #191) and always loved his stuff but I admit I parted ways with him as a buy-everything fan around the time that this came out in the early 90's. The reading tour seemed a little much like Number 1 Son showing off at Sunday Lunch for me. So I didn't buy the book at the time. HOWEVER, it was wiser than me and was waiting for me to catch up. Which I now have and am delighted to have done so.
Having moved to the Kennet Valley a year ago, I'm ashamed to have wasted the wealth on my doorstep for so long. BUT this has inspired me to action. So up at 8 this morning and upwards at 45 degrees. Julian was always a good writer, when you strip away some of the silly drude-isms. And this is an utterly impressive piece of work. The great outdoors of Wiltshire is the killer chorus but this be the verse to set it all up beautifully. I confess, I feel quite humbled by the man's dedication and vision. I owe him a huge debt for getting me outdoors and inspiring me to make the most of my fortunate time here.
Malone of West Overton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 3 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Modern Antiquarian: A Pre-millennial Odyssey Through Megalithic Britain : Including a Gazetteer to Over 300 Prehistoric Sites (Hardcover)
The book is beautiful, the author - whose music I have much admired, gives this the personal touch of a classic. Many consider this the 'bible' of the subject and no wonder. An absolute work of art. My only criticism is that the blue and orange detail of the spine is easily scratched off - but then that's not Julian's fault. My advice would be, buy a copy to hand down through your family - and then buy another to take with you to the sites. Open this book, if you are at least remotely interested, and I will guarantee you will find it difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making Christmas Special, 7 Jan. 2012
This review is from: The Modern Antiquarian: A Pre-millennial Odyssey Through Megalithic Britain : Including a Gazetteer to Over 300 Prehistoric Sites (Hardcover)
The Modern Antiquarian proved a special Christmas present and has already lead to joyful days spent in muddy fields with rain being rewarded by rainbows and joy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, personal, and not a little fun!, 13 Jan. 2000
By 
This review is from: The Modern Antiquarian: A Pre-millennial Odyssey Through Megalithic Britain : Including a Gazetteer to Over 300 Prehistoric Sites (Hardcover)
The essays of this mighty tome must, as becomes obvious, be taken with a pinch of salt. That said, they should not be dismissed altogether, as one should remember we are dealing with spiritual sites afterall, and Cope manages to evoke this within his text.
The now famous gazateer has to be highly commended, as one can instantly appreciate that it is this which kept the book from our grasps for the eight year period it is reputed to have taken to compile the book.
I had the pleasure of meeting Mr Cope in November last year at the first of his book signings for his new auto-biography. His slightly eccentric ways shone through as might be expected but it gave me a sense that underneath all this we have here a man of great thought,conviction,and energy! These qualities give the book it's strength.
Highly recomended. I look forward to the follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - insightful essays and thorough reference guide, 31 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Modern Antiquarian: A Pre-millennial Odyssey Through Megalithic Britain : Including a Gazetteer to Over 300 Prehistoric Sites (Hardcover)
This is a must have for anyone who has ever pondered the true nature of Britons and our history. It confounds our preconceptions of the 'dark ages' before the Romans brought civilisation.Moving to the guidebook section, it comprises further insight, but also helpful instructions for visiting the sites described.In summary, a life-changing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Ancient Britain (Historical Map and Guide)
Ancient Britain (Historical Map and Guide) by Ordnance Survey (Map - 21 April 2011)
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (36)   
Buy new£6.25
In stock

One Three One: A Time-Shifting Gnostic Hooligan Road Novel
One Three One: A Time-Shifting Gnostic Hooligan Road Novel by Julian Cope (Paperback - 19 Jun. 2014)
3.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (41)   
Buy new£11.99
In stock

Head-On/Repossessed
Head-On/Repossessed by Julian Cope (Paperback - 4 April 2005)
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15)   
Buy new£8.24
In stock