Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent rare find
This book is unique in providing a bridge between the literature concerning systems analysis techniques as used mostly by techies and soft management techniques. I have taught both types of courses and know how difficult students find this subject area, complaining of its lack of relevancy and exoteric concepts.
This book, with it's feet firmly on the ground, will...
Published on 21 Jun 2002 by R Beaumont

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, but light
The Art of Systems Thinking is a very easy read and a gentle introduction to the concepts of system thinking as advocated by Senge et al. However it does tend towards fairly trivial examples and in my view could have used a more systemic approach to its structure.
As a communications engineer I found myself comparing a lot with control theory which is alluded to,...
Published on 5 Feb 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent rare find, 21 Jun 2002
This review is from: The Art of Systems Thinking: Essential Skills for Creativity and Problem Solving (Paperback)
This book is unique in providing a bridge between the literature concerning systems analysis techniques as used mostly by techies and soft management techniques. I have taught both types of courses and know how difficult students find this subject area, complaining of its lack of relevancy and exoteric concepts.
This book, with it's feet firmly on the ground, will serve a very useful purpose in breaking this problematic attitude. Complex concepts such as emergence and stability are discussed in a very clear non threatening way - avoiding both jargon and the plethora of diagramming techniques that are so commonly introduced inappropriately a this stage.
The low cost of the book is another reason for recommending it to students. Unfortunately I feel that it will not be widely used by the people who must need it - computing undergraduates - because of it's title however, hopefully a few lecturers may come across it and realise, like me, it's importance. For once we have the opportunity to introduce real understanding rather than just the learning of a specific technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, but light, 5 Feb 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Systems Thinking: Essential Skills for Creativity and Problem Solving (Paperback)
The Art of Systems Thinking is a very easy read and a gentle introduction to the concepts of system thinking as advocated by Senge et al. However it does tend towards fairly trivial examples and in my view could have used a more systemic approach to its structure.
As a communications engineer I found myself comparing a lot with control theory which is alluded to, and found the comparison lacking. The examples didnt really apply to business use but in the softer area of 'self help'.
Overall a nice safe read, an introduction to the subject for someone who may take things further, but isn't commited enough to tackle to 'The Fifth Discipline' yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fascinating, 18 May 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Montpellier, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Systems Thinking: Essential Skills for Creativity and Problem Solving (Paperback)
Very interesting, remains valid although 1st published in the 1970s. Offers a new way to look at everyday as well as business situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars System Thinking, 7 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Art of Systems Thinking: Essential Skills for Creativity and Problem Solving (Paperback)
This is a good book for getting to know different view points on system thinking with good explanations and variety! However this is not a great academic source and should be treated as literature to accompany your main source of academic text books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Essentials of systems, 10 Aug 2012
By 
Mary (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Systems Thinking: Essential Skills for Creativity and Problem Solving (Paperback)
A good, easy to read book, which gives the essentials of systems.
I'd recommend this book to all working in organizations
or interested in coaching carrier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward introduction, 3 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Systems Thinking: Essential Skills for Creativity and Problem Solving (Paperback)
Straightforward introduction to systems thinking.

My only problem with this book is that it introduces the ideas but I think misses some of the spirit of systems thinking. System thinking in my mind is about whole systems - and this didn't come across to me clearly in the book.

Maybe I am being unfair, I read it quite a few years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, 22 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Art of Systems Thinking: Essential Skills for Creativity and Problem Solving (Paperback)
This is my first review ever on amazon but I had to do it because am truly satisfied with the new form of thinking this book has given me. I'm an upcoming business Analyst and these are some of the kind of books I'm meant to read. Apart from that, the book gives examples of real life situations that help you think about how you see situations and change the way you approach it the future. Overall its a good read and I recommend it to anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Systems Thinking: Essential Skills for Creativity and Problem Solving
Used & New from: £0.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews