Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One that's hard to do without
This book is one of the few books I wouldn't want to be without. I'm not tree hugger so I was a bit wary of this book, but instead I found it to be dense with information, inspiration & ideas.
I believe there is more to be learnt in this book about paganism than most of the "learn paganism in a week" books, and it has enhanced my divination with ogham...
Published on 27 Oct 2001 by Mr. M. P. Duffy

versus
52 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad but...
I really wouldn't call it "definitive". If you want a book on Celtic-ish treelore then it's a lot better than most but I found myself wanting to get hold of the author and go "what about all the Germanic treelore of Northern Europe?". She includes a bit but according to the bibliography only consulted ONE book on Germanic mythology. It shows. Her descriptions of the...
Published on 1 Dec 2002 by helpmedeclutter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Leafy pleasures, 26 Sep 2013
This review is from: Tree Wisdom: The definitive guidebook to the myth, folklore and healing power of Trees (Paperback)
If you like trees and you like folklore this book contains plenty to entertain and charm you. There is a chapter on seventeen trees indigenous to the British Isles, many of them common in the rest of Europe (you can see which ones by using the 'look inside' feature). Each chapter contains botanical information about the tree, sections on the legends they have inspired, the healing and magical properties traditionally associated with them, and the customary uses for their wood - from walking sticks to ships.

The book's focus is on Anglo-Saxon and Celtic legends (although it does include references to Greek myth and others); the illustrations, although nice, are not sufficient to identify the trees if you don't know them already; as a couple of reviewers have mentioned, it is not a 'definitive' guide or encyclopaedia - if, indeed, such a thing could exist for this subject matter.

It is full of beguiling stories and nuggets, however, for those who like the romance of the greenwood tree, and the whole charming effect is a bit like going for a stroll in the woods with a well-informed and chatty - some would say batty - friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full of Information, 3 Sep 2013
By 
Ms. A. McCall "AMcCall" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tree Wisdom: The definitive guidebook to the myth, folklore and healing power of Trees (Paperback)
I had this book before and lent it out, but it was never returned. I missed it so much that I bought myself another copy. I love the layout and it is so easy to use as a reference guide from identifying trees to understanding their magical properties and uses. Simple language is used throughout, but you do get the Latin names of the trees as well, shold you wish to learn them. Both children and adults turn to this book in our house for guidance or interpreting meaning or finding uses for trees. Certainly a book full of wisdom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, hard to find until recently, great for general knowledge of followers of the left hand nature paths, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tree Wisdom: The definitive guidebook to the myth, folklore and healing power of Trees (Paperback)
Outstanding book, containing fantastic general knowledge on the individual species and their role in magic and healing.
An excellent book for both beginner and the more experience practitioner...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tree Wisdom: The definitive guidebook to the myth, folklore and healing power of Trees (Paperback)
I give this book 5 stars because it is o compete about every aspect a the trees. Best book ever on trees and their message for humankind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars can't fault it, 28 Oct 2010
This review is from: Tree Wisdom: The definitive guidebook to the myth, folklore and healing power of Trees (Paperback)
have had this book for a while, originally bought it for my husband but have since stolen it! It is on my bedside table as a book that i dip in to regularly. It has a really good cross section of tree information from the very practical, what the wood is used for, to the more spiritual beliefs and folk lore that surround each tree. For this reason it is a really well balanced and well researched book that will keep tree huggers happy but not scare off the non tree huggers either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... trees but all of the natural world of this beautiful planet. It also made it more clear on ..., 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tree Wisdom: The definitive guidebook to the myth, folklore and healing power of Trees (Paperback)
this book made me more aware of the responsibility we have to preserve and protect not only the trees but all of the natural world of this beautiful planet. It also made it more clear on how trees benefit us, and interconnection we have with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's the best book on trees and folklore., 12 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tree Wisdom: The definitive guidebook to the myth, folklore and healing power of Trees (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book, if you love trees, tradition and folklore this has it all. It's one of the nicest books I own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tree Wisdom: The definitive guidebook to the myth, folklore and healing power of Trees (Paperback)
Order dealt with promptly, goods as described and packaged properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of info, 22 Mar 2003
By 
C. H. Skrine "merlynhawk" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tree Wisdom: The definitive guidebook to the myth, folklore and healing power of Trees (Paperback)
This book is pretty good. There is a lot of information on each tree. The only problem with it, as far as I can see, is that it assumes that the Celtic year started in January, so makes its associations for each tree on that assumption, but ... the Celtic year began in November, so the associations are incorrect.
Its too bad too, because otherwise its a good reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tree Wisdom: The definitive guidebook to the myth, folklore and healing power of Trees (Paperback)
My son was thrilled with this present. Thanks :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tree Wisdom: The definitive guidebook to the myth, folklore and healing power of Trees
£11.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews