Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN INCREDIBLE LIFE STORY...
An incredibly witty, yet often poignant recollection of the life of Paula Yates. I found the book difficult to put down and by the end of it, an admirer of this much mis-represented and tragically short-lived icon.
Published on 30 Jun 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not a bad book,
I have always liked Paula Yates and her death was so sad, this book is an entertaining light read .
Published 16 months ago by Tallulah


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN INCREDIBLE LIFE STORY..., 30 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Paula Yates: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
An incredibly witty, yet often poignant recollection of the life of Paula Yates. I found the book difficult to put down and by the end of it, an admirer of this much mis-represented and tragically short-lived icon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paula is a Surprisingly Entertaining Writer!!, 17 Oct 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Paula Yates: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
In the USA, Paula isn't the household name she is in the UK. However, I wanted to find out more about this woman after the death of Michael Hutchence, one of my favorite musicians. I'll be honest -- I didn't expect much. But I was pleasantly surprised. She has an entertaining style of writing. The book was excellent through her childhood, meeting Bob, The Tube, Live Aid, her children -- but it became a bit boring toward the end. The chapter about touring with the band "Take That" was totally worthless to the book. There really wasn't much revealed about the break up with Bob and the beginning of her relationship with Michael. Great photos and amusing anecdotes about some of my favorite musicians. Definitely a fun book to read if you like biographies -- I even laughed out loud a few times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paula Yates: The Autobiography., 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paula Yates: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
Bought this for my daughters birthday. she loved it and could not put the book down, and was so sad when she was found dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not a bad book,, 13 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paula Yates: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
I have always liked Paula Yates and her death was so sad, this book is an entertaining light read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Fantastic Woman, 19 July 2008
By 
Ms. L. C. Paine "loopy101" (Newquay, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dig this one out of the archives so no-one forgets what a brilliant woman Paula was and what a truly fascinating life she led. The anecdotes come thick and fast and the way she slips in famous names with ease and no sense of boastfulness, often makes you shake your head and realise that she could have filled a whole library with the experiences she shared with many great and interesting people. I wish she had as I could read books written by her all day and all night - she was greater and more interesting than any of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Knowing the real ending this is a rather sad book., 16 July 2014
This review is from: Paula Yates: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
This is a tricky one to review with hindsight.
Paula writes honestly and had a very odd upbringing. However she adored her own children and had her own quirky style.
The book is written after leaving Bob Geldof when she embarked on her affair with Michael Hutchens.
There is a lot of self justification however I wonder if she had remained with Sir Bob if she might still be alive.
Knowing the real ending this is a rather sad book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 9 Jan 2007
By 
S. Suthers (Portsmouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is an amazing read. Witty, funny (sarcastic in places), I've not enjoyed reading a book so much in ages. I loved everything Paula Yates did, she was a great columnist, a great TV presenter and a great book writer, and it was very sad when she died. This book made me laugh out loud on many occaisions, I couldn't put it down - you can just imagine her in some of the prediciments she's mentioning in this book. If you want to cheer yourself up then read it, it can't but help make you feel so much happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 15 Jun 2014
By 
mrs f (NW England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paula Yates: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
I quickly became frustrated with this book. Felt like Paula was over exaggerating and trying to shock throughout, making me wonder what was fact and what was fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 80s icon, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paula Yates: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
If, like me, you are a nostalgia junkie for the 80s you will love this book. Paula Yates exemplified all that was exciting and new in that era. From her involvement in shows that promoted the cutting edge of 80s entertainment to her input in one of the most defining events of the era - Live Aid, like her or not, there's no denying her presence as a true 80s icon. It's a poignant read, given her untimely death and the tragic circumstances that affected all of the people involved in her life. But it is also a witty and amusing reflection of the life of an eccentric and vibrant individual who defined what it was to be a female icon of the era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars paula at her witty best, 20 Sep 2007
paulas sense of wit and humour came out at its best in this book, written at a time in her life when she was at her happiest, its heart breaking to think that not long after this book was published paulas life came crashing down. in this book the readers get to realise how much she loved michael and her father jess yates, upsetting to think she loses both to different circumstances later on, michael by his death and then finding out jess was not her real father..............but for paulas fans this book is funny witty and well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paula Yates: The Autobiography
Paula Yates: The Autobiography by Paula Yates (Hardcover - 20 Oct 1995)
Used & New from: 11.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews