Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and well written book.
This book was a good book that was well laid out gave information I have not read before. There were also a good set of lists at the end of places to write to. This book didn't repeat the same stuff I have read a hundred times but included new stuff as well and is a must for those interested in the craft.
Published on 16 July 2000 by ladysilvernight

versus
28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars For Coven Witch's only
I was very disappointed when this book arrived. Having read reviews of the book it sounded like the perfect grounding in Wicca. However it is only focused on the coven form of wicca. I thought that maybe some solitary practices or information would be included.
I would suggest that solitary wiccans do not buy this as it has no information for them at all.
Published on 8 Sep 2005 by Bunny Mummy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and well written book., 16 July 2000
This review is from: Wicca: A comprehensive guide to the Old Religion in the modern world (Paperback)
This book was a good book that was well laid out gave information I have not read before. There were also a good set of lists at the end of places to write to. This book didn't repeat the same stuff I have read a hundred times but included new stuff as well and is a must for those interested in the craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb, informative book., 27 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wicca: A comprehensive guide to the Old Religion in the modern world (Paperback)
Although this book is not an easy read, it is well worth the effort. It gave far more in-depth information than any other book I have read on Wicca. I would not recommend it for a complete beginner, but for someone wanting a more intellectual, comprehensive work, this is absolutely superb. In particular, the many links with Jungian psychology are fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Advanced information for the Bookwitch, 12 Mar 2002
This review is from: Wicca: A comprehensive guide to the Old Religion in the modern world (Paperback)
Crowley is a distinct change from authors such as Silver Ravenwolf and Fiona Horne. I would recommend this book for an older witch (not your typical teen witch material)
It contains good practical information and diagrams, is referenced well to many diverse sources and is an informative read. It was the second Wicca book I read (yes, the first was Fiona Horne! I thought it was good too... I'm not ashamed)
This book will make you think and answer the questions that you didn't even know you were asking....
so just to re-iterate: serious witch who loves to research? buy this book then! no really, go on...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 4 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Wicca: A comprehensive guide to the Old Religion in the modern world (Paperback)
I found that Vivianne Crowleys background in psychology put a lot of Wiccan belief into a context that I could relate to on an inner level. A much more compelling and thought provoking read than a lot of books on the subject that tell you how to 'go through the motions' without reference to the inner meaning to oneself, and ones personal growth as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy and easy to follow, Wiccan starter book, 24 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This book is very simply layed out with its modern photographs bringing Wicca bang up to date. For those who have never read anything on the subject before it take a refreshing look into 'Wicca' with good-break downs of the Wiccan way. If you are too timid to buy one of the other books with the witches on the cover, incase you scare your friends, this is the book for you! It worked for me, and has encouraged me to read more on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wicca The old religeon in the new age, 13 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although this was written some time ago, a lot is still very relevent today. Its written very well, is informative and not "wishy washy" like a lot of modern authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Learners, a Good Read for Any of Us, 22 May 2007
By 
Siusaidh Ceanadach (Glasgow, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wicca: A comprehensive guide to the Old Religion in the modern world (Paperback)
This was the very first book I read when I started learning about the Craft in the 80's and its still on my suggested reading list for any newbie's who come our way. The author gives a very clear, step by step guide on what would be required and what to expect on your path as a Wiccan. The meditations are beautiful, and still read and re-read by me often. My first copy fell to bits from overuse, so if you are looking for advise, mine is read this book first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars For Coven Witch's only, 8 Sep 2005
I was very disappointed when this book arrived. Having read reviews of the book it sounded like the perfect grounding in Wicca. However it is only focused on the coven form of wicca. I thought that maybe some solitary practices or information would be included.
I would suggest that solitary wiccans do not buy this as it has no information for them at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for developing knowledge of the craft, 22 Dec 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful book, it was the first book I bought when I started down the path. It is a little heavy for a first read and I found it helpful to stop and read 'The Real Witchs Handbook' by Kate West before continuing. I then found it easier to understand the material presented by Vivianne. Vivianne covers a range of areas to do with Wicca, virtually all of which can be practiced (including by the solo practitioner), she even adds helpful tips for common problems that practitioners encounter.
I would recommend this as a good book to read to develop understanding of Wicca. I feel that this can be read as a first book, but think it would be easier to absorb if a light introduction to the craft was read first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Curious? this book will make up your mind, 30 Aug 2009
By 
Louise Tassiker (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This book is a great starting point for someone who is unsure of following the Wiccan path! But i must be honest and say that it can be a bit of a heavy read!

This book gives a brief description of what Wicca is, where it comes from, why we practice Wicca and how!

There are small sections on the elements, nature, magic, the gods and rituals. Unlike some of the reviewers i don't see how this book can possibly be aimed at Coven Wiccans there is a section about Solitary witchcraft and group witchcraft & thats about all there is on the matter. There are a few small exercises in this book to follow to help make up your mind if this is the path for you.

This book has some great charts and diagrams of the God and Goddess but these are not the simplest to understand. There are also sections on creating rituals and candle magic which again are not written in the most understandable manner which is maybe a good thing because if this book is enough to put you off then Wicca is not for you.

I'd say this book is a teaser and you need to read a lot more than one book to understand Wicca anyway and i'd highly recommend it.

The reason i'm only giving this book 4 stars is because its the first book i read on the subject and before further reading some parts confused me a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8f865d0)

This product

Wicca: A comprehensive guide to the Old Religion in the modern world
Wicca: A comprehensive guide to the Old Religion in the modern world by Vivianne Crowley (Paperback - 18 Feb 2011)
11.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews