Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS BOOK SHOULD BE REQUIRED READING FOR ALL, 4 Nov 2004
This review is from: The Silent Ark: A Chilling Expose of Meat - The Global Killer (Paperback)
This book lifts the lid on the horrors of the meat industry.
It is impeccably researched and written.
Millions of animals are unnecessarily slaughtered for food in the UK every year; worldwide it is billions. We'd all like to believe that this is done with concern for their welfare during their lives, and humane methods used when it is time to slaughter. The meat industry would LOVE us to keep thinking that. Sadly, though, it could not be further from the truth.
Few people would carry on eating meat if they had to spend just one day in a factory farm or a slaughterhouse. People should know the pain, misery and suffering that goes into their meals, and THEN decide if they want to economically support it by continuing to consume meat.
This book, however, goes MUCH further than the animal welfare issue and demonstrates that we benefit both our health and the environment when we stop eating meat.
Most compelling of all, she catalogues how meat production contributes DIRECTLY to humans dying of starvation. Many poor countries are economically incentivised to export their crops as livestock feed so that rich foreigners can eat steak, while the local populations starve.
The only thing one can possibly say in favour of meat (and even this is a matter of opinion) is that it 'tastes' good. Is that really enough to justify the third world children and babies dying of starvation, the animal cruelty, the first world heart attacks, and the wholesale destruction of the environment?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for people who claim to care about animals., 16 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Silent Ark: A Chilling Expose of Meat - The Global Killer (Paperback)
Although some of the content of this book is hard to read, and even harder to comprehend, we owe it to the animals to read it, and to feel shame as we close the final cover.
This book is a must for everyone who claims to be an animal lover whilst tucking into their dinner of roast lamb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the most informative book ever written., 21 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Silent Ark: A Chilling Expose of Meat - The Global Killer (Paperback)
This book sets out to do the impossible - to challenge nearly all the beliefs held by compassionate people all over the world - and, somehow, it manages it.
From the personal stories to the devastating statistics, every page brings a new shock about the hidden world of animal cruelty, and the pure evils of a dishonest meat industry.
If everyone read this book, we would have far fewer meat eaters. I decided when I picked this book up that it was not going to convert me. It didn't, but it gave me, literally, food for thought, and now I am a definite and strict vegetarian.
This book isn't about emotional blackmail, it isn't about horriffic pictures and over dramtised writing style. It is about simple facts, which should not, and indeed cannot, be ignored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I dare you to read this, 25 Feb 2008
By 
P. N. Scholes "mister P" (Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Silent Ark: A Chilling Expose of Meat - The Global Killer (Paperback)
This book was written over 10 years ago and in addition to unearthing the realities of meat eating on the health and wellbeing of humans & animals it dared to suggest that this industry was causing huge damage to the planet and its resources. Even I (as a vegetarian) was a bit sceptible of the claims made. Surely if the damage was that bad wouldn't the Green lobby be championing the cause?

Then in 2006, 10 years later, this hit some (but not all) headlines:

"Livestock's contribution to environmental problems is on a massive scale. The impact is so significant that it needs to be addressed with urgency." United Nations Food and Agriculture Organisation

This month, the Green Party (of which I am a member) thought it was about time to raise the profile of this subject and will be announcing a new policy statement on the environmental damage caused by the livestock industry, they are a decade too late.

Just think about it, there are 6BN humans who require over 20BN animals to be born, fed, watered & slaughtered or used for milk. The books sets out in detail how much it takes to maintain this statistic, how the developing world pays for the developed world's needs. This is not rocket science, it's obvious stuff once you bother to read about it.

We bang on about cars/planes/boats & transport in general. The global warming caused by our livestock industry is far in excess of all transport emissions put together? It is easier for you and me to make a difference in the food that we eat than in the car we drive.

How many people wonder what happens to male dairy calves or male chicks born to egg laying hens, ie half the millions of births a year? Or how are cows able to continue to produce milk all year around?

If you say you don't wonder or don't care I dare you to read this book and repeat your opinion. Yes I am angry, I read this book three years ago and am still cross with myself that I didn't question this stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An upsetting but compulsive account of factory farming, 6 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Silent Ark: A Chilling Expose of Meat - The Global Killer (Paperback)
This is the best non-fiction book I've every read. It's an upsetting but compulsive personal story of how the author found out from a teenager onwards how dreadfully animals are kept in today's intensive farming systems, or 'factory farms' as they are notoriously known. It gives all the arguments - moral, environment, third-world poverty, health - for switching to a meat-free diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For veggies - a bible, for meat eaters - a horror story, 26 Jan 2007
By 
K. Cartin "NIveggie" (N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Silent Ark: A Chilling Expose of Meat - The Global Killer (Paperback)
Absolutely brilliant book, outlines all the cruel aspects of farming animals for meat consumption. Veggies and vegans can treat this like a bible full of ammunition to shoot at sceptical meat eaters. Give this to a meat eater and they will likely recoil in terror as it outlines how unnatural and unhealthy their diet is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PITY THE POOR ANIMALS, 5 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: The Silent Ark: A Chilling Expose of Meat - The Global Killer (Paperback)
Read this book and you will never eat meat again. This brings to light just how animals suffer just to put something on our plate, and really what it means. There is no need to eat meat. YOU WON'T WANT TO EAT MEAT EVER AGAIN AFTR YOU HAVE READ THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ****Brilliant****, 20 July 2009
By 
Mr. S. Felix - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Silent Ark: A Chilling Expose of Meat - The Global Killer (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book that i recommend strongly. Its a book that you can read with ease and still get all the facts etc. Vegeterians/vegans read this book, it will present you with the positive consequences of your diet. Meat eaters read this book, it will present you with the NEGATIVE consequences of your diet. GO PURCHASE THIS BOOK AND READ AWAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Silent Ark: A Chilling Expose of Meat - The Global Killer
The Silent Ark: A Chilling Expose of Meat - The Global Killer by Tony Hardle (Paperback - 22 April 1996)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews