Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is nicely written.........
The subject is fairly esoteric and at first glance may appear of interest to a comparatively narrow section of the population. However, that is not to say it will not be of interest to many who like to know what is going on inthe world. The narrative is nicely put together with many (black and white) photographs which clearly illustrate the ideas the author is getting...
Published on 11 Sep 2000

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Making Walking Hticks for a hobby
I am an amateur stick maker, Have only recently taken up the hobby and so far have made only about half a dozen reasonable sticks.
Regret to say I learned nothing from this poor and not very informative book, I would go as far as to say that there contradictions in this book when compared with information given by other stick makers. The Picture quality in the book...
Published on 9 Feb 2012 by Pajo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Making Walking Hticks for a hobby, 9 Feb 2012
This review is from: Making Walking Sticks for a Hobby (Hardcover)
I am an amateur stick maker, Have only recently taken up the hobby and so far have made only about half a dozen reasonable sticks.
Regret to say I learned nothing from this poor and not very informative book, I would go as far as to say that there contradictions in this book when compared with information given by other stick makers. The Picture quality in the book was terrible and made the sample sticks displayed look to be of a poor quality.
I was also disappointed at the small number of pages for the price I paid for the book. I am not easily moved to complain about anything, but this book was a real disappointment.
Anybody want a cheap book, 5.oo inc postage I paid 7 pound something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too small, too dear, little real instruction., 23 Feb 2008
By 
J. A. Stiles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Making Walking Sticks for a Hobby (Hardcover)
Disappointed is the word that springs to mind. Poor quality printing, even the dust jacket looks like a poor colour photocopy. Indistinct and badly exposed images. I could forgive all of this but the content is slim and on a very narrow focus. No help with mounting horn handles, V sticks, alpen points, finishing etc etc. If you only want to make a wrist length walking stick with a wooden handle then this may do you, otherwise look further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More of an overview, 4 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Making Walking Sticks for a Hobby (Hardcover)
This book forms more of an overview of the hobby rather than containing any detail of methods or techniques. Very little practical instruction, tuition or guidance can be gained from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is nicely written........., 11 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Making Walking Sticks for a Hobby (Hardcover)
The subject is fairly esoteric and at first glance may appear of interest to a comparatively narrow section of the population. However, that is not to say it will not be of interest to many who like to know what is going on inthe world. The narrative is nicely put together with many (black and white) photographs which clearly illustrate the ideas the author is getting across. Starting with a history of the subject the book deals with variations on the theme and describes alternative methods employed by craftsman, to produce the same article. The author's love of the subject is quickly apparent and his enthusiasm comes across. The book was so interesting and such a joy to read that I could not put it down until I had read it cover to cover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring book, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Walking Sticks for a Hobby (Hardcover)
Little content to the book.
A light read that was completed in a couple of hours.
Doubt if I will go back to the book.
Too brief and lacking depth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars walking sticks, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Walking Sticks for a Hobby (Hardcover)
a nice little book I bought for my self as a new hobby to start in the winter months interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Low quality, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Walking Sticks for a Hobby (Hardcover)
This is a poor quality product and not worth the money. I don't mean to demean the authors ability but the standard of book presentation and compilation is poor. Images are dated and all black and white with poor focus and appear amateurish. It is short on content and definitely, definitely NOT worth the 8.75 price. I wouldn't value it at more than 3.50 compared to other high quality woodworking books I've purchased. I would contend the author was poorly advised by the publisher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Making Walking Sticks for a Hobby, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Walking Sticks for a Hobby (Hardcover)
Making Walking Sticks for a Hobby by David Dawson.

Helpful for the beginer but lacking in technical detail.

Thank You

David Oliver
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making Walking Sticks, 29 Sep 2011
This review is from: Making Walking Sticks for a Hobby (Hardcover)
Making Walking Sticks for a Hobby
What a truely easy book to follow weather you are a beginner like me or an expert
makes so much sense just follow what you are reading and is explained so well even some one like me can follow
and see great results a must have book for all stick makers or want to be stick makers like me
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Walking Sticks for a Hobby (Hardcover)
I have not used it yet but it has all the information I need a very good book to read.

W.H.P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Making Walking Sticks for a Hobby
Making Walking Sticks for a Hobby by David Dawson (Hardcover - 6 Sep 2000)
8.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews