Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't know why this book is out of print
A gripping thriller set in early 19th century colonial India. The protagonist is a decent British official who tries to understand the people he governs, despite lack of confidence in his own abilities. Confronted by the terror of the murderous cult of the goddess Kali whose followers prey on travellers, he goes underground as a 'mole' to record the murders with the aim...
Published on 1 April 2005 by elizabeth5493

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As books go not bad!
Do I have to? Well I started the book - then put it down to read another one and jusy haven't been bothered to pick the thing up since!
Published 20 months ago by Rosy-Posy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't know why this book is out of print, 1 April 2005
This review is from: Deceivers (Paperback)
A gripping thriller set in early 19th century colonial India. The protagonist is a decent British official who tries to understand the people he governs, despite lack of confidence in his own abilities. Confronted by the terror of the murderous cult of the goddess Kali whose followers prey on travellers, he goes underground as a 'mole' to record the murders with the aim of eventually rooting out the organisation. In doing so he has to become an Indian and comes to know himself in wrestling with his conscience. A well-written book which hits the buttons for action, history and psychology - I don't know why it's out of print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, excellent book, 12 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Deceivers (Paperback)
The Deceivers is a great story based on truth and with an authenticity in the telling. The film never did it justice - it is hard to convey the subtleties on film so it just becomes a seemingly far-fetched action story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old favourite, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deceivers (Paperback)
I guess anybody ordering this novel will already have a fair knowledge of John Master's style and usual subject matter, India. I find his books demonstrate a great affection, perhaps love, of the country and its peoples. He is sufficiently informed and competent in some of its tongues to be a fascinating story teller. Certainly it's to my taste anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masters an apt name for a story teller, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceivers (Paperback)
I read this book for the first time over fifty years ago in Calcutta - an perfect venue indeed. At that time, for me it was quite a chilling experience - such is Master's writing. Re-reading it again in a gentle city suburb it is slightly different but at times still takes me back, with a chill, to those dark alleyways of that most amazing city!
Read iit - but keep the lights on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing shocking secrets of indias deep past, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
well written it kept my interest and amazement of India's hidden past throughout. I will be reading more from this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A interesting and worthwhile read., 4 Jun 2014
By 
Mike B (London U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deceivers (Kindle Edition)
I read this in my youth and it left a strong impression. 45 years on and it still reads well with a strong narrative of its time. I sense now more the highway robbery aspect of the story and less it's seeming justification through religious rite and the mystery of Kali. There's a lesson here for today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the deceivers, 12 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. L. Cave - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceivers (Paperback)
bought as a present and not having read this author before the person said they enjoyed the read and would now start to buy this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As books go not bad!, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceivers (Paperback)
Do I have to? Well I started the book - then put it down to read another one and jusy haven't been bothered to pick the thing up since!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Decievers, 28 Feb 2013
This review is from: Deceivers (Paperback)
Book was 2nd Hand as expected, not in pristine condition but in OK condition. My Wife and I are happy with it and enjoyed it immensely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very old copy, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceivers (Paperback)
It was ages old. paper was discoloured that made it difficult to read.Book itself is so very well known and you somehow would like to see a nice print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deceivers
Deceivers by John Masters (Paperback - 1 Jan 1988)
3.50
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews