Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good selection with good length texts
I bought this book as I struggled to find many comprehension books that had long enough texts in them in comparison to optional sats papers. This book however has a good selection of different texts and at varying levels which is useful for differentating. The only downside I feel is that similar to every other comprehension book I've looked at on this search, it does...
Published on 20 Mar 2011 by laratrik

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
Comprehension books are a rarity. I thought this one looked excellent when I first flicked through it. It relies heavily on classic texts so I thought it would offer a challenge. However, most of the questions are far too easy for pupils preparing for the 11+. Some rely on general knowledge. Just what you don't want when you are encouraging pupils to read for meaning.
Published on 23 Aug 2010 by S. Palmer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good selection with good length texts, 20 Mar 2011
This review is from: KS2 Comprehension Book 1 (of 4): Years 3 - 6 (Teacher's Guide also available) (Paperback)
I bought this book as I struggled to find many comprehension books that had long enough texts in them in comparison to optional sats papers. This book however has a good selection of different texts and at varying levels which is useful for differentating. The only downside I feel is that similar to every other comprehension book I've looked at on this search, it does not give you a level for the score that the children get, so you really do have to look at each question and how they've answered it to enable you to give them a level, or just make up your own scoring system to relate to the levels. Good value for money though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great teaching resource, 21 Aug 2011
By 
wiggi5 (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: KS2 Comprehension Book 1 (of 4): Years 3 - 6 (Teacher's Guide also available) (Paperback)
I teach 1 to 1 tuition and often need a varity of comprehension texts to keep students motivated. This has a good selection of texts for all interests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KS2 Comprehension Book 1 (of 4): Years 3 - 6 (Teacher's Guide also available) (Paperback)
Have used this as an extra resource at home to help with comprehension. Has proved useful as can work on one short piece each week and had improved results from school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really useful, 27 Feb 2013
This review is from: KS2 Comprehension Book 1 (of 4): Years 3 - 6 (Teacher's Guide also available) (Paperback)
This book is excellent for doing a little extra work at home. My son had been really struggling with comprehension work at school. At little bit of extra work with this book every night and I'm starting to see the difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good collection of exercises, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Cecilia M-J (Castlemorton, Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KS2 Comprehension Book 1 (of 4): Years 3 - 6 (Teacher's Guide also available) (Paperback)
Here there is a good collection of material which is helpful for students heading towards SATS 2. There is also a good teachers' guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 23 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Comprehension books are a rarity. I thought this one looked excellent when I first flicked through it. It relies heavily on classic texts so I thought it would offer a challenge. However, most of the questions are far too easy for pupils preparing for the 11+. Some rely on general knowledge. Just what you don't want when you are encouraging pupils to read for meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Nov 2010
By 
This book is really great for teachers to use with any age group. I have been able to use it with different abilities in year 6 and the childlren have been challenged in different ways.
Great resource, I have the whole set now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KS2 Comprehension Book 1 (of 4): Years 3 - 6 (Teacher's Guide also available) (Paperback)
This book gave me an idea how to start answering questions from the text and poems. Please start from year 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reading skills, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: KS2 Comprehension Book 1 (of 4): Years 3 - 6 (Teacher's Guide also available) (Paperback)
Many children can bark at words, but need to develop a greater understanding of the texts. Reading is not just about word recognition. I bought books 1 - 4 to enable individual children to use them. The short texts in different genres are proving to be very helpful to develop individual's skills and relate to topicss taught in schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good workbook, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KS2 Comprehension Book 1 (of 4): Years 3 - 6 (Teacher's Guide also available) (Paperback)
This workbook is very good. It has good content.
Clearly laid out, plenty of place to write. Easy to follow the instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

KS2 Comprehension Book 1 (of 4): Years 3 - 6 (Teacher's Guide also available)
£2.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews