Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars165
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2011
I bought this book as I struggled to find many comprehension books that had long enough texts in them in comparison to optional sats papers. This book however has a good selection of different texts and at varying levels which is useful for differentating. The only downside I feel is that similar to every other comprehension book I've looked at on this search, it does not give you a level for the score that the children get, so you really do have to look at each question and how they've answered it to enable you to give them a level, or just make up your own scoring system to relate to the levels. Good value for money though.
22 comments|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2011
I teach 1 to 1 tuition and often need a varity of comprehension texts to keep students motivated. This has a good selection of texts for all interests.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2010
This book is brilliant as you are able to use in year groups or for differentiation within one year group.
My children have really been challenged by the questions so although there are only a few it makes them think.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
This workbook is very good. It has good content.
Clearly laid out, plenty of place to write. Easy to follow the instructions.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Have used this as an extra resource at home to help with comprehension. Has proved useful as can work on one short piece each week and had improved results from school.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Bought this to help my son with deeper level comprehension but this focuses on find the answer in the text. It does include some inferential and evaluative questions but not enough. The format is quite 'dry' and definitely not stimulating for a child. The Collins and Nelson comprehension booklets are much more appealing. Saying that it does help focus on reading skills. Each task takes between 10-20 minutes and can be completed without much adult support. There is a marking grid at the side but it does not include the correct answers so the adult needs to read the story thoroughly too. The Collins set has the answers at the back.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
This book is excellent for doing a little extra work at home. My son had been really struggling with comprehension work at school. At little bit of extra work with this book every night and I'm starting to see the difference.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2010
Many children can bark at words, but need to develop a greater understanding of the texts. Reading is not just about word recognition. I bought books 1 - 4 to enable individual children to use them. The short texts in different genres are proving to be very helpful to develop individual's skills and relate to topicss taught in schools.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2010
This book is really great for teachers to use with any age group. I have been able to use it with different abilities in year 6 and the childlren have been challenged in different ways.
Great resource, I have the whole set now.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
Another great practice book and great value agains gives children a great idea of what the tests are like and helps to build the confidence
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse