Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 February 2008
This is an amazing book that just keeps getting better. Dr Magee first gives the principals and concepts before getting stuck in to all sorts of assessments from the head and face to foot with everything between. Gait analysis, posture and amputee assessments also feature and the icing on the cake is an emergency sports assessment chapter. Each chapter is concluded with a concise summary for revision purposes. The chapters are laid out logically with plenty of very clear diagrams.

Accompanied by a CD-ROM listing useful references and links to articles that are most helpful, especially for those who keep on top of evidence based practice which completes this package and makes this book an essential part of any physiotherapy or orthopaedic doctor's collection.

I feel I should be more critical but I honestly think that this is the gold standard of orthopaedic assessment.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2008
Compared to all other books in manual orthopedic examination this is purely the best. The latest edition also includes a CD-ROM with references and there are a lot more of pictures in color in this edition than the previous editions. The really positive in this edition is the more clear evidence based perspective regarding different examinations techniques. One could only wish for a DVD with all of the techniques. This book is a necessity for all health care professions whom are meeting patients with musculoskeletal dysfunctions and pathologies.

David Aston
Registered Physiotherapist
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2009
Brilliant book, so good value for money! All that a physio graduate or undergraduate needs for their assessments, or any other health care professional. Excellent book, recommended!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2011
Very useful tool for students. It has an introductory part on each chapter about the anatomy of each joint, a bit of biomechanic, differential diagnosis, X-rays, Mri and special tests. The only issue is that you need time to read it through, not so straight forward for quick references. Overall though is an amazingly well-done book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
A really useful guide for every physiotherapist dealing with orthopedic problems. Lot of figures and tables in full color and plenty of information about neuromuscular and skeletal systems.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
I bought this to accompany my chiropractic degree texts and whilst I have not yet started this module at college I have found it useful to have in the clinic to be able to reference when a more complex presentation occurs. Lots of tests with clear photographs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
Really usefull detailed books to aid the understanding of musculoskeletal pathology.
Help me pass my exams!1
Really could not thank him enough for wriiting this!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
As a physical therapy student, I am finding this an essential book in my array of my learning aids. A great source of material.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
Great book, does exactly what it says on the tin
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
This edition of the book is the result of mature previous editions, an excellent book! Much improved.
Easy to read, full of Instruments images: X-Ray, CT, Magnetic Resonance Imaging...diagrams, tables and boxes throughout the text, organized and summarized important information and highlight key points. Much easier to remember and learn. complete book!
Plenty of case studies in every chapter, differential diagnosis, tables and references with a valuable CD-ROM with the references of the chapter where we can do a bit of research, choosing a few papers related to the case or looking for a work of the latest date paper which gives results of the latest investigation and obviously the ultimate in that area or similar cases.
It is interesting to see the inclusion of chapters dedicated to emergency sports assessment and primary care which show the necessity to deal with all types of situations, even branches of therapy where experience is required outside the treatment room, hospital or medical centre.
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)