Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stevenson at his best
A rip-roaring tale set in the aftermath of the 45 rebellion. Alan Breck, the mercenary who started fighting for King George, then changed his allegiance, David Balfour, the naive, recently bereaved loyalist, betrayed by his only living relative and sold to a rogue ships captain to be transported to a life of slavery in the West Indies. Fate throws toe pair together in a...
Published 14 months ago by Samhchair.Muir

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubish
I did not like this book at all a it was boring and dull I do not recommend this book to anyone under 99 years of age!
Published 5 months ago by Martha Steward


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stevenson at his best, 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A rip-roaring tale set in the aftermath of the 45 rebellion. Alan Breck, the mercenary who started fighting for King George, then changed his allegiance, David Balfour, the naive, recently bereaved loyalist, betrayed by his only living relative and sold to a rogue ships captain to be transported to a life of slavery in the West Indies. Fate throws toe pair together in a mutual defence of their lives. Separated in a ship wreck the pair are reunited in Appin where the Hanoverian Campbells falsely accuse David of murdering their agent.. Hunted by the King's troops the pair make their way to Edinburgh, Alan Breck on Prince Charles Edward Stuart's business, and David seeking justice from his treacherous uncle. Who wins out? is it the Wee Wee German Lairdie or the Young Pretender? Does Alan Breck escape to France and is David Balfour's inheritance restored to him? Well today's Monarch is neither a Stuart nor a Hanoverian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Story, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a re-read for a Book Group suggestion. It was lovely to come across a story I remembered from childhood. And it was a proper story with nice short chapters headed with what the chapter was to be about. A good read told at a cracking pace. Perhaps some modern writers could try copying a formula which works? i.e. character is introduced, sets off on journey, meets lots of interesting people, had adventures, wins over adversity, end of story with promise of better things to come for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine historical fiction, 24 April 2001
By 
J. R. S. Morrison "Bibliomane" (Adelaide, SA, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The troubled Stevenson, creator of Jekyll and Hyde and 'Treasure Island', turned to his love of Scottish history for 'Kidnapped', the tale of Davie Balfour, a lowland Whig sold into slavery by a miscreant uncle and then, after a shipwreck, a companion of Jacobite highlander Alen Breck in a desperate escape through the mountains of Scotland with English troops in pursuit. An essentially simple tale told with wit and style, and a highly accessible classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can almost smell the soggy peat, 11 Mar. 2008
By 
ossian (fife, scotland) - See all my reviews
As a writer, Stevenson knows his stuff. The charcterisation of David and Alan, the two main characters, is excellent and the plot is driven forward by being in the form of a journey for survival in the Scottish wilderness. The Highlands and Islands are depicted realistically in the book and it is historically accurate (Unlike that flim with Mel Gibson in it).
When I first picked up this book I was expecting a historical action-adveture story. In fact, this novel has character driven plot and the main source of conflict is the way that David's conservative, lowland views clash with the personality of Alan, a jacobite. However, this does not put you off reading the book as this is handled very well.
Off course, the book still has action in it, as David has to cope with such dangers as kidnapping, an evil uncle who tries to kill him and torrential Highland downpours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historical Tale, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reading this I was struck by how much history is included. The book gives a very vivid picture of life in the Highlands after the defeat of the Scots at Culloden; its almost as if the story was a pretext for a history lesson. The action proceeds at quite a leisurely pace. After David is kidnapped, he spends quite a while on the boat, then on an island, and it is almost half way through the book before his travels through Scotland with Alan Breck begin. The style is good however and the narrative keeps its grip. The worst feature of the book is its ending which famously is very abrupt and inconclusive.
I read it as an adult, never having got round to it as a boy. I enjoyed it well enough, but I am not sure if I would have liked it so much as a boy because of the leisurely pace and the amount of historical detail. Treasure Island is more suited to younger readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The archetypical adventure story, 29 Jan. 2010
By 
Didier (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
It's been years since I first read this book (in Dutch at the time, I guess I must have been 13 or 14) but I still held fond memories about David Balfour's adventures in the Scottish highlands, so when I saw it published as one of Penguin's Popular Classics I bought it immediately, anxious to find out if it would prove as captivating after all these years and in English. I needn't have worried! From the very first sentence I was once again drawn into the story of David Balfour, his miserly uncle Ebenezer, and the highland 'gentleman' Alan Breck. Reading this late into the night, I felt 13 again, and as ready as then to sympathize with 'Davie' and always eager to find out what happened next (and having finished it plunged straight into 'Treasure Island' for good measure). It proved - as well it might - even better in English with the delightful Scottish words and phrases Stevenson uses in the dialogues.

One of the first but surely still one of the very best adventures stories, splendid entertainment whatever your age. I'll say nae maer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People to Remember, 5 Aug. 2006
By 
When I was younger, my family had a collection of illustrated Classic books with a cartoon on every page. Kidnapped was the only book I never read of the collection because of the horrible pictures. (By the way, that problem has been repeated in practically every edition I have seen.) Several years ago I blundered into the book and it has become, by far, one of my favorites.

The beauty of the book is the development of the two characters David Balfour and Alan Breck. I agree with Henry James that the beginning of the books drags, as we are introduced to young David and his unappealing uncle Ebenezer. Alan Breck splashes into the story and provides the contrast to David's personality. The excitement of the book comes when David and Alan are stuck together traveling through the wilderness alone with their own personal grievances against each other. The beautifully realized characters create the tension that propels this compelling story.

Of course, there is the history of the real events this story is based on, and readers may find they want to look further into that, as I have. It's David and Alan, though, that make the story worth anyone's while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubish, 28 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did not like this book at all a it was boring and dull I do not recommend this book to anyone under 99 years of age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A boy's adventure juxtaposed against troubled times, 12 Sept. 2004
In Stevenson's third novel, David Balfour, a sixteen year old orphaned boy, travels to meet his uncle in Queensferry. His welcome is not what he expected though, and after narrowly avoiding being murdered he is kidnapped aboard a ship bound for Carolina, and his adventures begin.
Set against the aftermath of the Jacobite Rebelion, this novel does give an interesting insight into Highland life at the time, however it also provides a test of both the reader's geography (to keep up with David's travels) and history. Armed with this knowledge the book is no doubt an excellent portrait of the times, however without it you can still enjoy a good tale of adventure and misfortune, and it is still a book to be enjoyed.
A tip though: try to avoid reading the chapter names in the Contents, it ruines the story somewhat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a rather depressing book but the single-mindedness and ..., 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a rather depressing book but the single-mindedness and endurance of the central character David Balfour has to be admired. One day I will try to walk the 'Stevenson Way', which roughly traces route taken by David across Mull, then across central Scotland to Edinburgh. The book is a classic, written by an author who had experienced travel and endured hardship himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kidnapped (Ladybird Classics)
Kidnapped (Ladybird Classics) by John Grant (Hardcover - 1 April 1985)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews