Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars subtle, disturbing examination of the heart
A young student befriends an older man in Tokyo. The older one's intellectual abilities, and his sophistication gains him the title of 'Sensei' - roughly approximating 'teacher' or 'master' - from the younger one.

Though he likes him well enough, Sensei does nothing to encourage the young man's growing attachment to him. This only increases the student's...
Published on 23 Oct. 2006 by peter d pipinis

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great book, shame about the edition
Kokoro is a great book, dealing with the friendship between a student and an older man. Other reviewers have written about this book in sufficient detail, such that there is very little for me to add as a critique.

However, I write to warn other readers to not buy the "Quiet Vision Publishing" edition as this contains many typos and the binding of the copy I...
Published on 12 Oct. 2007 by Ishmael Du The


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars subtle, disturbing examination of the heart, 23 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Kokoro (Paperback)
A young student befriends an older man in Tokyo. The older one's intellectual abilities, and his sophistication gains him the title of 'Sensei' - roughly approximating 'teacher' or 'master' - from the younger one.

Though he likes him well enough, Sensei does nothing to encourage the young man's growing attachment to him. This only increases the student's interest in Sensei's life, who responds finally to his overtures of friendship and respect thus: 'I do not want your admiration now, because I do not want your insults in the future. I bear with my loneliness now in order to avoid greater loneliness in the years ahead. You see, loneliness is the price we have to pay for being born in this modern age, so full of freedom, independence, and our own egotistical selves'.

The novel is structured in three parts. The first two are narrated by the student, and the third is a 'testament' in letter form by Sensei, outlining the story of his life, and explaining why he has for so long withdrawn from the outside world.

Sensei's testament is a profound self-examination and self-criticism, mostly revolving around his selfish and manipulative actions, in his own student days, when he and his friend (a fellow student) were both in love with the same girl (now Sensei's wife). This behaviour leads, in the end, to catastrophic results for his friend. From that period on, though Sensei has appeared outwardly normal and happy, his life has been completely blighted.

What makes the novel such a significant work for Western readers (other than its literary excellence) is the distinctly Japanese point of view it brings to an old story. This new perspective brings up a large number of worrying (because unanswerable) questions. How much, for instance, does Sensei's failure to forgive himself for his earlier mistakes arise from his culture's sense of 'honour', and how much from human nature?

Kokoro translates as 'the heart of things', a perfect title for a book that delicately, subtly and finally disturbingly, probes the mystery that is the core of human life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unique, 18 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Kokoro (Paperback)
With _Kokoro_ Natsume Soseki did what English-speaking authors apparently can't do: tell a story of (non-sexual) passion, betrayal, sadness, and above all a pervading, unbearable loneliness, all without being the least bit melodramatic. It's understated and almost dispassionate on the one hand, but profound and moving on the other. The author's understanding of the ordinariness (but vast importance) of the tragedy that is life is brilliant. One of the most underrated and underread of twentieth-century novels, and this is a great translation, to top it off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, excellent translation, 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kokoro (UNESCO Collection of Representative Works) (Paperback)
I read the book in Japanese before and I wanted to try its English version. This book keeps the original beauty without giving too many notes. Introduction pages appear rather subjective and I cannot agree with many parts. I would recommend readers to read it only after finishing the book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparse, bleak, thought-provoking & utterly enthralling, 25 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Kokoro (UNESCO Collection of Representative Works) (Paperback)
The first thing to strike the reader is that the book is all told in the first person, although there are two different viewpoints. The second thing is that no one is actually given a proper name throughout the entire book. The first narrator, through whose eyes we see the first half of the novel, is a young man, studying at college. He spies an older gentleman and instantly decides to follow him. This older gentleman is referred to as Sensei, though that is not his real name. The two then form something of a friendship.

Throughout the first part of the book, I couldn't escape the feeling that the translation had left the book a little staccato. The sentences were often short, simple and did not feel to have much flow to them. However, in hindsight, I think this may have been excellent writing from Soseki as the second half (which is narrated by Sensei) is much more fluent. Therefore, I think the punctuated writing pattern of the first half reflects the relative immaturity of the first narrator.

In all of the first narrator's discussions with Sensei, there is a nagging sense of something in Sensei's past which not even his wife knows about. This is brought out early in the novel when it is revealed that Sensei regularly visits a certain grave, though the identity of the grave's occupant is not revealed until much later on, though I shan't spoil it.

The change in narration comes about when the first narrator constantly questions Sensei as to why he is the way he is: aloof and withdrawn from the world, with a distrust for everyone in it, including his own wife. Throughout the first part of the novel, Sensei avoids these questions, but decides to write a letter to his disciple laying out much of his personal history in an effort to ensure that at least somebody knows what his reasons are. It is this letter that forms nearly half the book.

There is much more that I could write about this, but I shall refrain for fear of spoiling it for you. Needless to say, I would really recommend this to you. In fact, I wish I had read this when I was in my early 20s, around the same age as the first narrator. If I could describe it as a piece of scenery, it would be of a handful of people on an open moor, separated by wide open spaces, calling out to one another, but always just on the boundary of being out of earshot. It has a kind of bleakness to it, but not in a fatalistic sense. The bleakness is in the outlook on life that Sensei possesses, based on his own past and the things he blames himself for, though it is slightly open-ended as to how much of what he has piled on his own shoulders is his own fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic by a Grand Master, 12 Mar. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kokoro (UNESCO Collection of Representative Works) (Paperback)
This book must rate as one of the great works in world literature. It is a story so simple in the telling and yet so complex in meaning. A simple hook will draw you into the world of the narrator and compel you to read on until you reach the stunning conclusion. The confessional tone of the novel will make you feel like a witness to the events as they unfold.The unordained writing style serves to add authenticity to the tale and acts as a counterpoint to the 'haiku style' poetic descriptions littered throughout the book. There can be no summary of the plot for this would spoil the impact on the reader. It is a work that poses so many questions but whose answers you can only 'swim around' and come tantalizingly close to resolving but ultimately realize that they will remain elusive. However, in seeking to answer the unanswerable you will discover many things and be drawn back to read the book again. I consider myself well read and I felt considerable embarrassment at my ignorance of Soseki's work before I purchased this book on a friend's advise. Incomparable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Insightful Novel, 5 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Kokoro (Paperback)
By using his experiences living in the late Meiji period of Japan, Natsume Soseki wrote an insightful novel entitled "Kokoro," which was translated in English language by Edwin McClellan. The book is broken into three sections, "Sensei and I," "My Parents and I," and "Sensei and His Testament." The first section reveals the first interaction between the Student and Sensei at the beach, their conversations, and the college graduation of the Student. The second section deals with the life of the Student's home in the countryside of Japan, his father's illness, and the receiving of Sensei's last letter. And the last part of the novel is a letter from Sensei to the Student in which he discusses his dark past and why he decided to meet his end. From reading "Kokoro," one can get an understanding of how modern social transformation influenced Japanese life.

To show as an example: when a person lives through two different eras, it can alter his feelings and his sense of living in the Japanese society. In a sense, the transformation can alter one's sense of identification with his country. In Kokoro, the character Sensei has a lack of identification with Japan in terms of where he fits in the society, which partly leads to his deep loneliness. Since the fall of Tokugawa Japan and the Samurai class, there may have been number of people who refused to change their ways or move on toward the new Japanese society, which was the Meiji era.

But, toward the end of the Meiji period, the new change called the "modern era" was approaching, which created an effect on people who were already born in the Meiji era. As a man filled with guilt, fear, and loneliness, Sensei felt that he should leave the world physically due to the fact that he had no place in the new modern Japan. One example in the novel which best explains loneliness as a result of the modern transformation is when Sensei expressed his insight to the Student: "loneliness is the price we have to pay for being born in this modern age, so full of freedom, independence, and our own egotistical selves," which was a comment that made the Student stood speechless and kept silence (p. 30).

The novelist Natsume Soseki wrote an insightful work, with a clear read as translated by Mr. McClellan. With a humble opinion, this book is given as five stars and to be recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle, 9 Aug. 2006
By 
N. Green "tenshi06" (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kokoro (Paperback)
Kokoro is a book that can only be described as gentle, soft and heartbreaking. Written in a typical Japanese style the plot is more about the feelings of the main characters and how that affects their relationships and their actions. The ending is also typically Japanese, heartbreaking. The readers often find themselves comparing their own relationships with the ones so gracefully described in this book. Reading it will give anyone a new way of looking at love, hate, relationships but most importantly it is a beautiful poetic piece of literature that will be treasured for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautifully executed, wonderfully perceptive, 24 July 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kokoro (Paperback)
this book is so delicate and comprehensive. in true japanese style the plot is by no means fast paced, which could put some off, but what you loose in pace i felt you gained so much in depth. as a result the characters really came to life and i felt myself empathising with so many of them.

the basic plot is that a young student meets one who he calls 'sensei' although not being an official teacher to him, this student wants to learn from this mysterious and closed person.

written in the first person, the reader is brought face to face with many themes although there seems to be a hint of nihilistic undertone--particularly when one regards the history at the time of it's writing. i particularly loved the abrupt ending which in some sense doesn't finish the story and therefore allows you to conclude it yourself, but i won't ruin it for you!

i only bought this book because dancingphilip recommended it, so it was a bit of a gamble, but it paid off. probably one of my top 5 books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book- an analysis of the human condition, 14 Dec. 2002
By 
William Fross (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Kokoro (Paperback)
This is a great book. Written in a clear, simple style, it tells of the relationship between a lonely and disaffected scholar and a young and mostly directionless student, set in early Twentieth century Japan. The story focuses on the nature of their relationship, and the student's growing interest in just why the scholar ('Sensei') is so disaffected by society and disappointed with humanity in general.
The characters feel real; their relationship is, though difficult to understand, fascinating; and the book just feels coherent, the final third being particularly fascinating as the culmination of the story. It offers a particularly Japanese view of things, and it is all the more interesting as an examination of the modern world. I find it difficult to explain exactly why I like this book, but it deserves its place in the canon of great Japanese literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kokoro, the heart, 26 Feb. 2011
By 
O. Cheng (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kokoro (UNESCO Collection of Representative Works) (Paperback)
I picked up this book because I am simply intrigued by Soseki's much recognized status of Japan's leading novelist, so much so that this book is commonly used as textbook material in Japanese schools to this current day, and the author himself even had his portrait printed on Japanese bank notes.

Written in 1914, Kokoro is nearly a century old and I have to admit I am not at all familiar with the Meiji era it is set in, and all the history with it. Yet the main story itself is simple enough for me to grasp without understanding all the underlying history. The focus of the story is on the two characters and the relationship between them; 'Sensei', an elder figure which the narrator greatly respects, and the narrator being a university student. The friendship between them is quite subtle and cold most of the time, but as the story progresses Sensei begins to open up his heart to the young student, and shared his life experience which explains the development of Sensei's character with a complex mixture of feelings including greed, distrust, guilt, loneliness, isolation. As the name of the book implies, this is a book of the thinking and feeling of the heart, and the psychological development of Sensei's character is outstandingly captured in this book.

Kokoro is a book with great depth and deep meanings to reflect upon, and certainly not one to be read at speed (which I regrettably had to as it was a borrowed book). I personally find the whole story a bit too dark and negative for my liking, but can see why it has achieved the great Japanese classic status; this is undoubtedly an astonishing piece of literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kokoro (UNESCO Collection of Representative Works)
Kokoro (UNESCO Collection of Representative Works) by Natsume Soseki (Paperback - 2 May 2007)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews