Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revealing the mystery writer's mystery.
Revealing the mystery writer’s mystery. Fame and wide acclaim came to Agatha Christie in 1926 when “The Murder of Roger Ackroyd” was published. In the same year, however, her disappearance and the eleven-day search for her attracted even more attention. Subsequently in interviews and in her own autobiography, Agatha Christie refused to explain or...
Published on 28 Nov 2003 by John Austin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Eleven Missing Days
This book covered other aspects of Agatha Christie's life and wasn't solely about the eleven missing days. However it was still a fairly good read.
Published 4 months ago by Pam Pike


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revealing the mystery writer's mystery., 28 Nov 2003
By 
John Austin "austinjr@bigpond.net.au" (Kangaroo Ground, Australia) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Revealing the mystery writer’s mystery. Fame and wide acclaim came to Agatha Christie in 1926 when “The Murder of Roger Ackroyd” was published. In the same year, however, her disappearance and the eleven-day search for her attracted even more attention. Subsequently in interviews and in her own autobiography, Agatha Christie refused to explain or refer to the incident. It was inferred that the breakdown of her first marriage had been one aspect of the mystery, and her reluctance to refer to anything so painful was respected.
Since her death, she has been the subject of several biographies. None that I have read, even that of her second husband, Sir Max Mellowan, provides a satisfactory motivation or time table for the eleven missing days in 1926.
It seems remarkable that a young writer from the smallest state in Australia should be the one to adequately research the subject and to have access to the best informants. Jared Cade knows Agatha Christie’s novels, plays, poetry and short sories well, and demonstrates how insights into this major crisis in Agatha Christie’s life reside in them. His theories are sound, his rebuttal of false and misleading explanations is strong, and his judgments - even of Dame Agatha herself – are balanced.
Interest in what happened to the world’ best-selling author back in 1926 may no longer be strong, but it is good to read something that at last sets the record straight. It is, moreover, a fascinating and focussed biography of someone who tried to keep herself away from public scrutiny. I like the compliment paid to the author by his principal informants, descendants of Agatha Christie’s best friend: "This is the only biography that tells Agatha's life as it really was. Your insight into her life and personality is unsurpassed."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The lady vanishes., 10 Mar 2004
By 
S. Hapgood "www.sjhstrangetales.com" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last! Someone has got to the bottom of one of the most intriguing British mysteries of the 20th century. Just what did happen to the first lady of crime fiction in December 1926? I'm certainly not going to spoil things for you by letting the cat out of the bag, suffice it to say that the truth (as is often the way) is quite startlingly simple. The author finally tracks down Dame Agatha during her 11 days of oblivion, and also reveals why she was haunted by the disappearance for the rest of her life, and which made her so publicity shy when she became the most famous author in the world.
He also reveals that her second marriage, to Max Mallowan, was far from being the contented haven after a stormy sea that we had previously been led to suppose, and that she never stopped carrying a torch for Archie. This isn't muck-raking, or digging up old ghosts, as the author clearly has a lot of respect for Dame Agatha. It is just a shame that, yet again, someone who brought so much pleasure to people over many years, knew little peace herself. A must-read for all Christie-ites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most important biographies ever written about her, 16 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This wonderful biography, which is now the subject of a fantastic BBC Television documentary, is officially endorsed by relatives from the Watts side of Christie's family, who have broken decades of silence to reveal the astonishing truth of what really happened when she disappeared in 1926 with the help of an accomplice. These relatives refused to co-operate with authorised biographer Janet Morgan and instead gave Jared Cade sole access to their own valuable family documents, revealing the secret truth about the subsequent family cover-up of the disappearance, her brother Monty's personal life and her second marriage.Other Christie biographers such as Charles Osborne, Gwen Robyns and Robert Barnard have given it the thumbs up. Jared Cade has filled in the missing blanks from Christie's life that Janet Morgan and other biographers either over-looked or ignored. A terrific book that all Christie devotees will want to buy. This is a MUST for any university curriculum. It is impossible to praise this book highly enough. Scholars of Christie finally have reason to rejoice !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly gripping, 23 Oct 2007
This review is from: Agatha Christie and the Eleven Missing Days (Paperback)
I am a huge fan of Agatha Christie. This biography was so gripping I read it in a day and a half. Afterwards I simply could not get it out of my head. The facts of her life are extraordinary and at times quite sinister when it comes to her disappearance. But that didn't put me off and the book gave me a lot of insight into her as a person. A week later I did something I've never done before and picked it up again and read it from cover to cover. It's obviously been very well researched. There is a lot of information not found in Christie's autobiography, and lots of anecdotal material directly from her family. The photographs of Agatha and her family are quite delightful, and I enjoyed seeing some of the inscriptions she wrote in her books. If you're as big an Agatha Christie fan as I am you owe it to yourself to read this book. Five stars does not do it enough justice. I'd like to have given it more. The recommended retail price is a bit pricey for a paperback so I was glad to buy it through Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fresh Evidence, 70 years on.., 13 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This is a fascinating and carefully researched piece of detection which uncovers fresh evidence after 70 years and brings to light a hitherto undiscovered newspaper article by Dorothy Sayers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, well researched page turner, 17 Mar 2010
By 
C. Conrad (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agatha Christie and the Eleven Missing Days (Paperback)
An excellent 'insider's view' of the reclusive writers life. I feel like I have been able to get to know Agatha as a person rather than simply a name on a book. Cade seems to have excellent insight into Agatha, showing empathy, for Agatha and her family, and real intelligence. I have always been interested in agatha since we share the same birthday however Cade seems to have brought her to life where others have failed miserably.
I was constantly fascinated by the realm of people Cade interviewed apart from family, even those people involved in the search!
The proof was in the pudding when it was made into a television documentary.
I can't wait to read more works written by this Cade fellow - what a talent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superbly Written and Fully Authorised Account of the Queen of Crime's Life.., 11 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Agatha Christie and the Eleven Missing Days (Paperback)
My son gave me a copy of this fascinating book for Christmas and a very nice present it turned out to be! I've watched many a Poirot and Miss Marple on television, but never really given much thought to their creator Agatha Christie. This is the only fully authorised account by the Wattses, a branch of Agatha Christie's family, and it is truly fascinating to read about their recollections of her as a person and how their grand estate Abney Hall resurfaced, time and again, lightly disguised as the country house settings in her crime fiction. As a retired police officer, I am most impressed with the meticulous research that Jared Cade has put into his book. Here is a first-rate researcher, who interviewed police officers, civilians and a good many other witnessess involved in the search for Agatha Christie when she went missing in in 1926. Not to mention her family, who decided finally to lift the lid on what happened to her for the sake of her fans, and staff at the hotel where she was eventually found hiding away from the world. An added attraction for me of this book is that I live in Surrey quite near where her car was found abandoned and I am familar with all the pivotal locations in the book. Newlands Corner, West Clandon Railway Station, Sunngindale (just over the border),and it is obvious Jared Cade knows his territory. There's even a map of Newlands Corner in the book for those people curious enough to visit the site. I would urge you to do so because the countryside is beautiful and Newlands Corner a local beauty spot much frequented by picnic parties and hikers.

The general feeling of the police was that Agatha Christie deliberately disappeared to work out a personal problem, and Jared Cade shows us how and why, with the benefit and involvement of Agatha Christie's family members who have actively helped him to put together this book. Although now retired from the police force, I know only too well that the answer to a good many secrets are concealed in families, away from the prying eyes of the public. Jared Cade amply demonstrates this in an elegantly written book. His intelligent research, compassion and objectivity shine off every page. A word of praise, too, must go to her relatives. It's a very brave step to go public with the truth, even after so long, and they have found here a perfect marriage between themselves and Jared Cade. I must say I wouldn't have minded his help in solving a few of my own cases during my time! I've read the other reviews here on Amazon and I think they are all very well deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where did Agatha Christie dissapear to? This book tells you!, 12 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This book is an amazing book. When I first went to read the book I thought that it would just flatly state what Agatha Christie had done during her dissapearance. But when I started reading the book I found out that there was a lot more to it. The book is fascinating. It is the only book I've read that even attempts to use evidence, such as one of Agatha Christie's detective's might have done, to solve where Agatha went. The book is not a theory but is supported by actual facts! Plus the book reveals more into Agatha's REAL personality than any other book I've read on her. If you like Agatha Christie, then this book is a MUST!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth about Agatha's disappearance, 21 Feb 2006
a wonderfully sympathetic and detailed biography requiring extensive research, which was made possible by a part of Agatha's family who were prepared to open up their archives and memories. Certainly a book that any real fan of Agatha should have, it is Agatha's true life and it still keeps her image as glowing as ever but with the benefit of a deep human story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Eleven Missing Days, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie and the Eleven Missing Days (Paperback)
This book covered other aspects of Agatha Christie's life and wasn't solely about the eleven missing days. However it was still a fairly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agatha Christie and the Eleven Missing Days
Agatha Christie and the Eleven Missing Days by Jared Cade (Paperback - 1 Sep 2006)
£8.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews