Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant memoir
Blacker has done an extraordinary thing with this intoxicating memoir of ten years spent in Transylvania and the Maramures, as an age-old way of life gradually crumbles in the face of what the French call 'grand surface', the bland advance of modernity. This isn't travel writing. It's not sun-baked Tuscan redevelopment schmaltz. It's not a lament - it's that, discreetly,...
Published on 10 Sept. 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great travelling account of Maramures and the Saxon land - lack of depth of self-reflection
My husband and I are looking forward to travelling to Maramures and Siebenbürgen (the saxon land) this summer, and I stumbled across this book while researching these regions. Having read the great reviews, I could not wait to immerse myself into story, but I could not have been more disappointed.
Mind you, for the purpose of learning about Romania, peasant life...
Published 16 months ago by Cmiri


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting insight into a disappearing world, 7 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable. Perhaps in time this book may be appreciated for the insight it provides into an ancient culture that is becoming rapidly eroded by the onset of modernity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You need to finish the book to really appreciate what a wonderful reflection it is on life in Romania in times gone by
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Along the Enchanted Way: A Story of Love and Life in Romania (Paperback)
Very good on Romania: dispels a lot of myths. Beautiful country and lovely people. Just not understood by many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, whimsical, informative, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Along the Enchanted Way: A Story of Love and Life in Romania (Paperback)
Excellent book and a real eye-opener to anyone who like me knows diddly-squat about life in rural Romania.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Along the Enchanted Way: A Story of Love and Life in Romania (Paperback)
A beautiful book, deeply personal and very evocative : a must read for anyone who loves Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 May 2015
This review is from: Along the Enchanted Way: A Story of Love and Life in Romania (Paperback)
Absolutely wonderful book, beautifully written. I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy reader, 7 Aug. 2014
By 
Juliet (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Along the Enchanted Way: A Story of Love and Life in Romania (Paperback)
Bought for a friend - they loved it as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A young man's fancy, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
Book fiend "Enthusiast" (Petersfield, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A rather naïve and innocent young man heads for Romania and plunges into romance and a gypsy life style without a thought or care - not something that many people would contemplate these days. Was he brave or irresponsible or merely unthinking? But it makes an attractive story even if it is not the sort of holiday trip that most of us would want to try. It tells us quite a lot about the Romania that the visitor wouldn't see so that is always of interest. And it is quite well written and easy to read - not top flight, but worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Jun. 2015
By 
Kate Renton (usa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Along the Enchanted Way: A Story of Love and Life in Romania (Paperback)
Fab story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat shallow, 28 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Along the Enchanted Way: A Story of Love and Life in Romania (Paperback)
I was interested in reading this book after visiting the Carpathian Mountains in Romania. Whilst the book does relate to the life I saw there on my visit, I found it somewhat shallow in content. It's rather repetitive and there are so many questions I would have like answered. It makes light reading but if you're looking for more, then this is not the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Along the Enchanted Way: A Story of Love and Life in Romania
Along the Enchanted Way: A Story of Love and Life in Romania by William Blacker (Paperback - 5 Aug. 2010)
£10.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews