Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good text book and revision aid
I recently bought this book for my 14 years old daughter to help her revising her GCSE history exam. This is an excellent book with detailed references, sources and information.
I used this book to supplement what she has already been taught in school. I used this book to help my daughter filling in gaps of information which her teacher might not have time to cover...
Published on 21 Jan 2011

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Does not do the job
Walsh, despite his accreditation, is very scant on some key syllabus areas. Can I recommend John D Coast's book instead
Published on 30 Oct 2011 by apf102


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good text book and revision aid, 21 Jan 2011
A Kid's Review
This review is from: GCSE Modern World History 2nd Edn Student's Book (History In Focus) (Paperback)
I recently bought this book for my 14 years old daughter to help her revising her GCSE history exam. This is an excellent book with detailed references, sources and information.
I used this book to supplement what she has already been taught in school. I used this book to help my daughter filling in gaps of information which her teacher might not have time to cover everything in lessons. I would strongly recommend this book to anyone who is taking the GCSE history exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 28 May 2008
By 
P. Chauvin "jchauvin" (Billericay, essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GCSE Modern World History 2nd Edn Student's Book (History In Focus) (Paperback)
look at it this way, i had nothing to do on holiday so i read the whole book in a week and couldn't stop. i even read the bits i wasn't studying

thats how interesting and well laid out this book is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guaranteed A* at GCSE!, 24 May 2007
By 
J. Patel (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book I had so many notes I just didn't know what to learn and did not have the time to go through all of them. I only revised for my GCSE from this book and scored a high A*. As long as you learn the condensed information this book gives you thoroughly, you cannot go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As a GCSE Student, 22 Aug 2003
By 
R. Pandya (Lichfield, Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GCSE Modern World History 2nd Edn Student's Book (History In Focus) (Paperback)
This book offers a broad range of communicationto the GCSE student. It is an excellent book where students such as my self can follow the GCSE course of History with great clarity and understanding. I have ordered this book and I recommend any GCSE History Student to do the same.
It covers the critical aspect of sources very well and excercises differ to each other making it interesting for the student to complete them. Thanks to this book History has really come to life and I find all aspects of the subject very interesting indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I got an A* with this book, 31 Jan 2008
This review is from: GCSE Modern World History 2nd Edn Student's Book (History In Focus) (Paperback)
This book strikes exactly the right balance giving you enough detail to get top grades without boring the daylights out of you with mundane facts, it was using just this book that i got an A* in gcse history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GCSE Modern World History, 9 Feb 2012
By 
C. L. Podbery - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GCSE Modern World History 2nd Edn Student's Book (History In Focus) (Paperback)
Although this book is not for the latest GCSE History course (2011/2012)some of the information it contains you simply can not find anywhere else. It covers everything needed for year 10 and some aspects required in year 11. This is a great compliment to the revision books that are out there for the new course. It also gives a good background to what the GSCE course covers and so can be benifical that way.
If you are really interested in modern world history and are thinking A* then this book is a good addition to the revision guides but would not work as a stand alone book for GCSE History.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will give structure to your lessons., 17 Jan 2001
By A Customer
A facinating , interesting well thought out book. It offers guidlines for lesson planning and class activities that are particularly helpful to newly qualified teachers. The worksheets are well thought out and can be used for students of all levels. I found this book easy and fun to use,I think my students would agree. History is a difficult topic for some students as it seems like so much information and no structure. This book helps to structure the learning process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GCSE Modern World History: Student's book, 12 Feb 2011
This review is from: GCSE Modern World History 2nd Edn Student's Book (History In Focus) (Paperback)
This is an excellent text for years 10,11,12 (Australia), in European history from World War 1 to the end of the Cold War. There is also an accompanying Teacher's book available for purchase, which has student-related activities for this student version. I highly recommend this book for students as it has good, basic facts, as well as ample source materials, such as cartoons, photographs, maps, graphs,timelines and various excerpts from letters, books, newspapers and archival material, as well as various tables of statistics for students to deal with, in an Inquiry approach to learning history. The layout is interesting and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent supplement for OCR Modern World, 19 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GCSE Modern World History 2nd Edn Student's Book (History In Focus) (Paperback)
As a History teacher, this book has been fantastic as a supplement to the text book we use in class. It has some really useful activities that get the pupils' thinking about the key issues as opposed to just learning facts. Couldn't be without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Walsh is a God., 23 May 2008
By 
L. Hitchcock (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GCSE Modern World History 2nd Edn Student's Book (History In Focus) (Paperback)
This book is amazing. Everything I learnt for my history exam was in this book. And it is actually interesting to read - I read bits that weren't even for my course! I would really recommend it. It includes lots and lots of sources, many of which are repeatedly coming up in the exam. It's great to have seen them beforehand. Recommended for anyone doing GCSE history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GCSE Modern World History 2nd Edn Student's Book (History In Focus)
21.99
Usually dispatched within 6 to 10 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews