Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such warmth of characters and such humour - Must read 2008!!
If you have read and loved Charlotte Mosley's wonderful Mitford Letters this will definitely not disappoint!!

Their writing styles, and indeed life styles are markedly different - Paddy's erudite, descriptive, precise and exuberant letters serve to remind us why he is often considered the greatest travel writer of our time. His wonderful descriptions of his...
Published on 10 Sep 2008 by Elspeth Lawn

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat tedious exchange of letters
Let me start by saying I had read and enjoyed Deborah Devonshire's book "Wait for Me!" and Patrick Leigh Fermor's marvellous travel book "A Time of Gifts" so I was really looking forward to reading this. What a disappointment. The letters, which are spread over a lengthy period, do not represent a real exchange of correspondence as few of them of are in reply to the...
Published 20 months ago by hiljean


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Darling Debo, Dear Paddy..., 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Tearing Haste: Letters Between Deborah Devonshire and Patrick Leigh Fermor (Hardcover)
Two very different people, united by a rich panorama of well-connected and socialite friends, the Duches of Devonshire all Chatsworth, the estate, farming and those amazing sisters, PLF scholar, traveller, SAS veteran, and my favourite writer. They write each other letters which sparkle with humour and open a window on this well-connected set from the 1960s to the 2000s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A different perspective on DD, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Tearing Haste: Letters Between Deborah Devonshire and Patrick Leigh Fermor (Hardcover)
A very interesting read and one I would recommend it shows a deep friendship between the two people through correspondence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In Tearing Haste, 8 Jan 2013
By 
J. Jackson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was for a present. I had already read it and liked it and therefore bought it. We have both also read other Leigh Fermor books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debo Devonshire is fascinating, 5 Mar 2011
By 
R. I. Gilliver (Macclesfield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Through a sequence of letters over a period of some 50 years, this book chronicles the lives and times of Deborah Devonshire (the last of the Mitford Sisters) and Paddy Leigh Fermor. There is great famliarity between them, and I couldn't help but wonder if they had ever been closer than great friends. [PLF was also a close friend of Debo's husband: Andrew, the late Duke of Devonshire.] The topics are wide-ranging, famous names are dropped on every page, and neither is ever short of an opinion. I found the book completely fascinating and, being a series of letters, it is easy to read a few, put the book down, and rejoin it again. Fully recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful book; such lively and fascinating letters. Absolutely loved it. and thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars many beautiful passages, great gift for descriptive prose, 21 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Tearing Haste (Kindle Edition)
Enjoying, still reading, many beautiful passages, great gift for descriptive prose. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super book and service, 22 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
super book. sent immediately in excellent condition. enjoyed enormously, thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Nov 2014
By 
Mrs. Sheila F. Clarkson (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Tearing Haste: Letters Between Deborah Devonshire and Patrick Leigh Fermor (Hardcover)
Couldn't book this book down. What incredible lives!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 27 Aug 2014
By 
HK (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Tearing Haste (Kindle Edition)
disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In Tearing Haste, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a lovely book, you can pick it up and put it down, or re-read parts of it, and enjoy it at all times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Tearing Haste: Letters Between Deborah Devonshire and Patrick Leigh Fermor
In Tearing Haste: Letters Between Deborah Devonshire and Patrick Leigh Fermor by The Duchess of Devonshire (Hardcover - 4 Sep 2008)
Used & New from: £2.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews