Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd read him earlier
This was my first introduction to JB. I raced through the entire book in about 2 days and have re-read my favourites many times over since then.

Maybe it's because his views coincide with my own in so many ways, maybe the language he uses, maybe I'm just nostalgic for the rose-tinted past, but something in his writing is absolutely captivating.

I...
Published on 15 Nov 2006 by Robin Johnston

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant value
This collection covers so many topics. The writing is sensitive, funny, moving, memorable and wonderfully readable. I am delighted with it.
Published 9 months ago by Christine Sexton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America needs a Betjeman, 11 Jan 2002
By 
Stephen Constantelos "sbconstant" (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collected Poems (Paperback)
A preservationist in (usually) the best sense--in architecture, poetry forms, landscapes, humour, the heart--Sir John Betjeman inspired a large following in the UK and maybe 2-3 in the USA. More 'verse' than 'poetry' as he characteristically self-effacingly called the contents of this volume, his work still holds a lot of charm and power. 'Middlesex' perhaps encapsualtes him best...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Betjeman Collected Poems (Paperback)
Hassle free purchase, how it should be. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Betjeman Collected Poems (Paperback)
Betjeman's best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars john betjeman collected poems, 22 Feb 2010
This review is from: John Betjeman Collected Poems (Paperback)
This book was delivered as promised.
I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Betjeman. I find it delightful to browse and relax in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Sep 2014
Delightful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Betjeman Collected Poems (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The good, the bad and everything in between, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Betjeman's poems can range from the excellent to the very ordinary. This collection serves you up with everything which renders it interesting but not always valuable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yet another Tory reactionary who thought that new = bad and old = good, 2 Aug 2010
By 
J. Stephens (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Betjeman Collected Poems (Paperback)
Reading the other reviews on this page you can see that what Betjeman is still praised for was his romanticisation of some imagined 'golden era' of country lanes and smiling peasants where nobody actually did any work or got ill. Betjeman contrasts this with his hatred of the egalitarian modern world where chain stores and other evils were making what were formerly luxuries for the wealthy things available to the masses.

"Come friendly bombs and fall on Slough" as Betjeman wrote. Quite safe for him, as the old Marlborough & Oxford public school boy was miles away in his country house at the time he penned those lines, bemoaning all the new house being built for the masses that looked simply ghastly. And as for providing electricity for all -

"Encase your legs in nylons,
Bestride your hills with pylons
O age without a soul"

This collection of Betjeman's poetry is a textbook on Tory elitism masquerading as concern for the environment. It's as false as Prince Charles flying in by jet to collect his latest Green award.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Betjeman Collected Poems
John Betjeman Collected Poems by John Betjeman (Paperback - 29 Jun 2006)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews