Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sobering look at postwar Germany
A lot has been written about World War II, and some has even been written about the aftermath regarding the development of the Cold War. However, there is not a lot of published information giving an overall view of the occupation of Germany and the development of the divided country that lasted for 40 years. After the Reich, by Giles MacDonogh, rectifies that fact. It is...
Published on 8 Feb 2008 by David Roy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but sloppily written
My three star rating is based solely on the fact that this book provides information - a lot of it - on an aspect of the immediate post war period that has arguably not received sufficient attention in the past: the way in which the Germans were treated by those on the winning side, including by those liberated from German occupation in the east. It is a shame, though,...
Published 10 months ago by Italophile


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sobering look at postwar Germany, 8 Feb 2008
By 
David Roy (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
A lot has been written about World War II, and some has even been written about the aftermath regarding the development of the Cold War. However, there is not a lot of published information giving an overall view of the occupation of Germany and the development of the divided country that lasted for 40 years. After the Reich, by Giles MacDonogh, rectifies that fact. It is heavily sourced, examining individual accounts as well as publications covering certain aspects of the occupation to give a broad overview of the horrors that developed and the neglect and outright savagery that caused the deaths of huge numbers of Germans in the aftermath of the war. MacDonogh gives a vivid yet very depressing picture showing that inhumanity was not limited to the Nazis.

MacDonogh begins the book with the months leading up to the end of the war, as the Soviets were advancing through Poland and eastern Germany, raping and pillaging as much as possible. Revenge was a common motive, vengeance for every inhumane act the Nazis perpetrated on the Soviets during the almost four years of war. Others just gave into their baser instincts. Heavily covered in this book, both at the beginning as well as throughout the text, is how Austria figured into the whole issue. Many on both sides saw the Austrians almost as guilty as the Germans for what happened, yet it was always treated slightly differently.

This makes the beginning of the book quite heavy. While MacDonogh obviously doesn't go into details of individual rapes, the near-constant refrain about the rape and pillaging, both from individual accounts as well as statistical ones, constantly wears on the reader. However, it also gets across just horrible life in Germany and Austria was in the few months after the war ended. He also details the mass starvation that was happening, as the populace lived on the bare minimum (and sometimes less) that allows sustenance. Hundreds of thousands died in this aftermath, and some thought `good riddance" to a population that they blamed for the war. This idea of "collective guilt" for the German populace is also examined by MacDonogh, where he presents figures from both sides of the controversy on whether the German civilians should be treated as a conquered people or as victims of the Nazi horror machine.

This is where After the Reich really becomes interesting, as MacDonogh details the political machinations of both sides (American/British/French against the Soviets) as they jockey for position. Stalin wanted a united Germany that acted as a buffer between the West and Poland/Czechoslovakia (where he was busy installing Communist rule), while the other Allies desperately resisted this idea, for various reasons. The French did not want a united Germany on their doorstep again, while the British and Americans did not want a prospective Soviet ally that close to France. All of this information is clearly presented by MacDonogh in a very interesting fashion.

MacDonogh ends After the Reich with the Berlin crisis and the massive airlift to keep the Soviets from taking over the entire city. Much like Germany itself, Berlin was divided into four occupation zones, but the Soviets tried to force the other Allies out in 1948 by blockading the land route from the Western zones to the city itself. This chapter is actually rather brief, but it's brimming with information. While a more detailed account can probably be found in a book on the Airlift itself, MacDonogh does an excellent job of covering the story well enough for the reader to know why it happened and how it was resolved.

After the Reich is a very important book in a number of ways. It shows us the horrors of trying to rebuild a country that's been devastated by war and its own government's evil, as well as demonstrating that all sides in war are capable of atrocities. We also see how human many of these people who commit these atrocities are. One of the most interesting chapters is on the Nuremburg trials and how the big guys (Goering, Hess, and others) treated the trials. Goering is shown scoffing at everything, Hess pretends to have lost his memory, and they all seem very human. Because of this, they seem even more evil. After the Reich is a riveting overview of the immediate postwar history of Germany, and it's valuable for that..

David Roy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 7 Nov 2010
By 
G. Heinzelmann (Gravesend, Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: After the Reich: From the Liberation of Vienna to the Berlin Airlift (Paperback)
I was born in a little town near Stuttgart in 1940 and have memories from the time between 1945 and 1947.
I remember the American soldiers as nice men, one could always ask for chewing gum, sweets and cigarettes and they gave us children usually what we asked for. We had for some time French soldiers and we did not like them because they chased us away when we asked.
The book "After the Reich" was a real eye opener for me - having only memories from that time and I was never sure whether it had been really as I remembered. We starved and froze the two winters, now I know why.
After 1947 it all got better and we had then a "family Amie" who came every Thursday evening and brought us food from the PX.
The book is, especially for somebody who remembers, not an easy and pleasant read. Nevertheless I would recomend this book for everybody - although after having read it you might feel exhausted and emotionallt drained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Lucky We Were, 24 July 2007
By 
Ra Harris (Colchester, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"After the Reich" is one of the most harrowing books I've ever read. I've always said that because we weren't invaded, & despite the bombing in Britain, the loss of life & injuries suffered by those at home & away, we were so lucky & this book will show why. I've also wondered what happened in Germany after the war finished & the second half of this book explains all. Many thanks for extending my knowledge.
Rose Harris
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars casahistoria, 5 May 2008
Any modern writer of post war Germany who mentions the names of Hajo Holborn and Michael Balfour in the first few pages clearly has done their reading. This book fills in the gap left in many English language histories of postwar central Europe: from the actual end of war and its immediate impact to the outbreak of the Cold War. Covering not just the zones of Germany, but also Austria and the events of German speaking Europe elsewhere - the German Reich at its largest.

The initial 100 pages or so are a harrowing account of the treatment of the German speakers as they were invaded, occupied, looted, raped and for the millions in the east, moved westwards. The brutality by all concerned is meticulously documented - too much so in places - I wanted to skip on as it was so disturbing and relentless. The Red Army is well documented by others, less so the proportionately greater savagery of the Czechs on the Sudetenlanders (especially grim as MacDonogh makes clear the pre 1938 Sudetenlanders were ex Austrians, not Germans who had been unlawfully deprived of the chance at self determination after Versailles by a nationalist Czech regime.).

Another eyeopener is the evidence that all the allies used prisoners of war in ways similar to Speer in his use of slave labour (and often in the face of resultant deaths). The US was especially cynical in this matter announcing they had released all POW's in mid 1946 when in fact they released them to be handed over to other allies: Belgium and France, for manual work. The USSR was still returning POW's in the mid 1950's.

The early stance of the US was surprisingly tough. Outside the Soviet Zone, the US had and maintained the hardest stance to its prisoners and civilian population for the first 18 months. Torture seems to have been common initially amongst all the occupiers as they sought to do the necessary and root out Nazi's. However MacDonogh's examples indicate a direct line of war's dehumanisation that makes treatment of Iraqi prisoners seem minor.

One issue with After the Reich is caused by its heavy reliance on documentary sources, especially memoirs. This had meant a skew towards recounting the experiences of the better off, in particular the womenfolk of the German/Prussian nobility. At times this leads perhaps to a too unconsidered appreciation of the sometime self-serving motivation of the 1944 plotters, many of whom were close to the writers of the memoirs used.

The final section takes a reader swiftly but clearly through the fog of the origins of ther Cold War, only after 500 pages of the aftermath analysis what follows has a clarity lacking in the work of many other revisionist writers.

Since the Wende, this has been a topic occupying the history shelves of most German bookshops. MacDonogh has done English readers a service with this account. The underlying sentiment is that this book records the consequences of the far greater evil perpetrated on others by the Germans - a feeling that many of those recorded reflect, despite their misery. It is not surprising that with the opening of the east Germans have wished to document the period, nor is it surprising that Anglo-saxon writers have shunned it for so long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but sloppily written, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After the Reich: From the Liberation of Vienna to the Berlin Airlift (Paperback)
My three star rating is based solely on the fact that this book provides information - a lot of it - on an aspect of the immediate post war period that has arguably not received sufficient attention in the past: the way in which the Germans were treated by those on the winning side, including by those liberated from German occupation in the east. It is a shame, though, that the book seems to have been written so carelessly with, for too much of the time, it not being clear to whom pronouns refer and paragraphs being constructed from sentences that do not appear readily to relate to each other. These may seem small points, but they have the effect of clouding what the author is trying to say. Moreover, some of his assertions seem surprising. One of many instances of this is his dismissal of the official figure of some 6,000 German deaths in Yugoslav custody and claim that "Around 80,000 would be closer to the truth" (p. 426). This may be the case, but it would have been good to have seen some sort of argument in support of the higher figure. A final gripe is the absence of maps, except for one rather crude effort at the beginning of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did Germans deserve what they got?, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After the Reich: From the Liberation of Vienna to the Berlin Airlift (Paperback)
So well written, I think should be mandatory reading. One up for British sense of fair play, in that the safest and best managed of the Allied occupation zones post 1945 German surrender was the British zone. OK, you could say that we were never occupied so did not suffer at the hands of the Germans -well "hands on" as it were, but how does this justify what atrocities were commmitted in zones under American control?
Makes you think long and hard, great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important (and shocking) book on the aftermath of WWII, the Germans and the Allies, 7 Jun 2007
As the as yet only other comment is by someone who appears not to have read this wonderful (if gruelling) book, a short and more informed note would seem to be in order. My interest was aroused by a lengthy review from Max Hastings in the Sunday Times, who praised the work highly (as have other broadsheet reviewers). However Hastings found some of the material hard to handle, which is as serious a recommendation for a major piece of historical writing as I can imagine. Anyone with an interest in WWII, 20th century history generally or indeed broad questions on the moral ambiguities of warfare should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ...good but not briliant..., 11 Feb 2013
By 
Mike (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After the Reich: From the Liberation of Vienna to the Berlin Airlift (Paperback)
I have read many books focusing on German women in the months after May 45. It is a sad, very sad, story of rape, pillage and murder. MacDonogh's story of the rape is no different from the others. One passage from one book may as well be from the other. It is a story that requires telling, but there must be a better way of describing the events without being so repititious - and i do mean painfully repititious.

"...stuffed with wonderful tales ..." it is. The truth is these tales are burdensome. There are way too many.

Altho the historical events after May 45 are well known to me, the manner in which MacDonogh slices and dices his story is very confusing. He jumps around time as tho he were Michael J Fox. It is not just repititious but contradictory.

MacDonogh's presentation (of the events) on the whole is not serious. One does not seem to appreciate/sense the horror or sadness thru his words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent history lesson, well written, 11 Mar 2014
By 
JBS (Loanhead, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After the Reich: From the Liberation of Vienna to the Berlin Airlift (Paperback)
This is a massive piece of work, well written and absorbing. I had a little information about the immediate post-war period but this showed me how little it was! The author covers both sides of the post-war divide, impartially but with understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Only the heartless cannot be moved by the suffering of the German people after the war., 25 Feb 2014
By 
J. Baker (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After the Reich: From the Liberation of Vienna to the Berlin Airlift (Paperback)
The suffering of the German people during, and particularly after, the war is a taboo subject. The victors write the history and, it seems, their is room for only one set of victims in their version. Would have benefited from more careful editing but still merits five stars - there's nothing else like it out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6e1960c)

This product

After the Reich: From the Liberation of Vienna to the Berlin Airlift
9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews