Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smart and witty travel in Southern Greece
I took this book with me on a trip to Sparti in Southern Greece this year (2001). Although this book recollects a journey taken (in the 1950s) before the tourist blitz, it still holds true in many of the subjects discussed...especially the undying village myths that combine pagan and Christian elements. Paddy does a great job melding history with his travels, and...
Published on 21 Aug 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative
Well expressed but slightly dull account of travels in a part of Europe I didn't know. A book I should not have chosen.
Published 4 months ago by ferrule


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smart and witty travel in Southern Greece, 21 Aug 2001
By A Customer
I took this book with me on a trip to Sparti in Southern Greece this year (2001). Although this book recollects a journey taken (in the 1950s) before the tourist blitz, it still holds true in many of the subjects discussed...especially the undying village myths that combine pagan and Christian elements. Paddy does a great job melding history with his travels, and relates the present-day to what happened during the Byzantine era and Turkish occupation. His imagery is very complex, but his portraits of the Greeks in the Mani are very insightful and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A world of wonders, 31 July 2004
By 
Alekos (Cancun, Quintana Roo Mexico) - See all my reviews
MANI ... It is not for nothing that Patrick Leigh Fermor is generally considered the greatest living travel writer in English. Reading any one of his books, always a smooth, elegant and intellectually exciting undertaking, is to accept an invitation to the private world of a master observer of places and manners who is also pretty sharp in such areas of human endeavor as history, architecture, music, theology, psychology, mythology, and languages both classical and modern. He is extremely erudite - an autodidact, he says - and his approach to travel writing is strictly literary and sometimes sublimely so. This book, doubtless conceived as a companion volume to ROUMELI, which deals with Northern Greece, takes us to the southernmost part of the Peloponnesus. Unfortunately, the world of rocks and rustics and supreme beauty it describes is now largely vanished, so it is therefore of great value to have a traveler's vision and memory of it as it was about sixty years ago. Always subtle and elegant, the story takes on a heightened aesthetic and intellectual intensity at certain points and in particular locales. For example, the opening paragraph of the book's final chapter describes the writer's arrival at Gytheio by means of an extended metaphor comparing entrance into a city with the act of coitus, and if any reader should miss this metaphor let me point out the author's use of such words as maidenhead and deflower. A further adornment of the metaphor, conceptual and literary, is provided by the revelation that the little island a few yards off the coast, now named Marathonisi and now connected to Gytheio by a causeway, but called Kranae by Homer, is in fact the island where Paris and Helen spent their fist night after the famous elopement. At another point the reader is invited to watch the dolphins scull down at exactly the imaginary line in the Adriatic where the filioque drops out of the creed. We are allowed to eavesdrop on a group of centaurs on the Pelion Peninsula, and a passing reference to Henry Miller and George Katsimbalis develops into a chain reaction of crowing roosters around the world and back again. There s an excellent chapter on the peculiar little village of Areopolis, the gateway to the Inner Mani, where the author attempts an interpretation of the ancient carvings on churches and houses. This marvelous book will be of interest to anyone who feels attracted to the beauties of Greece and its people, but also to those who enjoy supremely well-written prose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The magic of Greece, 22 Oct 2012
This review is from: Mani: Travels in the Southern Peloponnese (Paperback)
I love this book. It sat in my dad's library for years until I was old enough to properly read and appreciate it.
You take the journey with Patrick Leigh Fermor and view an old fashioned Greece, rare glimpses into the community and wonderful old customs, habits and mannerisms.
Having grown up in Greece and written my own books about the country and people,
I can vouch for the authenticity of this brilliant book. A gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not The Lonely Planet Guide to the Southern Peloponnese, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mani: Travels in the Southern Peloponnese (Paperback)
The subtitle of this book is a little misleading for it is hardly a travelogue, more of an excuse to roam - philosophically, mythologically, historically, anthropologically - with a hundred and one red herrings using the Mani as a useful backdrop.

The Mani is the central tine or peninsular of the Southern Peloponnese where the Taygetus mountain range dies down into the sea. From reading these pages you might assume this area to be all but continental in size; fortunately a map with a scale is included and it will be noticed that the Deep Mani, about which this work is chiefly concerned, measures barely 20 miles down with an average width of six.

Not everyone will find this opus their ideal cup of Lapsang Souchong. I am thinking in particular of Chapter 13 on Gorgons and Centaurs where I all but fell asleep and surely the proof reader by page 182 had really keeled over ! To be quite frank I cannot share with PLF the same enthusiam for the more abstruse elements of Greek mythology and folklore. Nereids, sirens, gorgons, dryads, oreads, tritons, satyrs and the Evil Eye leave me cold - I would rather be discussing aspects of the limited slip differential of a vintage Jaguar XK150 ! However, there are plenty of other interesting digressions; one of the most fascinating concerned Eastern versus Western iconography where it is explained that while the first looks to the transubstantial quality of Christ Western Renaissance art focuses more on His human nature.

What is mind-stopping, as always, with PLF is the quality of his writing combined with the breadth of his knowledge. It never fails to amaze me how this school drop-out became such a distinguished man of letters, an authority on Greece, a multi-linguist par excellence, apart from achieving fame as a war-hero. Read this book for the sheer verve of its descriptive passages, its incomparable prose combined with an erudition any schoolmaster could envy. We are all in his debt for helping us to think more deeply about the world that surrounds us. Everything ultimately is grist to his mill; my own materialism need not be damned - what is certain is that PLF is always worth five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 1 Nov 2011
By 
S. Clark - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mani: Travels in the Southern Peloponnese (Paperback)
Patrick Leigh Fermor is the best travel writer I have ever read. This book is full of history and description of the Mani, he also delves into the origins of the people living in this area of Greece. This is Greece before it's tourism. Very interesting indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware, you'll want to go there., 20 Jun 2003
By 
Nigel Randall (Ampthill, Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I discovered PLF's "Mani" in the early 1990's and was absolutely enchanted not just by the places he described but by the beauty of his writing. His descriptive skills are second to none and his knowledge and use of the English language is a delight.
Through his writing he demonstrates a deep-felt love for Greece and its people. His profound knowledge of the history of the country coupled with a lively imagination at times takes the reader off into some strange flights of fantasy. When he returns to the very real world of the Inner Mani it is often to show that the region is as fantastic as anything from his imagination.
You may find that you'll need a dictionary to hand and one or two passages on the convoluted history and genealogy of long dead rulers and despots may leave you thinking you've stumbled across a medieval census but don't be put off, you will also be rewarded with writing that leaves you with images that will last you a lifetime.
But beware, I was so captured by PLF's description of the Mani that I had to follow in his footsteps and go and see for myself. Not the first and I'm sure not the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mani, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I knew about this book for years, but was only prompted to read it when we went on holiday to the Mani last year, staying in one of the fabled tower-houses which Leigh Fermor writes about with such gusto. His visit to the region was in the early 50s, before there was a road down the peninsular. The Mani is the central rocky spine of the three great fingers which reach down towards Crete from the near-island of the Peloponese in western Greece.
Its terrifying mountain remoteness and harsh landscape meant that throughout history, this part of Greece was almost completely undeveloped. From ancient times, the Cretans, Hellenes, Romans, Turks, Venetians, Greeks, French, British, Germans, etc all just went round it, and it became a haven for runaways, bandits, pirates, ruffians, warlords and fighting men. It was never really conquered, being too difficult and 'not worth it'.
The resulting breed of truculence and resourcefulness, violence and pride was remarkable.
One outcome of this was the construction of houses in which families sought to out-do each other by routinely smashing their neighbours' dwellings in any way they could. Apart from periods of truce, such as harvest-time or weddings, and safe passage for doctors, women and children, any man seen out of doors at any time of day was fair game to be shot at, stoned or otherwise violently attacked.
It was always an advantage to have your house taller than your neighbours, so you could rain rocks down onto their rooftops. No-one would have an ordinary door into their house - rather, the entrance would be a tiny hidden ingress, giving into a narrow or low space, so that enemies could not storm in. Getting upstairs to the sleeping quarters or cool rooftops would be by rope ladders, which could be drawn up for safety.
These houses look like pretty English church towers from a distance, but were in fact hornets' nests of extreme personal violence, so that the little villages clustered on the dry rocky mountain sides were solidified personal warzones. Leigh Fermor found that the hostility and suspicion of one village for its near neighbour was of almost mythic proportion, and this within living memory.
The book is brilliantly written, by an Englishman who loved the Greeks, spoke their language and dialects fluently, took a heroic part in their resistance to German occupation in the last World War, and chose to live there once the war was over. His recent death led to an announcement that his house will become a cultural shrine and museum.
This is a truly marvellous book, written at the last moments when this ancient and remarkable way of life was just coming to an end. His visits along the inhospitable and rugged coast, with his wife, by rowing boat along the sea and on foot or by donkey up into the ravines and cliffs, gave him the chance to report on an astonishingly other-worldly way of life right on the edge of Europe.
Now, of course, there is a road which leads all the way south from Calamata down to the tip of the Mani, with some of the consequent trappings of hotels, tavernas, buses, tourists, art galleries, etc etc.
But you can still wander round the villages with their brutal tower houses - now often left in ruinous condition and uninhabited except for very old ladies who glare at you as you go by. And you can see where some of the old gods and goddesses held court - deep caves, hidden springs, desolate temples. And you can go freely into literally dozens of crumbling orthodox churches with astonishing frescoes of Christian divines. And you can try walking up the steep mountain paths among the olive groves, and imagine what it was like for farmers trying to screw a living out of the rocks when your neighbours were intent on shooting you at any hour of day. And you can see the tiny beautiful springs with their little grottoes of rocks and basins, now all too often dried up because of the scale of modern water-extraction from the mountains.
Do go to the Mani if you can. But if you can't, then read this terrific book. Then go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rugged Greece, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: Mani: Travels in the Southern Peloponnese (Paperback)
Evocative, atmospheric and aromatic book which evokes this region at the far south of the Peleponnese. Leigh-Fermor at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect travel companion, 15 Oct 2009
This review is from: Mani: Travels in the Southern Peloponnese (Paperback)
I visited the Mani this summer and bought the book after. I totally recommend it. A great read by a fine travel writer. A must if considering this part of mainland Greece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't go the Mani before reading this book, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I made that mistake and realise how much I missed when I was there. Beautifully written in a time soon after the war and before the tourists. Needless to say a lot has changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mani: Travels in the Southern Peloponnese
Mani: Travels in the Southern Peloponnese by Patrick Leigh Fermor (Paperback - 19 July 2004)
8.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews