Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful biography and a most involving read
This book was shortlisted for the Costa (formerly Whitbread) Prize, and it comes with the imprimatur of Claire Tomalin, foremost of modern biographers - 'an outstanding biography ... it brings this extraordinary man to life on every page'. I found it absolutely marvellous. In his posthumously published autobiography, 'For the Islands I Sing', George Mackay Brown was...
Published on 14 April 2007 by Mr. Ian A. Macfarlane

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not oustanding
Perhaps I am being unfair to Maggie Ferguson. Her understanding of George Mackay Brown gets beneath his veneer but she does so in a language which does not do him justice. I had to struggle with her english as it is so thin. This contrasts with the richness of the poet's words and in a way detracts from her scholarship. I think too that her admiration of GMB got in...
Published 7 months ago by R G Coppen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful biography and a most involving read, 14 April 2007
By 
Mr. Ian A. Macfarlane "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Mackay Brown: The Life (Paperback)
This book was shortlisted for the Costa (formerly Whitbread) Prize, and it comes with the imprimatur of Claire Tomalin, foremost of modern biographers - 'an outstanding biography ... it brings this extraordinary man to life on every page'. I found it absolutely marvellous. In his posthumously published autobiography, 'For the Islands I Sing', George Mackay Brown was highly selective, as he was quite entitled to be. This book fills in many, many gaps, it is beautifully written, it holds the attention on every page and, by so doing, it gives the reader a fuller and more satisfying apprecation of the work of this unique and uniquely wonderful Orkney writer. In particular, and most sensitively, it explores his relationships with women, and they form a key and very poignant element in the book. The relationship between life and work is underpinned by extensive, judicious quotation, and so often the poems or parts of poems seem to grow out of the page, so well has the biographer done her job. I am so pleased that the job has been so well done. GMB deserved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For George Mackay Brown lovers and everyone else, 24 Feb 2011
This review is from: George Mackay Brown: The Life (Paperback)
This is not only a terrific biography of George Mackay Brown, it's a great story of an unusual man from Orkney, a genius of place and time. And it's beautifully written, hard to put down. I couldn't recommend it more highly, both for lovers of Brown's work and for anyone interested in people and the history of a place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Biography and the Poetry, 27 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: George Mackay Brown: The Life (Paperback)
At the suggestion of a friend in South Australia, I am reading this biography as an introduction to the poetry of George Mackay Brown before a planned visit to the Orkneys this summer. The Collected Poems is an enormous and formidable volume without some guidance, and this plan works very well.

And, apart from that, it is a brilliant and very readable story. GMB's life before he settled in earnest to dedicating his time to his poetry and his native islands was not an easy one, and Maggie Fergusson takes us through it very well indeed. And the poems are well worth her trouble and our reading. I'm looking forward all the more to seeing these islands, which I've wanted to visit for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Island Magic, 18 April 2006
Summary: beautifully written, easy to read, in-depth study, warts and all.

Reviewer: an island lover from Hampshire.

As an avid reader of all GMB's work, including his own autobiography, I was apprehensive as to whether Maggie Fergusson's book was going to be either over-sentimental or lacking in depth.

It was neither. It detailed the key influences and events in GMB's life and the background to his major works. I was particularly impressed with the clear and straightforward way that GMB's sexuality was descibed. The descriptions of Orkney (as a frequent visitor)were beautiful; a fundamental influence on GMB's writing and his keen sense of hospitality.

One small request is to have a bibliography in future editions and please leave out 'Through the Eye of a Needle' in the title; it has no meaning?

Overall a wonderful book about a fascinating man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orkney's Finest Weaver of Tales and Poetry, 10 Sep 2007
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Mackay Brown: The Life (Paperback)
This is a highly readable biography of the extraordinary writer that was George Mackay Brown. He lived most of his life in Orkney, but his novels, short stories and poetry have the complexity, language, imagination and spirituality of a much-travelled man. GMB did not have an easy life and remained puzzled by (and uncomfortable with) his celebrity. He did not enjoy good health for much of his life; he lived simply and was a modest man but not one of those tortured souls grinding out poetry in guilt-ridden angst. He was more complex than he appeared, with a spiritual, almost holy, feel for the past that he was able to share through the prism of Orkney. I learned much from this biography, which dips into a range of sources, both personal and published. It is wonderful to see where some of GMB's inspiration came from. He was certainly one of Britain's greatest poets (and that's saying something). His writings are well worth exploring - they really are a joy. This well-written biography is a good introduction to the man, but you are likely only to find the real GMB through his writing, and that is a journey well worth making. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Singing Islands, 12 July 2011
By 
Sentinel (Essex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Mackay Brown: The Life (Paperback)
This is a wonderful biography: full of lyrical detail, and with an insight and sensitivity which delivers this self-effacing writer/poet to the reader with a genuine stamp of authenticity. Fergusson covers George's life in remarkable detail throughout, both within Orkney, and his adventures 'sooth' at Newbattle College, Edinburgh University, Rose Street pub/poet 'society', Aberdeen, Ireland et al. Although his creative/dissolute Edinburgh days are well drawn, Fergusson is able to magic an authentic sense of Orkney life, with its precious clear light and fragile Spring/Summer days, and the dark, roaring monster of winter, which grips both body and soul in a chill embrace.

The biography charts a similar pattern of 'rise and fall' in George's creative, and love life, and has a richly supporting cast of poets and writers from Scotland and elsewhere. The text is very well referenced, and interleaved with extracts from his and others work, which is exquisitely chosen to illustrate the points she makes, and has a deeply enriching quality. Drink, religion, love, illness and depression, all weave threads throughout this satisfying tapestry of George's life. At the last though, it is the clear sense of Orcadian magic, a spare, austere beauty, which shimmers in these pages, just as it does in the poetry and the prose of this incomparable island bard. For me, this comes as such a relief after the disappointment of George's bland 'autobiography' For the Islands I Sing: An Autobiography Essential reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great debut biography, 12 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: George Mackay Brown: The Life (Paperback)
Having read and enjoyed two of GMB's books - An Orkney Tapestry and A Calendar of Love some 20 years ago, I was delighted to receive this book as a birthday present. I am also a fan of biographies and this one certainly doesn't disappoint. It tells the story of GMB's days in Orkney, of his depressions and illnesses and his late blooming as a poet around the age of 45. It tells too of how Edwin Muir - another Orkney born poet - encouraged GMB and without his influence and intervention in his life, there might have been a completely different story. I thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars George Mackay Brown, 28 April 2014
By 
K. Way "kenny t" (aros) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Mackay Brown: The Life (Paperback)
Very interesting and well written book. |I was recommended this book by a writer friend. I would certainly recommend it to my friens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not oustanding, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Mackay Brown: The Life (Paperback)
Perhaps I am being unfair to Maggie Ferguson. Her understanding of George Mackay Brown gets beneath his veneer but she does so in a language which does not do him justice. I had to struggle with her english as it is so thin. This contrasts with the richness of the poet's words and in a way detracts from her scholarship. I think too that her admiration of GMB got in the way as the book felt at times like a eulogy rather than an academic criticism. But again,perhaps I am being unfair as her book is biographic in essence and an introduction to his work. A frustrasting read as I wanted to be taken into the heart of GMB. This I will have to do for myself so perhaps the book serves its purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Mackay Brown: The Life (Paperback)
For the Islands he Sings! Brilliant book by a brilliant author which takes you into the heart and soul of the Scottish Islands ... I would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

George Mackay Brown: The Life
George Mackay Brown: The Life by Maggie Fergusson (Paperback - 19 April 2007)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews